Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

3.8 out of 5 stars
17
3.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£19.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 September 2001
After all the good press I heard for this LP, it must be said that if this wasn't R&C, nobody would have cared. The production seems to be polished, but lacking in ideas... The first LP was a cracker - only buy this if you're a die-hard R&C fan.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2001
Having stumbled across Mark Rae doing a dj set at a local club i immediately rushed out to buy Rae and Christians 'Northern Sulphuric Soul'.I loved its variety of downbeat hip hop and luscious vocals and have since bought all the other releases on the Grand Central label.Most are amazing(check out Aim,Tony D,and Central Heating to start),some are a little weaker(Only Child).Therefore I was so excited about this release and i have to be honest i have not been at all dissapointed.Although it does not reach the highs of there 5 star debut it is a more cohesive album and showcases the duos awesome production skills.As usual they have pulled in some great guests and have used them to great effect.Bobby Womack guests on the soulful 'get a life'and 'wake up everybody'and the pharcyde bring their unique rapping style to 'let it go'and 'it aint nothing like'.Other highlights include the instrumental 'ready to roll'and 'salvation'featuring Siron.If you like music of the downbeat variety this album is an absolute must and hopefully will turn more people on to the devestating Grand Central Label.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2001
'Sleepwalking' is simply stunning, one of the best albums likely to be released all year. It contains a little bit of everything, and everything leaves you wanting more. If you want soul, sweetness, laid-back hip-hop or edgy exotic beats, then this record will contain something for you.
Rae & Christian have an excellent track record of getting the best out of their guest artists (even Texas sound ok in their debut album). In 'Sleepwalking', the Pharcyde are in 'rare form' - sounding as crisp and cool as they're ever likely to. Then, the two Womack tracks are extraordinary, with Rae & Christian allowing Womack's extraordinary voice to rasp its soul over some beautifully constructed backing music. Check out the choppy guitar on 'Get a Life'. Finally, I doubt whether anyone will have heard a sweeter, breathier song than 'Salvation', featuring Siron.
Rae & Christian are like Massive Attack, with all their edge and verve, but none of the dark paranoia. If I have a gripe, it would be that the instrumental tracks aren't all that interestin...They're not bad, but they don't mesh perfectly with the brillianceof the rest of the album. And it is a brilliant album.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2015
Their other amazing album. I am in love with this and it has such diverse sounds which shows their abilities to work with various artists. Soulful, funky and Hip hopy it is a truly cool album. This is going to sound weird but the last track is too short. I think it should have been produced longer as it is a nice sound. But, hey one could pick apart any track on any album if one really wanted to. it is still a masterpiece full of mysterious and moody beauty.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Rae and Christian suffer from some serious sophomore-slumpin' in "Sleepwalking." While their second studio release is not even close to bad -- actually it's fairly good -- it suffers from a lack of new ideas, and some Pharcyde songs that stick out like sore, bloody thumbs.

It opens with a swippy hip-hop intro, "Blazing the Crop," an entertaining little number with what sounds like panpipes. What follows is alternately satisfactory and hilarious, with everything from outrageously genteel falsettos to swooning trip-ballads featuring Kate Rogers and Tania Maria, as well as the trippy, smoldering "Trailing in the Wake."

Unfortunately, there are two songs by the Pharcyde that simply don't fit in with the smoother, mellower hip-hop. "Let It Go" and "It Ain't Nothing Like" meander aimlessly through mellow beats, sounding jagged and uncomfortable. Perhaps it would have been better back in the "Bizarre Ride II" era, but here they sound overworn. And the legendary Bobby Womack does a good job, but it feels like Rae and Christian weren't quite sure how to use his talents.

Rae and Christian broke some new ground with "Northern Sulphuric Soul," a delightful acid hip-hop album. There, they made new inroads and breathed some fresh life into the subgenre. But here, they feel like they are on autopilot... or even worse, out of inspiration.

Fortunately they do turn out some very good material, mostly the layered downtempo numbers, and the hilarious number with the Congos: "Like putting one foot right in front of the othah," in an intensely posh voice over some trippy hip-hop beats. And Rae and Christian duet well with the female singers on here, including the soaring finale with Siron.

Unfortunately, they forge no new territory with "Sleepwalking," and the album is burdened with some songs that should have been cut. Fortunately it redeems itself with some beautiful downtempo songs.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 November 2001
This album is worth it for "Ready to Roll" itself! At first I was not too sure about this album, but the more you listen to it, the more you realise what a quality album it is. The music here ranges from some soul to Hip hop and Trip hop and features some momentous artists to boot! If you like this sort of stuff, check out Lemon Jelly & Kinobe.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 May 2001
After listening to Track 9 (Ready to Roll) being championed by Gilles Peterson for several weeks, I promptly went and bought this album in the hope of something similarly good being repeated across the record. The album starts well with some cool hip-hop but the next few tracks do not live up to the expectations provided by Track 1. They are slow moving and lacking in any real structure. Although easy to listen too they are rather limited in a musical sense. Track 9 is the outstanding track on the album and I can see this being used across adverts etc, during the coming months. An eclectic mix of smooth rythems and cool beats this is a great track. The rest of the album is also good but still is not what we expected after their last success. Give it a listen - it's not bad.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2001
R+C return with a more 'coffe table' album. Having bought all the singles (Pharcyde and Womack collaborations) and being dissapointed, i was supprised to find the album versions more interesting. R+C say they are going for 'songwriting' on this album, and tracks like "get a life" and "ready to roll" are flashes of the compelling 1st album "Northern sulphuric soul" but the rest is not a patch on the debut. Funnily enough the manchester duo have got more press for ths weaker effort, but if i was you i would buy "northern sulphuric soul" and stick with it. Also for fans of Kate rogers stunning voice, check Aim's "Cold Water Music". My verdict- Must Try Harder!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2001
Another classic from the boys from manchester. Offering a sublime mix of soul, funk and hip-hop, the guys have hit the mark yet again 100%. This album will go into joint number 1 of the best albums of all time along with northern sulphuric soul. If you don't dig this you gotta be crazy. Also, check out, Only child, Aim and all the other groung breaking acts that can be found at rae & christians' own label, GRAND CENTRAL RECORDS!!! Keep up the good work.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 March 2001
I was so looking forward to this album but what a disappointment. Grating vocals by The Congos on Hold Us Down & Bobby Womack on Get A Life & Wake Up Everybody. The Pharcyde tracks are just dull. Not Just Everybody & Salvation are gorgeously dreamy though. A very average follow up album. Come back Veba, all is forgiven!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£3.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)