Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
325
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.82+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 May 2011
In my opinion Steve Martin's funniest film. Big John Candy plays the shower ring salesman and travel companion from hell who teams up with Steve Martin in order to get back home for thanks-giving. Some very funny moments and great character acting. Never fails to make me laugh.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Planes, Trains and Automobiles is written, produced and directed by John Hughes. It stars Steve Martin and John Candy. Music is by Ira Newborn and cinematography by Donald Peterman.

Marketing man Neal Page (Martin) is in a last ditch dash to get from New York to Chicago in time for the family Thanksgiving dinner. Unfortunately obstacles halt his every advancement, the biggest of which is the man who fate has decreed is his companion for the trip; Del Griffith (Candy), a larger than life shower ring salesman whose outlook on life is considerably different to Neal's.

If you haven't seen it yet? Then what is your excuse? You owe it to yourself to let this wonderful film into your life. John Hughes pitches two of America's then biggest comedy stars together and puts them on a trip where everything that can go wrong, does! Cue chaos with the methods of transport in the title. Yet as funny as the mishaps are, and they are, with a number of events being things many of us can associate with, they would be nothing without the expert characterisations. Both as performed by a never better Martin and Candy, but also as written by Hughes.

Neal Page is anal retentive, snobbish and cynicism in a suit, Del Griffith appears oafish, over talkative and comes bedecked in cheapo winter wear. As time, options and sanity start to ebb away, desperation takes a hold and a surprising co-dependency starts to form. Something that beautifully sets us up for a finale that is as touching as it is genuinely surprising. It has mature comedy characterisations for the grown ups and chaotic actions for the younger crowd. Perfect and it should be prescribed at least once a year for a pick me up. 9/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2011
Great 80's movie with great sound track.
John Candy and Steve Martin perfectly cast in these rolls and the film has it all.
Great laughs, great action, and even some sad bits, but all in all a movie that will make you smile through out :-)
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 February 2016
Ok great film... and a classic.... But was dissaponted as i received this on blu ray and the film played brilliantly... although when I got to the Extra content... The sub menu only half came up and when tried pressing it, the disc rebooted as if i had just put the disc in to watch... I tried a second time.. still the same thing happened..

tried few other of my blu ray discs with extras... and the rest of my discs work fine!!!

ordered an replacement... same thing happened again.. only this time i got all the extra features in the menu box, but when pressed it... rebooted as before. I have upgrade my firmare on blu ray player to no avail... I'd like to know if any other people have experienced this... I have posted both back for a refund... its a shame it's an abslute classic...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 December 2001
Steve Martin and John Candy shine in this hilarious comedy about two men and their disaster filled race to get home for thanksgiving. The chemistry between Steve Martin's frustrated business man and Candy's annoying curtain ring salesman is electric and both undoubtably give one of the finest performances of their careers. The Scene where Candy and Martin come face to face with a juggernaught heading the wrong way down the highway is possibly one of the funniest comedy sequences of all time, and to top it all the film's conclusion is deeply moving and will pull on the heart strings of any audience. A great christmas comedy with a touching message. An absolutely marvellous film, buy it now!
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2013
One of the funniest films ever made. There are so many funny scenes. How about ..
"I'm owen. You the shower curtain ring guy? ... Leave that be. Get out here woman. She's short and skinny but she's strong. Last baby she had ... come out sideways and she didn't scream or nothin'".

Or what about when they jump out of the bed they are forced to share ... classic scene ... or the driving the wrong way scene - devil, fingers in dashboard. It's superb.

So, so funny and brilliant acting. And I like the fact that there is a scene after the end credits so that all the sub-morons who leave the cinema the moment the credits start miss it.

Steve Martin has made, let's face it, a lot of rubbish but this, and Dirty Rotten Scoundrels are, without doubt, his best work.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 December 2005
This film has everything. It's an absolute classic. I must have seen it about 100 times and it still makes me laugh out loud. Just thinking about it makes me laugh out loud. You won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 May 2012
Planes, Trains & Automobiles is easily in my Top 3 comedies ever made, and I am happy I own it on a Blu ray disc. The quality is superb, the movie is pleasure to watch, and the sound is great too. I read somewhere that John Hughes shot close to 3 hours of material, but only half of that made into the final cut. We get a glimpse of those additional scenes from a single deleted scene "Airline food", and several interviews with actors, who among other things also describe what else was shot (e.g. the fight scene between Del and Neal when the police officer tells them they overshot Chicago and have to go back, etc). Beside the movie itself, which is priceless, I found the interviews with John Candy, Steve Martin, John Hughes, and others to be little gems too. In particular, the interivew with John Hughes reveals what was happening at that time in his life and career, which I as a huge fan of the movie find very interesting. In short, it's a quality release with good additional material, and is very highly recommended. I could go on talking about this movie, but: The last thing I want to be remembered as is an annoying blabbermouth... You know, nothing grinds my gears worse than some chowderhead that doesn't know when to keep his big trap shut... If you catch me running off with my mouth, just give me a poke on the chubbs...
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 June 2012
I fully agree with the IMDb review by Bjorn (jbjorns):-

"Martin is trying desperately to get home for thanksgiving and everything than can go wrong does. He accidentally teams up with overbearing Candy, who becomes his traveling companion.

One of the best comedies I've ever seen, doesn't lessen a bit after countless viewings. Most modern day comedies don't have the perfect balance between overt sentiment and outrageous comic sequences as some titles back in the eighties. Planes is one of those perfect examples. Martin and Candy are both rich, multi-layered and flushed out characters who the viewer comes to care about and that's practically nonexistent in modern comedies. Some real heartfelt moments occur along the way and both leads are extremely good whether they're playing it completely straight or go a bit overboard. Despite some sentimental moments the film also has some of the most memorable, outrageous comical sequences that make you burst into laughter and reach for the "pause" button to stable yourself."
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 May 2013
Strangely enough, this comedy, although it's conducted along a track of surreal situations and based on an over the top humor, still manages to be true and genuine when it comes to reveal the real feelings and hidden sides of the characters, resulting in being even more dramatic and realistic than you might expect after the first hour. Still it brings lots of laughs. Steve Martin is a perfect and funny anxious, edgy character, John Candy (may rest in peace) is as fat and ironic as sweet when requested. Didn't know John Hugues died, too, few years later. Let's pay a tribute to this lovely trio. They deserved it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)