Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Handmade Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Pre-order now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
70
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 23 April 2008
A very enjoyable film with excellant set pieces and exciting deaths. I particuly enjoy the crescendo of exhilrating gregorian music before 'the offing' of preists, nanny's and journalists. This film has devil dogs, baboons attacking and a malevolent anti-christ tot on a tri-cycle. Whilst The Exorcist deserves 5 stars this deserves 666.
22 comments| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2016
When you have Gregory Peck acting and Richard Donner directing then you know you have a great chance to watch a fulfilling movie and The Omen ticks all the boxes in the horror cannon. Peck's adopted son is the son of Satan and strange things start to happen around them. Mother is played by the much missed Lee Remick. Bille Whitelaw is superb as Damien's nanny who protects him. The music is almost as infamous as the film itself. But it is the acting that elevates the movie as Peck starts to believe that indeed his son is evil. He teams up with photographer played by David Warner to learn the ultimate terrifying truth.

The only slight let down is that we don't see much of Damien, however the kid was only 5 years old when he played him. An excellent chilling movie, which relies on imagery and piure horror rather than gore. Indeed only the infamous decapitation scene has any gore. If you don't want more frights avoid the extras titled Curse or Coincidence........
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 March 2015
Such a classic movie compared to the rubbish remake which shouldn't have happened. The special features are really good, it has great documentaries like 'the omen curse'. Hoax maybe? Anyway haven't seen the omen for a few years now so decided to buy the bluray and wasn't disappointed. The 666 hair scene sends a shiver down my spine each time. Damien is such a creepy but adorable kid, they couldn't have picked a better kid for the part. *insert creepy smile*.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2013
About a month ago, I watched "The Exorcist" for the first time in my life. I thought I would find it cheesy to the extent that I would laugh. However, this was not to be the case. I was on edge with fear and excitement. This is coming from someone who has witnessed their fair share of modern gore fests such as "Saw".

With the excitement I got from "The Exorcist", I decided I wanted to watch "The Omen" to see if it would live up to the same enjoyment I got from "The Exorcist". Well, I can say that it did. In a different way, though.

In my opinion, trying to compare "The Omen" to "The Exorcist" is not possible because they each excel in different areas.

I feel "The Exorcist" is more scary. It was difficult to watch at times for someone who had no idea what was coming up. What lets it down, though, is the plot. In contrast, I feel "The Omen" has a much better plot with the flow of the film being better from scene to scene. The overall package was better. What lets this film down, however, was that it was not scary. I needed to be frightened more. I want a horror movie to scare me. Isn't that what it is supposed to do?

In conclusion, I feel they were both excellent in their own right and so cannot be compared to each another. I liked both. However, I can easily see why someone would like one and hate the other. For me, though, both films get 5 stars.

If you have not seen either and want a decent plot, watch "The Omen". If you want to be scared and are not too concerned about the plot, watch "The Exorcist".
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2014
Classic horror on Blu-ray.

You'll all know the story by now, and no doubt seen the movie multiple times. An ageless tale of good vs. evil, with some sterling performances from Gregory Peck (the role of Robert Thorn was first offered to William Holden) and Billy Whitelaw.

After Kathy Thorn loses her child during childbirth, her husband agrees to secretly swap him with another child who was also born at the 6th hour, on the sixth day of the sixth month. That little boy was to be called Damien. A series of strange events, and mysterious 'accidents' lead to the Thorn's rise to power, and place Damien on his way to the most powerful position on earth. The rest they say, is history.

Richard Donner's assured direction, Gilbert Taylor's cinematography and Jerry Goldsmith's Oscar winning score make for an atmospheric viewing experience, and while some of the effects have aged and the fashions have dated, it's still miles ahead of similar 'devil child' movies and the vastly inferior 2006 remake.

With superb picture and audio, and a vast array of special features, the Blu-ray really is the best way to own The Omen in your own home. A movie no horror movie buff should be without.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 January 2014
HAVING LEE REMICK AND GREGORY PECK STARRING IN THIS FILM MADE IT INTO A TRUELY BELIEVEABLE STORY THAT IN PARTS IS TRUELY DISTURBING.GREOGORY LOOKED THE PART UNLIKE THE DISMAL REMAKE WHICH IS BEST AVOIDED.BILLIE WHITELAW GIVES A VG PERFORMANCE AS THE NANNY.A UG FILM INDEED THAT SPAWNED MANY SIMILAR FILMS THAT NEVER REACHED THE PROFFESIONLISM OF THIS FILW.HIGHLY RECOMMENDED
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2003
I remember the time when i was 5 or 6 and used to hide behind the sofa while watching 'Thriller' but then i watched countless horror films, especially Hammer Horror and the Friday 13th films and began to feel immune to the scares they had to offer. Then when i was about 8 i watched 'The Omen'. At that age it was the dogs in the cemetery that stood out, especially as my best friend had a Rottweiler for a household pet. At that age and with hindsight i can say it is one of the best, if not the best horror i have seen. The actors are impressive with the likes of Gregory peck and patrick Troughton shining. There are famous actors to appeal to Americans. There are good British Actors and English scenes to appeal to our own nation lending a hand of authenticity for us. You have inventive death scenes, a plot with dimensions and a great musical score. A lot of good horrors motion to the idea of religion e.g. The Exocist and Dracula films but i feel it is 'The Omen' that does the best job. I liked the approach of 'Stigmata' but sometimes you realise the classics do it better and this is one of them. If not the main one.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 22 June 2007
The Omen was the first horror film I ever saw at the cinema. At the time it made a huge impression on me. I've probably seen in on TV since then, but certainly it didn't have the same impact on me then. So when I came to watch the DVD I wasn't really expecting that much from the film.

Well I was wrong. On DVD in widescreen on a decent size widescreen TV this is still a terrific film. Some of the set pieces are brilliantly done and the cast are all good. Gregory Peck and David Warner steal the acting honours, although Patrick Troughton and Billie Whitelaw who both have small key roles are very good as well.

Of course this film probably wouldn't have happened if The Exorcist hadn't been made. It isn't as good a film as the The Exorcist, but in many ways its much more entertaining. Make sure you see the 1976 original version, before watching the remake from last year. I haven't seen the new version, but apparently its pretty much a shot for shot remake and as such is rather pointless, and therefore it will spoil the original for you if you see it first.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 August 2012
This is good 70s horror, if your looking for cheap scares and a good story then this is certainly the film for you, the cast is very good and the effects are great too for the time, many horrors have tried to copy the omen but have failed, this is the original and the best version you can get with a good picture quality and special features.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2007
There was a rising trend in the 1970's for excess gore and pushing the boundaries as much as possible within the horror genre. Much of what fitted into the 'video nasty' genre was, as a result, forgettable and throwaway, with the exception of perhaps 'The Texas Chainsaw Massacre' or 'The Evil Dead'.

The Omen, however, was neither a video nasty, nor a schlocky kind of hammer-esque farce. Instead, it was a reasonably intelligently written supernatural horror exploring biblical dogma which had only occasionally been touched on within the horror genre, in films such as 'Rosemary's Baby'. The Omen took gothic horror to uncharted territory.

Much of the effectiveness comes from the concept of a child being evil, which is something most people find unthinkable. Robert and Cathy Thorn, however, bring up a child who, by his fifth birthday, is already looking more and more disturbed.

Of course, we as the viewer know that the child is not really their's, but actually an unwanted baby who was dumped upon the staff of a monastery. Later, it transpires that 'Damien' was actually born of a Jackal.

The plot very quickly treads into creepy and unnerving territory when, on the day of his fifth birthday, Damien's nanny hangs herself in front of hundreds of guests, from a third-storey window. The camera then slowly moves onto a shot of Damien waving at a demented looking Rottweiler, accompanied by some seriously scary sounding music composed by Jerry Goldsmith.

Indeed, the musical score is one of the most important elements in this film, with regards to atmosphere. It plays an integral part in setting mood and unnerving the listener. Goldsmith's score sounds chilling and at times, threatening.

The unpleasant events keep on unfolding, most notably a rather eventful visit to a church. Upon seeing the church, Damien begins screaming psychotically and attacking his parents. The juxtaposition of infancy and perilous, violent rage is central to the success of this scene, and also the entire film.

A later visit to a Safari Park proves no more successful, as various animals back away from Damien, and then later, hundreds of Baboons attack the car which Damien's mother, played by Lee Remick, is driving. The fright and horror of Cathy is profound, almost tangible, and completely convinving.

This horror then accelerates at a rapid pace, as the Thorn's slowly begin to unravel the horrifying truth about who their son really is, and exactly what he is capable of. Robert Thorn, played superbly by Gregory Peck, becomes particularly determined to discover the truth about his 'son', aided by an unhinged priest and a snooping photographer, both of whom are doomed from the moment they open their mouths.

The sense of foreboding and the deterioration of Cathy's state of mind, and eventually, physical health, along with the sinister appearance of a deeply scary nanny named 'Mrs. Baylock', are both important in creating a sense of great unease and impending doom. The viewer knows that the entire plot and dialogue is building it's way towards a horrifying climax, director Richard Donner leaves us in no doubt about that.

It also must be said that the characterisation is excellent, particularly from Gregory Peck, whose shift from sceptic to terrified parent is a fascinating one. Peck is convincing and real, his fear and anguish affecting. Lee Remick is also superb as the doomed Cathy Thorn, who struggles continuously with her distance from, and suspiscion of Damien.

Additionally, Damien himself, played by Harvey Stephens, and Mrs. Baylock, played by Billie Whitelaw, are both intriguing to watch and sinister at all the right moments. Menace and intimidation are provided in plentiful supply by both of these characters, helpfully aided by a bloodthirsty Rottweiler who is possessed by a need to tear Robert Thorn apart, limb from limb.

The locations are also varied, ranging from America, London and the English countryside, from Rome to Jerusalem, via an extremely unpleasant Italian cemetery occupied by legions of yet more vicious Rottweilers. As you've probably guessed, this film probably hasn't done a great deal to boost the reputation of Rottweilers.

The dialogue and plot are big on suspense, as all classic horror films should be, and although there are a couple of moderately violent moments, this is not a gore-fest in any way, shape or form. It doesn't need to be. It is supernatural horror par excellence, boasting every dramatic device possible to keep the viewer's nerves on edge and their interest captured. As a horror film, it is top drawer, being superbly acted, directed and scripted, whilst also unnerving, if not frightening, many a horror fan for now, over three decades.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)