Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Amazon Music Unlimited Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
28
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.40+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 29 May 2010
A bio-pic of Bumpy Johnson one of the first African-American gangsters in the 30's. Laurence Fishburne gives a measured performance as the title character in his struggle against Dutch Schultz who is brilliantly portrayed by the British actor Tim Roth. Also Andy Garcia gives a superbly accurate performance as mobster Lucky Luciano.

The sets ,props etc are evocative of the time is the ethos of 30's Harlem where the only way to get above the poverty line is to win at "Numbers", the movie is about the bitter conflicts involved in controlling that particular racket.

Oddly only Tim Roth swears during the movie perhaps for shock effect but it does add authenticity to it.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 December 2001
Truly great movie. This film covers an area no other movie has covered. It starts out with Bumpy(fishburne) getting out of sing sing. Then shows how he took over the harlem numbers racket.
I recomend this to every gangster movie fan.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 July 2012
I enjoyed the film on it's enterntainment value.Plenty of action and story line.Whether the film is historically accurate or not,I don't know?Didn't matter to me,I've watched it time and time again.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 December 2011
got a say enjoyed this movie,action packed start to finish,portray's a great view into the mob conflict in 1930's New Yorks Harlem,based on true story Lawrence Fishburne is amazing with a great portrayel of Bumpy Johnson,a lot of thought put into this movie definitely two thumbs up!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 August 2011
I really enjoyed this film. As far as crime dramas go it is up there with The Godfather to me. Laurence Fishburne was great in his role as Bumpy Johnson. Tim Roth gave a great performance also.

The film did a great job portraying the inner turmoil of people. Also it did a great job at showing the racist attitudes of the times. Example: Dutch asking his main guy, who is black to wrap up his (shultz) sandwich scraps so that he (the black guy) could take them home to feed his grandkids. Classic subtle racism.

The clothes and the music were also good for the period. One scene was even shot at the cotton club which no movie during this period is complete without.

Great Job! Great Film!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 January 2016
This is one of the great gangster movies. Well written, well acted, both the inevitable action and the human story are handled really well. For me every bit as good as Goodfellas, American Gangster etc
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 April 2015
Solid gangster story based on real characters, filmed mostly in cellar vision, (maybe they will do a remake in daylight?) Well portrayed, but sometimes truth is not quite so enthralling. Sorry, but not in Godfather category. Good effort though.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2013
I really did enjoy this film from beginning to end.Great story, first class acting (especially from the three main actors) and plenty of action. I recommend this film highly.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 January 2005
I purchased this film purely on the strengh of tim roth and andy garcia and was pleasently surprised. Although sometimes lethargic the films keeps you interested with some good gun battles and a well worked script. But i still feel it lacks that extra something which makes a good gangster film truly great!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2013
it is an unusual film showing all the violence and brutality of gangsters worth viewing, i would recommend it
to all
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)