Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
520
4.7 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£4.73+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 27 March 2016
I'd forgotten how good this movie is. I love Julie Walters here, and Jamie Bell is brilliant as the boy who wants to dance. The storyline is heart-wrenching at times, especially being set against the backdrop of the real-life miners' strike. Highly recommended. My only complaint - which I seem to have a lot with modern DVDs - is the poor sound production. I hate having to sit with remote in hand so that I can lower the sound every time music comes on (eg in the chase scene) and then raise it again to be able to hear the actors speak. There are a couple of scenes where the music plays over the top of dialogue, and it's simply too loud. Disappointing and needless when the story and the acting carry the whole thing so well.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 March 2017
Bought the dvd after seeing the live show in Manchester. Wanted to re-live the joy of the film, and to show my 13 year old granddaughter more of the political background of the miners' strike, which slightly befuddled her at the show, due to the "artistic interpretation" on stage. Great film, (and great show) and will always want to rewatch it!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 March 2017
Brings back memories of the early 80's of the miner strikes and the horrendous time they had but the enchanting tale of Billy conquering by following his dream and pride of his family at the finale. Brilliant and pulled on the heart strings of Billy's determination and heartbreak of his family. Loved it just loved it and felt brilliant at the end.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 July 2017
Hadn't seen this film in ages, but still loved it. Has a great plot and characters, handles the issues, such as issues around masculinity really well, and is just really enjoyable to watch. Also I'm visually impared, and although this film has no audio description, due to the level of talking, rather than action scenes is really easy to follow.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 June 2017
Wonderful film, it is too easy to forget the havoc that Thatcher caused in the communities, destroying hope and increasing fear, You can see I am not a tory, not too pleased with the current PM.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 October 2012
I had seen this film years ago but my 15 year old daughter had never seen it. At this price, it was cheaper than finding this film to rent so it was a bargain. She loved it, although the accents flumoxed her to begin with! Very soon she was whisked away by the storyline and she laughed and cried along with me as we watched Billy struggle to follow his dreams. Wonderful film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 May 2017
Arrived promptly and as described. Branded DVD competitively priced
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 March 2017
This is a really good story and could well be true. Most enjoyable.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2017
Dvd arrived on time and its a great film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2017
Not my kind of film, but bought for a family member. A rainy day film, but the language is not for kids
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)