Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New Album - U2 Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
247
4.4 out of 5 stars
Charade (Wide Screen) (DVD)
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.11+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 22 November 2017
One of the all time great spy action movies.
Wish I could give it more stars, I love it so much.
The chemistry between Audrey Hepburn and Carry Grant is pitch perfect.
This is a fun movie with great locations and a sort of 'spoof-James Bond spy' feel to it.
Charade does spy with comedy and style.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2012
If, like me, you are wishing to purchase/replace this superb film which stars Audrey Hepburn, Cary Grant and a host of other notable screen greats, you will be confused by the reviews shown on Amazon. Three or four DVDs are listed and 53 identical reviews are shown for all of them. I took the matter up with Amazon and it appears they are not responsible for the content of the reviews.
I can only say that having made a choice of this DVD at £3.99 (it has blue circles on it) it is all that anyone could desire, the picture is sharp, the colour is perfect and the sound presented no problems for my NHS hearing aids. There are no subtitles on this copy and I believe that is common for all other DVD copies.
If you are looking and confused as I was, buy this one, you will not be disappointed.
By the way, if you have never seen the film, I do envy you. You are in for a treat.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2012
Its been a long time coming but at last a reasonably good copy of Charade to watch...Its not up to the superb standard of the Blu Ray North By Northwest but a very good effort..it even looks like the trailer in the extras section has been cleaned up. As in the Blu Ray version of North by Northwest i actually noticed things i hadnt noticed in the poorer quality DVD versions. Not sure why a copy of the DVD version of Charade is included but i suppose it serves to make a comparison..

As for the film...well its simply wonderful, the script is witty and tight. Cary in one of his finest parts, having calmed down a bit from all the OTT acting of his early days and supported by some excellent actors relishing the chance to play some thoroughly nasty characters...

A good price too.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 July 2009
At last we have a high quality DVD of this excellent classic film - BUT ONLY IF you have the Universal version. Hepburn and Grant sparkle as one might expect, and James Coburn and Walter Matthau are suitably villainous, but who are the real heroes and villains? This original version is vastly superior to the recent remake, much more subtle, much better acting, much better script.
After buying and returning two different very poor previous versions, the Universal edition is a worthwhile addition to any movie buff's collection. It is only the basic film, no extras other than the usual scene selection languages and subtitles, but who needs extras when the film delights the heart and mind as much as this one.
This is a copy of my previous review for this self-same product, now supposedly unavailable on Amazon! Make sure this one here is still the high quality DVD, as mentioned by other reviewers.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
Having already bought a DVD of CHARADE some years ago, which was very poor quality, apparently because the movie was in the Public Domain which meant that anybody could legally copy it, I was delighted with this BluRay edition - the film is now available in this beautiful High Definition version restored to it's full glory. You will be very happy with it.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 26 December 2011
A Great film, but the version advertised is by Slam Dunk Media and has a 4:3 letterbox aspect ratio. The print quality (or digital transfer) is poor with compression artefacts resulting in a grainy and unfocused finish.

Frankly it looks a mess on my 32" Sony Bravia TV so I recommend avoiding this particular release and instead keep your eye out for the true widescreen, digitally remastered version of the film (which I believe is included in the the region 1 release of 2003 film "The Truth About Charlie")
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 May 2017
Been looking for this film for ages, it brill and Grant and Audrey are brilliant in this film, a must buy.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2013
DO NOT BUY THIS RSS PICTURES DVD, it is a pitifully bad transfer of a film I was extremely interested in seeing. It is full of interlacing problems (like someone has done a bad job transcoding from NTSC to PAL), digital artefacts, images that are blurred and poorly rendered and gutless sound quality that is out of sync, flat and muddy (imagine swapping out your surround sound setup for a thrashed domestic-standard mono music centre from the 1960s). When I played the disc I thought it was a pirated copy from a VHS tape, it is that bad (even the letter-boxing is blurred that is how low the standard is).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
Fantastic Stanley Donen movie , finally getting the picture and sound quality it deserves. Blu ray transfer is excellent (region free too), A nice Hichcockian adventure , Cary Grant was never better (except maybe in Hitchcock's North By Northwest) and there is real chemistry between him and Audrey Hepburn. Great supporting cast (including Walter Mattau and James Coburn) and excellent score by Heny Mancini. Will keep you guessing if you haven't seen it before, if you have seen it, you'll want to see it again. Decent enough price , not seen the Criterion version so can't compare, but if you just want the movie this is ideal. If you've only seen one of the public domain sub VHS versions, take a punt on this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 October 2014
I bought this Park Circus version and, on watching for the first time, found it to be pretty good. However, on trying to watch it again about six months later, I found that the picture froze almost an hour into the film. It couldn't be rectified. It even did the same on another system and also on the computer in exactly the same spot. Their isn't a mark on the disc and I never touch the surface of discs no matter how many times I'm told that they are indestructible. Is there some reason for this happening? I've since bought the Universal version for under three pounds and have found the picture to be fine but I can't send the other one back as it is over six months since I ordered it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)