Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle New album - Eminem Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
32
Natural History
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£9.79+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 3 December 2017
Very good album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 18 December 2002
I saw the Kloot supporting Mercury Rev, and although I had heard the name, I hadn't heard any of their music. I was sufficiently impressed to seek out this album.
It is a superb brew. Think Teenage Fanclub, if their main influence had been Leonard Cohen instead of The Byrds. The melodies are almost too immediate, almost too catchy, and the lyrics are full of double meaning and the hint of something terrible hiding under the kitchen sink.
There is nothing world changing about this record. It's just another acoustic folk pop album. But it happens to be a very, very good one.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 October 2001
Natural History represents the first attempt at an album by I am Kloot. It is incredibly edifying to think what has been achieved without the vast bloated expense of the music industry's purse.
Simple recording of beautiful songs with warped and wonderful lyrics. It is a potent brew.
The stand out tracks for me are Loch and Because they allude to a more developed and complicated future. From their early lo fi beginnings the are looking a good bet for the future.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 April 2001
Bought this album, listened to it, listened to it, listened to it - loved it!
Cheeky Manchester chappies do good with this haunting album of songs with stories, shivers and melodic and, at times, whimsical almost, charm.
"Twist" is excellent, "Because" is magical and "No Fear Of Falling" is about as heartfelt and as beautiful in its simplicity as you could possibly want.
If you like intelligent, modern can catchy music from a new band, a singer with a great voice and interesting lyrics (where else could you hear "there's blood on your legs......I love you"???) then this is most certainly the album for you.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 March 2002
I had heard of I Am Kloot for a long time and believed that they were just another new-fad acoustic band (i am referring to the likes of Elbow, Alfie, Turin Brakes etc which are all well and fine but hardly inspirational). How wrong I was! Sure the acoustic guitars are there, but this album pushes the boundries and breaks the mould of how music should be, and surprisingly in doing so, it somehow still manages to retain its catchy pop feel. Simplistic yet strangly enchanting melodies run as an undercurrent throughout the whole album and every song has you humming along by the end of each track. For instance the track 'Twist' bears a close resemblance to the classic childrens song 'The Cat Came Back' which has been interlaced with the songwriters troubled mind, which is truely inspirational. "Theres blood on yer legs, Twist, Snap I Love You". I would rarely give top marks for an album as this generally suggests that it is perfect, but this album is just that. Natural History has to be one of THE albums to have in your collection whether a fan of this genre of music or not. Do not miss out!
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 October 2005
This is one of those albums that seeps into your pores. It starts all low key with the shuffling lo-fi 'To You', a definite grower. There are other moments like this dotted throughout the album, songs that sneak into your conscience slowly but surely. But I Am Kloot have other weapons in their armoury too and know how to write great pop tunes as well. 'Morning Rain' grabs you instantly and keeps you coming back until every track is embedded in your brain. '86 TVs' does a similar thing. It's very acoustic based, this album, and if you like that kind of thing you will absolutely love this because I Am Kloot do it better than most, if not all. If it's not your bag, fear not, because there's enough wit and invention in here to please the most discerning ear. Any band who can carry off the lyric, "There's blood on your legs - I love you", deserves attention. That's taken from the excellent 'Twist', another album highlight. The gentle lull of 'No Fear of Falling' and the mournful instrumental 'Loch' add further interest. Look, it's all brilliant. To my mind they haven't topped this and to be honest, not sure if they could. Mind you, that's not to say you shouldn't buy the other albums too. You should. Just get this one first!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 December 2001
drunken and lurching, tightening the grip on the bottle, falling from side to side. the band that plays in a gutter staring up at the stars or round a camp fire pissing on the flames. singer john bramwell is not a million miles away from gram parsons in temperament, and the flourished folksy feel to the songs are awash with personal turmoil, ballsy shoutalongs and bitter breakups. One For The Road...
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 May 2001
A very impressive debut album, with intelligent and often darkly funny lyrics. The music seems like simple catchy stuff, but there's much more to it than that. The album is great, but they are even better live. Check out this album, and if you can see them live.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
I first saw this band in Amsterdam - the local crowd initially drew much merriment from the fact that 'I am Kloot' means something rude in Dutch, but they were soon won over. I am Kloot specialise in slightly sardonic, but highly melodic tunes, and in 'To You' and 'Twist' they have 2 sure-fire winners. Certainly, some of the rest of the album is patchy, but this is an impressive debut from the best band you've never heard of.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 May 2001
Why all the muted praise - this is a fantastic album! One of it's major achievements is that Kloot take a particular style and atmosphere and stuck to it successfully throughout. The superb sneering vocals help of course, alongside a backing band of bass and drums that remain unobtrusive and let the songs unfold.
To end on a lazy comparision some of this album sounds like a mix between Cast and The La's, but thankfully more of the latter than the former!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)