Shop now Shop now Shop now Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.2 out of 5 stars
99
4.2 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£1.26+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 January 2004
'Scary Movie' is one of those films that you either love or hate and in turn your opinion of it depends on your taste in comedy. If you like dirty, gross humour then this film is perfect and you should get it. However if you are not so keen on this humour, then this is not the film for you.
The storyline is basically about a group of teenages who are still guilt-ridden from their car crash where they murdered a man and now, one year later, they are being chased by a crazed masked man with a hook, who seems content on killing them one by one.
If you have seen such films as Scream, I Know What you Did Last Summer, Blair Witch Project and The Sixth Sense then you have a head start in this film and you will understand the jokes much better, because Scary Movie has just taken bits from all of these film, and made them funny.
This film is an absolute treat for anyone who likes 'dirty' comedy because thats basically what most of the jokes are. If you are buying this under the impression that it is scary (i know the title is misleading) then i must just warn you that it is not scary, mainly because you spend half the time laughing and when somthing remotely scary happens, it just isn't believeable. Not that this is at all a bad thing because this film is about laughs. If we wanted to see a scary flick we would watch Scream or The Exorcist and if we wanted to watch somthing amazingly funny, we would watch this film.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 October 2005
this film very much depends on your taste in humour, personally i love spoofs and found it highly amusing. its taking the mick out of "i know what you did last summer" and "scream," the script follows both films wich the producers join together. if you havent seen both these films first id strongly advice you to do so to appreciate the humour. i watched this film before i actually watched scream and considering most of the film is from scream i didnt fully appreciate the humour as much.all and all a very good comedy.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Scary movie is an excellent mickey take out of many of the scary movies out there - 'Scream' and 'I know what you did last summer' are just a couple of them. As funny as 'American pie' - even funnier maybe, this film is sure to make you laugh until you almost cry!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2001
An incredibly funny film, but it only gets four stars, because
1) None of it is original 2) There's hardly any wit-based humour 3) Everyone knows the story already.
That said...
1) The unoriginal stuff is done perfectly 2) It's the most laugh-out loud film I've seen in a long time 3) It has the best ending of any spoof film EVER.
The ending is absolutely SPOT ON. I am a huge fan of spoof films, and have seen loads of them, and this has the best ending of all of them. An all-time classic. And the rest of the film's not bad either.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 October 2013
By far the best; and I mean including ALL Scary Movies, Epic Movies, Disaster Movies etc (Although I do like Suoerhero Movie). Whatch this. Don't watch any more or at the very least go back and watch Airplane 1 (and 2 [ just for Shatners monitor gag]), Naked Gun Movies and TV Series (lost gems here), Touch of Cloth
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2015
Cindy Campbell, Bobby Prinze, Buffy Gilmore, Greg Phillipe, Ray Wilkins, and Brenda Meeks - are being stalked by a serial killer.

A serial killer that is after them because of an accident that they caused last Halloween.

A serial killer that seems to have come out of every other scary movie. The body count has already started with Drew Decker, the local town slut, and it's starting to build up.

The friends are going to have to escape from both the killer's clutches and annoying news reporter Gail Hailstorm if they plan on living....

Coming out barely a few months after the last Scream movie, this is a very topical spoof, which thanks most of it's success to the film being released at the right time.

There hadn't been a spoof (or a high profile one for almost seven years)released for the masses.

The film apes most of the horror films released in the previous four years, but the most recognisable are Scream, and IKWYDLS.

As always, these films are very hit and miss, and a lot of the jokes are a miss unfortunately, but it is still good for what it is.

I could complain and say that the film is a little too immature for it's own good, but then this is what it's supposed to be isn't it? not a clever spoof? Maybe i was expecting too much for the latter
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2001
This is one of the funniest films I've seen in a long time. It is a complete mickey take of lots of horror movies such as 'Scream' and 'I Know What You Did Last Summer'. Everything in the film is completely over the top and i guarantee that buy the end of this film you'll be laughing so hard your sides hurt and you'll have tears streaming down your face. This is how funny the film is and if you haven't yet seen it, then what are you waiting for, get yourself a copy and get ready for the funniest night of your life!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 October 2014
'Scary Movie' isn't a film that will make everyone laugh, you'll either enjoy it until the very end, or turn it off quite early on. Fortunately, I do enjoy it, and it never fails to make me smile.

If you've seen a lot of horror films in the past, particularly the famous teen horrors like 'Scream', you are much more likely to appreciate it, so I do highly recommend you watch such movies first to understand the references, particularly as the main plot is a direct humorous copy of 'I Know What You Did Last Summer'. But this isn't really a horror at all, it's a comedy, and basically parodies famous films from the mid to late '90s, not just the aforementioned, but also 'The Sixth Sense', 'The Usual Suspects' and 'Dawson's Creek' to name only three. It's good fun, a laugh-a-minute, but only if you appreciate rather rude humour, as there is a lot of that throughout.

As the plot line goes, a group of teenagers including Cindy Campbell and Bobby Prinze, accidentally hit a man whilst driving, and dispose of his body. Now though, they find themselves being stalked by a masked murderer, and as the victim count tallies up, Cindy must then survive the mayhem that has she has seen in many movies before.

'Scary Movie' is isn't high art, it's completely unoriginal and uninspiring, but laugh-out-loud funny. A great one to watch with a group of mates. The ending is brilliant, with a twist at the end that you'll never see coming. The soundtrack is good, including 'Too Cool For School', a song by the band Fountains of Wayne who gave us 'Radiation Vibe', 'Sink To The Bottom', 'Hey Julie', and of course, 'Stacey's Mom'.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 July 2001
Being a fan of the Scream movies, I was keen to see Scary Movie when it was first released. I'm glad I did because it's a very funny film, hilarious at times. How the actors managed to keep straight faces whilst filming is beyond me....worth watching.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
"Scary Movie" parodies a number of teen scare flicks and other horror or suspense movies. A viewer who has seen movies such as "Scream", "I Know What You Did Last Summer", "The Sixth Sense", and "The Blair Witch Project" will better understand some of the jokes and sight gags around which the thin story line revolves.
This movie is not for anyone with delicate sensibilities, as everything, including erect male sex organs, pubic hair, flatulence, and other usually taboo subjects, are ripe for gags, most of which, while filthy, are often funny. If you do not like your jokes down and dirty, then this movie is definitely not for you.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Send us feedback

How can we make Amazon Customer Reviews better for you?
Let us know here.

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)