Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Matt Terry Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
9
4.7 out of 5 stars
Look Into The Eyeball
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£30.62+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 18 April 2017
Just brilliant :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 September 2001
Having seen Mr Byrne deliver material from Look Into The Eyeball on his current world tour, and having owned the CD from day 1 of it's release, I cannot recommend this enough. I have seen Byrne in the past looking uncomfortable performing his material - with this material he is bouyant, happy, enthusiastic & brilliant ! Standout tracks on the CD must be 'The Revolution' (beautiful & soothing), 'The Great Intoxication' (strangely muffled but dramatic in build-up), 'Like Humans Do' (Byrne gets maindtream), 'Desconocido Soy' (a perfect summer song which Byrne clearly enjoys) and 'The Moment Of Conception' (probably the best track on the CD - picture it live - 4 quality musicians going for it hell for leather - and enjoying every second of it !!) The CD is great, more mainstream than most Byrne material - unlikely to become chart material due to quality music not being popular these days, but a CD you WILL listen to time & time again. To get the best from this CD - don't just play it LISTEN to it - quality music, quality production, quality vocals & killer lyrics.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 April 2003
The easy to listen album of the year. A collection of springy, happy little tongue in cheek tunes cleverly crafted and honed into a well managed CD of musical yummyness! yes, Mr Byrne has once again made what can only be described as pure pop music at its enchanting best. Even the use of spanish in the track 'disconsido soy' doesn't hinder the listener's enjoyment in the slightest. he just grabs the whole album and spits it in ur face with attention to detail and a sharpness unsurpassed. buy, sit back in summer and enjoy!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 August 2001
I tend to judge how good a CD is after a few months i.e the ones that you keep coming back to,and this is one that I come back to often. It`s probably the best CD since uh-oh and that was a good CD.there`s nothing really new here but there are some cracking songs which make you want to move about and as usual some make me smile with there sharp lyrics...buy this !!!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2001
Afetr the strange and mixed up 'Feelings' Byrne returns to us with an album of pure pop pleasure. After walking about with this album on headphones for the last week I have to say that it is my favorite of his recent work. Tracks like 'Neighbourhood' and 'U B JESUS' could wake the dead and bring them back dancing. It's a shame that this album will not be heard by more people as it shows that you don't have to be in your teens to produce 'popular music'. Thankyou MR Byrnes please come again!!!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 October 2006
This is the Byrne album I play the most, and from the opening bars it lifts me up. UB Jesus is a storming track, and from there on it just gets better. Then you get to Accident, which makes you stand still and sends shivers down the spine. Gotta get home and listen to it again. Great stuff.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
context: in 1986, when i was 13, my brother held two albums in his hand as my intended christmas present. one was George Michael's Faith, the other was Speaking In Tongues by Talking Heads. On such moments do lives change. Because, from my early love of Talking Heads, all my musical tastes have sprung. And now, while I am more likely to be listening to modern german electronica, brazilian psychadelia, american post rock etc etc i still buy every david byrne album. i figure owe him a lot.
having said this, i have not found his recent albums to be amongst his best. the albums of the nineties, whilst admirably following whatever interested byrne at the time, were something of a mess of styles. tracks, never mind albums, would range from drum and base to soul, to rock, to samba. such eclectism was impressive but did not make for a coherent album. look into the eyeball, his first for four years, is, i think, his best since the glory days of talking heads. the difference, which will disappoint some, is that byrne has never sounded so relaxed, happy and free from irony as he does on this record. there are some great summery pop songs, notably like humans do, and a phily soul number, neighborhood. perhaps the easiest way to explain the overall feel of the album is that in recent concerts byrne has been covering - without irony - the whitney houston 'classic' i want to dance with somebody. then again, maybe that was not the best sales pitch i could have come up with....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2001
David Byrne must be somewhat fed up with being referred to as a former Talking Head as he has notched up several solo albums since he disbanded that band over 10 years ago. Those familiar with Byrne's work will find much to enjoy in "Look Into The Eyeball", it's no great departure from his previous stuff and that is surely no bad thing. A friend of mine owns a record shop and he was kind enough to let me borrow a promo of the CD for a couple of days. It is a good (not great, though)David Byrne album and I must admit I would have preferred him to up the quirkiness factor a little. However, if you're a fan you'll buy the album anyway and you will not be dissapointed. It's unlikely to win any new converts so us Byrne fanatics will keep this treasure to ourselves!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2014
If you like David Byrne from Talking Heads you'l love this album. Some tracks are a little reminiscent / similar to Queen and all in all a pretty good album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

Rei Momo
£5.21
David Byrne
£13.12

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)