Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 15 September 2010
Having listened to the original album many times, i find it annoying that the songs on this CD are ordered in a completely different way.

This CD is a bargain at [...] secondhand on Amazon.

It includes many brilliant songs at the end of the CD -

16. Night Train - James Brown
17. Louie Louie - The Kingsmen
18. Green Onions - Booker T & The MG's
19. Rhythm Of The Rain - The Cascades
20. He's So Fine - The Chiffons
21. Be My Baby - The Ronettes
22. Da Doo Ron Ron - Crystals
23. I'm The Face - The High Numbers
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 March 2001
....sorry for bad english! As a german youngster at the age of 21 I am very proud to know The Who's "Quadrophenia". What great lyrics, what great guitar, well it's Pete's trademark!!!The greatest arrangements I've ever listen to. Who needs Britney Spears?!? Just listen and be part of a british milestone in rock-history!! WOOOHOOO!
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 July 2016
What can you say?.....it's 'Quadrophenia"-The Who, it's got great number's by Cross Section & The High Numbers, The Who of course, from a concept idea, hence a timeless film that along with The Jam, The New Hearts, The Exits, helped to spearhead and influence, inspire the nouveau Mod revival by 1979, from the remnant's of New Wave Power Pop, with The O' Levels/The Odds & Edward Ball, The Nips, The Rivals, The Jags, it was a new modern world, Paul Weller was a defining face, along with Jack And The Plugs (The Purple Hearts), The Killer Meterz (Killermetres), The Split Screens, but of course 'Quadrophenia" can't be underestimated, there are many misguided & modern misconceived trivial idea's that are completely wrong and miss the point, what people don't often spot is that the film is about also importatly what in 1964 was not talked about, it was misunderstood, a stigma, so hence not treated, or with any safeguard's in place, Jimmy Cooper, Mod, has a split personality disorder, thus a mental illness that is hindered by drugs, respect and credit to Pete Townsend & The Who for being brave enough to conceive and portray something not often shown or highlighted, also a classic Mod story with this classic soundtrack.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 July 2012
If you love the film then this will not disappoint! However the track order is annoying in comparision to the Who's album Quadrophenia. If you're a fan of the 'Who' you would be happier owning the latter of the two as i am. There is a difference in the versions of the tracks which can be either annoying or rewarding depending on the listener. Myself i'm a connoisseur of all things 'The Who' so an enjoyable addition to my collection!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 24 August 2005
a quality album from the who to go with the film of the same name,their best work in my opinion,the first thing i noticed about this cd was the quality of the remastering,it sounds awesome!a master piece album,go out and buy it today,you wont be dissapointed!stand out tracks for me are,the real me,joker james and the punk and the godfather
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 May 2001
This album was originally issued on vinyl in the autumn of 1973. I was then 16, and bought it the day it hit the shops. I played it right through, twice, that night. I fell in love with it there and then.
Since that time, the reputation of this album has risen and fallen a fair few times.
At its very worst, when you listen to it and your mood is wrong, "Quadrophenia" can sound turgid and lame - 70s rock, stuck in its own groove.
Listen again.
There's power, grace, calm and elegance in here.
Pete Townshend was aiming to write something to unite the rough edges of rock with the higher aims of art. In the 21st century, such an ambition seems almost laughable - mainly because so few people have the talent or the vision to even try. They'd rather loll about in a vapid cloud of "post-modern" irony or "slacker" idleness. The Who in 1973 did not know HOW to be idle.
Listen - hear the way PT combines T.S. Eliot's despairing visions of a world dry and arid for lack of spiritual life, with a pimply youth's callow cries for acceptance and self-knowledge. Hear how THAT seemingly pompous notion is turned into living, breathing music with fire in its belly, blood in its limbs - and angels on its shoulders.
The great beast that was The Who was simply magnificent back then. This is their gift to history. Take it. And be lucky.
11 Comment| 15 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 11 July 2010
I watched the film first, then I've visited Brighton, then I bought the CD.
I really like it, but I'm afraid I might be positively prejudiced by all of those conditions I mentioned... Surely good btw!
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 December 2013
Just lie back, close your eyes and relive the film in your mind's eye, excellent. A fine selection of Who tracks complimented with a few special tracks from the film by other artists. Picture Jimmy (Phil Daniels) and Steph (Lesley Ash) and the rest of the Quadrophenia crew enjoying being mods, it'll bring a smile to your face, guaranteed.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 28 November 2009
it's a waste of ink reviewing this album
much better you buy it and listen to
ALL the tracks in the 2 cds are a top rock composing and performing result

BE CAREFUL to buy THIS ALBUM and NOT the Quadrophenia Soundtrack, which is not the same thing

I have made it wrong and had to spend twice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2016
I've listened to this album so much since around 1980 when I got hold of it after seeing the film.
Love it and the fact you get the 60s songs on it too.its not as good as the 1973 original in the way it flows. But great none the less.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)