Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
8
White African
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.94+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

on 29 January 2016
Having been introduced to him via his new album the Hey Joe Opus I have checked out his back catalogue and love this album. There is certainly a hint or two of John Lee Hooker. I imagine that any blues fan would like this and it is more roots style than the normal blues rock we mainly get now
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 June 2017
this mab dosn t make bad cds
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 August 2014
Brilliant, only just found this guy via a movie I was watching. One of his songs was playing in the back credits and I love it, so purchased a couple of CD's. Was even more impressed. :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 April 2016
Awesome... :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 5 December 2002
Otis taylor is a modern-day Blues man who has captured the essence of blues music from the past 70 years perfectly. You would be hard-pressed to find any of these songs out of place alongside the classics. This man is a real find. Very highly recommended.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2007
This album is just stunning. It has to be said that much of the material is very dark, but this is the blues, after all. 'Saint Martha's Blues' is about the real-life lynching of his great-grandfather. If you've heard Billie Holiday's song 'Strange Fruit', then this has a similar power. Three Days and Three Nights is a fictional tale of a homeless father comforting his dying daughter, Resurrection Blues is about a man about to be crucified, while 'Mama Don't You Do It' is about the real-life violent relationship between his parents. It's not all doom and gloom, 'Stick On You', well, you can guess what that one's about. This CD is addictive.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2007
No topic seems to be beyond the pale as far as Otis Taylor is concerned, lynchings, mass suicides, child abuse, organ transplants. This is like his other albums, stark and dark. They are all superbly produced displaying a vast amount of instrumental expertise. Taylor himself plays mandolin, banjo, acoustic guitar and harmonica. This is just as intriguing in its depiction of things as they are and have been for black Americans.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 January 2012
This is a record i listen to very much just now . The hifi quality is very high and the songs are vero good too . So if you like guitars and blues rock with very good quality , i can realy recomend this .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse



Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)