Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Martine McCutcheon Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
70
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£12.16+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 April 2017
Most enjoyable .
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2017
Great product at good price
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 August 2017
Thank you for very prompt delivery of great dvd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 April 2017
A tremendously enjoyable performance.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2017
Very good purchase, of an even higher standard than expected!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2010
I loved this DVD of Verdi's ever popular La Traviata, Angela Gheorghiu was suberb and looked as beautiful as ever and made a really convincing heroine who was dying of consumption. Her voice was superb as ever as that of the baritone Leo Nucci who sang the role of her lover Alfredo Germont's father. The orchestra was conducted by Sir George Solti a great maestro who drew out Verdi's heartrending music for the Orchestra of the Royal Opera.

BUT, the whole opera was ruined for me by the tenor Frank Lopardo whose acting was totally wooden and I did not like his voice at all. It was good in the lower registers but became ,in my opnion, cold in the higher register.
.
I looked him up on Google and was surprised to see how well known and in much demand he was.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 June 2017
My only complaint about this dvd is that the subtitles do not include Italian
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 May 2017
Good.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 3 February 2014
1994. Solti at the end of his career; Gheorghiu at the beginning of hers -- she was 29 at the time of this production, and she is a treat to hear and a sight to behold. The beauty and confidence of her singing and the appropriate expressiveness of her acting are very special, and the scene with Germont tears at the heart as it should. She has the flexibility for "Sempre libera" and the weight and plangency for "Amami Alfredo." It's a great assumption of the role. The cast is strong throughout. Frank Lopardo, looking (though not quite sounding) like the young Bergonzi, is a positive and forceful Alfredo. The voice isn't particularly individual, but he sings with security and expression, and he acts the part convincingly. He takes both stanzas of his Act 2 cabaletta, and he makes them work. Leo Nucci has rough moments in the singing, but he's an old hand, and he puts it over convincingly. I've always thought "No, non udrai rimproveri" was anti-climactic after "Di Provenza" -- but Nucci makes it seem just right. He was (still is, I think) a fine singing actor. Solti conducts with fine forward impetus and draws lovely sound from the Covent Garden orchestra.

I see that some reviews get into the Gheorghiu/Netrebko wars -- I haven't heard Netrebko in this role, but assume that she's very fine. But c'mon . . . there's no need to pick winners and losers here. This is a great record of a compelling production and a great performance.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2010
This performance of Violetta (the heroine of La Traviata) justifiably established Angela Gheorghiu as a great operatic talent.

Ms Gheorghiu has the added physical advantage of looking the part of a doomed courtesan. Most importantly, her voice has many colours which she used with great intelligence in this performance.

The scene where death is close is particularly affecting.

This DVD is a must for anyone who loves opers
11 Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)