Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

3.5 out of 5 stars
10
Hallucinating
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.76+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 2 February 2004
'Hallucinating' feels like the wrong title for an album like this - Apartment 26 write amphetamine music. The drums line is fantastic, jittery - more drum'n'bass than straightforward metal, particularly on the standout opening track, 'Backwards'. Enmeshed with the heavy guitars are all sorts of electronic blips and sounds which makes this band sound all too unique now that Pitchshifter are off the scene. Some tracks like 'Doing it Anyway' sound more like cyber-industrial sound than anything that's going on in the metal scene. Also worth a mention are the vocals, as Biff is a multitalented man who sings, shouts, screams and sounds good through an effects module. This all adds fantastic variation to this album; it's not something I've ever got bored of. Finally, the liner notes are gorgeous; binary everywhere and the full lyrics, which is always nice. Not a reason to buy an album, maybe, but definitely one to appreciate it.
One of the best metal albums I've heard in a while, definitely. You like interesting ideas and melody as well as noise? Get this.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 February 2004
'Hallucinating' feels like the wrong title for an album like this - Apartment 26 write amphetamine music. The drums line is fantastic, jittery - more drum'n'bass than straightforward metal, particularly on the standout opening track, 'Backwards'. Enmeshed with the heavy guitars are all sorts of electronic blips and sounds which makes this band sound all too unique now that Pitchshifter are off the scene. Some tracks like 'Doing it Anyway' sound more like cyber-industrial sound than anything that's going on in the metal scene. Also worth a mention are the vocals, as Biff is a multitalented man who sings, shouts, screams and sounds good through an effects module. This all adds fantastic variation to this album; it's not something I've ever got bored of. Finally, the liner notes are gorgeous; binary everywhere and the full lyrics, which is always nice. Not a reason to buy an album, maybe, but definitely one to appreciate it.
One of the best metal albums I've heard in a while, definitely. You like interesting ideas and melody as well as noise? Get this.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 May 2001
The British band Apartment 26's debut is a supremely confident one. Not too heavy or hard, and with a nice smattering of samples from AC, it is very melodic for a band commonly classified as "metal". Highlight of the album for me is "Hallucinating" - it has a cool Leftfield-style dance beat as the backing. I'd definitely like to see A26 do more stuff like this. Lyrically, the highlight is "The Fear": it's packed with sexual tension - "She lays naked stretched out, like I could only help her when she's moist" being the best line on the album. Possible future singles are Apt.26 (a bit lazy naming a song after the band...) and the anthemic Anymore. The rack with Fear Factory's Burton C. Bell is good enough, but we need to hear more of him, lads! Apartment 26 do seem to be trying a little too hard to be industrial and not following up on it with the music - the images of gasmasks, 0s and 1s clash with the guitars nastily. Overall, a great anthemic rock-metal record, with the lack of originality slightly stopping it getting five stars.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 December 2008
This album fuses 3 genres together and pretty darn well too. there is a bit of Metal (be it nu metal), D&B and industrail metal thrown into the mix.
This album is very catchy but may take a few listens to get into, the bonus track "Void" Features a Mr Bell from Industrial metal giants Fear factory.

its well worth the money and it is pretty cheap on here seeing as i picked it up for a penny bargin or what!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 September 2006
A Brilliant fusion of D.n.B, Metal, elecronica, and techno. havnt listened too much so far so only have first impressions but it certainly fits the bill, lively, excitable, good instrumentals particuarly the bass riffs, good (if you like the style) vocals.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 March 2001
They're wicked live, but a lot of the CD is good as well - especially 'doing it anyway' and 'basic breakdown'. its not unoriginal, and the singing is really well done, despite it being a debut. i'd reccomend trying it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 February 2001
I saw this band in Manchester when they where support for Papa Roach. My first impression was that they would be just another Nu-Metal band, and ok they where. But, they where a very good nu-metal band. From what i remember (which isn't very much) they had something quite original about them.They where excellent live and if the album is anything like their live performance then you'll be hearing of these guys again soon. I gave this album 3 stars because I think that they can offer much more then they have already given.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 April 2001
I have now seen apartment26 3 times and each time they have been amazing! If you like Pitchshifter or want something a bit different, buy this c.d! The guys are wicked and are the nicest people you would ever want to meet!!!!! Biff= GOD!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 February 2001
I first heard music by these guys when I saw them perform live in Nottingham while on tour with Papa Roach. There were a couple of songs which really stuck in my head after hearing them play, one of them being 'Backwards' (also on the M:I 2 soundtrack) which really shows off what this band has to offer. After listening to the album all the way through I was very impressed with it as a whole. There are a couple of songs which I found to be similar, but I really like their style and quality of lyrics. I think this band has the potential to make it big (and the lead singer is really cool, he spent at least 20 minutes after they played signing peoples hands, arms, noses, and god knows what else, which I'd like to see from more bands in future). I'd recommend you buy this if you want something a bit different, just to see what they have to offer. I just hope enough people are interested so they release a second album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 December 2000
I am a huge fan of industrial metal and bought this simply because this band got some good live review in the press.To be fair the music is not bad. There is nothing original about it but some of the beats are nice and the bass player is obviously talented. However the guitars are decidedly average and the singing is simply awful. So bad in fact that it forces me to give it only one star, even the guest apperances from Burton and Evan cant save this one. Save your money and dont subject yourself to the pain of listening to this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here