Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.1 out of 5 stars
21
Camembert Electrique
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£19.09+ £1.26 shipping


on 16 November 2014
An album that was originally sold for 50P by Virgin as part of a promo to get the band noticed. That was in 1974 I believe. They had already been noticed by a devoted few which regarded them as something of a cult, the Flying Teapot trilogy saw to that. Some great tracks including "And you tried so hard to get there" a lovely telling refrain, and many others.

Try it and see, this was the real heart of the seventies, tripped out hippies trying to keep the movement going and having a whole lot of fun along the way.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 January 2013
Gong have been around since 1967, They still sound great today, even with their early albums like this. If you like wierd rock songs with a sense of style and a huge dollop of humour and spirituality Come try a slice of Camembert Electric
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 February 2016
Ha...! This is crazy but then you know that don't you because you are a Gong fan.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 September 2016
good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 January 2016
Good
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 March 2008
This album had just been released as I entered High School. I remember it fondly and so had to get a CD version. My father called it 'Hippie Music', making the phrase a term of abuse. It may be hippie but the music doesn't abuse anything. Rhythms and themes are strong and Gilli Smyth's ethereal murmurings evoke the spaced out texture of the music.

And not far from the surface there is great musicianship: As a jazz devotee I realise why I enjoyed (and am enjoying again) it so much; this is free jazz-rock ... and really good too! No surprise that the talented Theo Travis (sax) plays in the latest incarnations of the band.

If you remember this album and feel the urge to acquire more Gong I would certainly recommend 'Egg' and 'You' - they take the jazz to a more even-handed level but are immensely enjoyable and funky.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 June 2015
good service, great album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 January 2015
A+
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 June 2015
Eccentric and unique. Well worth a listen for prog rock fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2015
Not for me, didn't float my boat. Now up for sale.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse