Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
19
Hard Boiled [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.72+ £1.26 shipping


on 11 September 2014
What can I say, I love this film. I first saw it on VHS and once my VCR gave up the ghost have been after it on DVD. Unfortunately, as mentioned by many others, there are several releases of this film all with their own bad points. This version has its bad points like the rest. On the positive side this is the only uncut version I have been able to find. On the downside the picture looks like it has been directly transferred from the original master copy but is no where near unwatchable, I've seen much worse quality. The subtitles again look like they are the original ones, sometimes they can be hard to read but again Ive seen worse and on newer releases. If someone would just remaster this version then it would be perfect.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 February 2004
It does not matter whether one understands Cantonese or not to enjoy this movie. This movie is easily one of John Woo's & Chow Yun Fats best.
The story is about a hard working, hard-ass CID cop who wants to bring down a Triad gang. Chow Yun Fat gets close to an undercover cop, who is also working as an informer and on his last case. Anyway, the story flows fast due to explosive action scenes.
In typical Woo style there are plenty of slow-mo gun splurting dives. The gun battles are endless. And the protrayal of the ruthlessness of the triads is enough to scare one in the living room.
This flick is a classic and deserves a shelf space to be shared with the Godfather, Goodfellas, The Killer, etc.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2017
If you have no issue with glorious over the top action this is the film you need.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 December 2014
Chow Yun-Fat looks a bit younger in this action epic. I remember viewing this one at the International Film Festival in Wellington New Zealand many years ago (that shows my age!) and thought wow. The action sequences still hold up however I thought in my addled brain that the "baby sequence " was more over the top; oh well old age calls. Still a good Asian action flick with a difference
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 June 2013
I'd previously got a copy of the export version of this film with the awful over-dubbing.
The film has a very different feel watched in the original Cantonese.
The dialogue is slightly different, a little less cliched.
Well worth the couple of pounds it cost from the excellent seller Zoverstocks.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 February 2017
Insane amounts of crazy gunfights! The movie might be old, and have pretty poor video and audio quality, but that doesn't stop this from being a blast to watch for any action fan! It's like Die Hard on steroids!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2000
The film that gave Woo and Yun- Fat their tickets to Hollywood, has yet to be surpassed. This film is the pinnacle of Hong Kong Cinema and shows us John Woo before he sold his soul to Mr Cruise. With credit going to Woo pyrotechnics and imagery (you should know it by now - guns in both hands, the obligatory tooth pick etc). Chow Yun Fat shows us why he was the best actor outside Hollywood, while Tony Leung matches Yun-Fat scene for scene in their two - handers. The simple storyline that is soaked with Woo's favorite themes of Loyalty, Betrayal and kinship is as gripping as the pyrotechnic wizardry.The opening set piece is mind blowing, as is the use of the stairs by Yun - Fat! The final shootout has to be seen to be believed. The jazz soundtrack is a nice surprise to the noises of Smith and Wesson's. So buy it now, as I'm off to pick my teeth and practise being as cool as Chow Yun Fat.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 January 2003
HARD BOILED is the last movie directed by John Woo in Hong-Kong, his native country. And the movie is a dazzling testament of this director who did more for the recognition of the cinema of Asia than Akira Kurosawa, Satiajit Ray and Kenji Mizoguchi together. Like these masters, John Woo is a writer-director, like these masters, John Woo explores the particular moral codes of his people in his films but unlike these masters, he specialized in a genre that is usually not the cup of tea of the intelligentsia : the action movie.
The Cinema of John Woo is the cinema of the last frontier. John Woo's movies are modern westerns without deserts or glorious landscapes, his movies are claustrophobic : there are more guns, more bad guys, more policemen stuck in Woo's saloons than in the whole movie production of John Ford and Howard Hawks. And when all these guys begin to shoot, John Wayne or Gary Cooper wouldn't have had the slightest chance against them. Because the John Woo hero, in order to survive, needs more than a star on his chest or God's benediction. He must cross the frontier.
He must cross a frontier, Law, Honor, Self-respect, Friendship, make your choice. The character of Allan, played by a great Tony Leung, is the perfect example of the impersonation of a John Woo hero ; he's working for the Hong-Kong police, he's an insider and should follow the moral codes, written or not, of his employer. But, in order to survive, he will have to kill in cold blood his aging boss. He has crossed the frontier but in the same time saved his own life. For the time being.
A DVD zone essential stuff.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 April 2002
I was really excited when I heard that "Hrad Boiled" was finally being released in an uncut widescreen version on DVD. Before I had seen some fairly bad versions of the film, including a horribly cur German version, and I was looking forward to finally getting a pristine copy with all the action, all the blood and all the dialogue that the director intended. However, when I finally got round to buying it, I felt a bit let down. I still love the film, but on a technical level, this release is pretty terrible.
The picture quality is pretty terrible. showing all the flickers, scratches and traces of torn film (!) of the master, the sound-quality is hardly using the Stereo and there is only a minimum of chapter stops. All this could be relatively easily forgiven, but it does come in addition to the fact that you have no choice but to live with some burned-in subtitles of dubious translation and a pretty bad picture format.
A retranslation and proper digital subtitles would have been nicer and the possibility to choose between original and dubbed version.
However, this is still the best version of the film available in Britain and the film as such remains one of Woo's best.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 24 November 2005
Chow Yun Fat and Tony Leung deliver the goods in a staggeringly violent movie. The body count is incredible. But the movie never fails to grip and involve you, unlike so many other actioners. Directed by John Woo when he was at the peak of his powers, for once Tarantino was right, this is a must see film. Undercover cop Leung must battle his own dark side and Chow Yun Fat to stay alive. Chow is only interested in getting revenge on Johnny Wong. With a few lighter asides involving love interest "Madam". A brilliant performance from both stars makes this a top notch slice of Hong Kong crime drama. Buy it or rent it, but don't miss it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)