Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

3.0 out of 5 stars
9
3.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4
4 star
0
3 star
1
2 star
0
1 star
4
Format: VHS Tape|Change
Price:£4.99+ £2.80 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 May 2001
Well, this dramatisation does at least inspire you to return to the Mitford novels. And it will be worth acquiring, once it is issued on DVD. However, it still pales compared to the wondrous earlier British television adaptation of maybe 15 years ago, featuring a perfectly chosen cast including Judy Dench and her real-life husband Michael as Uncle Davy. The new dramatisation is far too abridged -- Uncle Davy has been virtually obliterated! -- the only blessing it has is the luminous Fanny, who was just too plain for credibility in the earlier adaptation. The earlier adaptation was, I think, a Granada production. It was a long and loving series which did full justice to Nancy's two novels, 'Love in a Cold Climate' and 'The Pursuit of Love'. It deserves release on DVD so that its wonderful ensemble acting can be preserved, alongside this modern short-hand version. ANTHONY CLARKE
11 Comment| 50 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2004
I agree with the two reviewers below. The version described here is pitiful. The version that MUST be re-released is the 1980 mini-series directed by Donald McWhinnie and starring Dame Judi Dench and Michael Aldridge with Diana Fairfax and Jean-Pierre Cassel and Sheila Brennan as The Bolter.
It is the only version worth seeing, and captures the two books brilliantly.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2007
I have just watched this version again for the millionth time and absolutely love it. I did not see the original version with Judi Dench so can't compare. I can only agree with the reviewer who raved about the impeccable casting, acting and period detail. This is pure romance and brilliant satire and faultless ensemble acting. I'm now off to watch it again.....
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 June 2001
This rehash of an earlier eight part television serialisation of Nancy Mitford's thinly veiled autobiographical and somewhat nostalgic look at the English upper class in the 20s and 30s pales by comparison. Love in a Cold Climate & The Pursuit of Love deserve better. Don't waste your time watching this. Ask for the older version to be reissued on VHS
0Comment| 27 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2001
I highly recommend this wonderful drama, don't be fooled into thinking that this is only another period-drama about toffs because it's much more than that. Its a wonderful adaption of Nancy Mitfords novels 'Love In A Cold Climate' and 'The Pursuit Of Love' and I enjoyed it immensley and was gripped by the simply brilliant performances by the cast, Celia Imrie simply dazzled in her role as dowdy Aunt Sadie and Alan Bates was of his usual high standard. The performances of the younger members of the cast were just as enjoyable and I was gripped as i watched - A brilliant story with equally brilliant acting, all-round a super and special production.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2005
I really can't let some other reviewers off the hook for damning this excellent dramatization. The novels were (are) delightful and very funny, the 1980 version was marvellous and given a suitable length, but there's nothing at all wrong with this splendidly short spin on the story. I've seldom seen better casting - nobody is wrong, and the acting is good enough to eat in spadefuls. The sets are beautiful (especially those in Paris), the dialogue very Nancy Mitford, the poignancy exquisite. Just what is there to dislike? My wife and I watch it regularly, and it never pales. The period feel is all it should be - costumes, hairstyles, cars, and all the rest have been researched with great care and managed with style. Please don't listen to any of the stuffy souls who had neither the joy nor the sensitivity to recognize this as one of the BBC's finest period drama achievements.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 September 2001
Whoever the Australian viewer is, they're absolutely right. Don't bother with this production. I have tried unsuccessfully to buy the 1980 eight part version for years. My enquiries are always greeted with stony silence.
11 Comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2004
I agree with the other reviewers - this abridged version loses much of the subtlety and wit of the 1980 version. I can only assume the crude characterisation of the leading characters in this production is driven by the desire to sell to a mass market with limited concentration span. Please reissue the 1980 version, preferably as a DVD.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 March 2001
simply good, having watched the television bradcast on cable and being entertained by Bates and others what more can be said than the bolter came home to roost! English acting at its best so I can recomend this to any body interested in English life between the wars or those wanting to be entertained as well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)