Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
124
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 April 2003
If you've ever wondered what your life would have been like if you had made certain decisions in your life and wished you could have seen if your life would have turned out better or worse then being Jack Campbell (Nicholas Cage) would seem like a dream come true. Except such a decision is more difficult when you seem to have it all and as for Jack he has a well paid job as a Wall Street Investment Banker, he has a fast car, a luxurious appartment in which he can entertain plenty of beautiful women. Jack feels his life is complete until one day he intervenes in a robbery at a local store and by explaining that his life is better than the thiefs he awakens to find himself in the arms of his ex girlfriend (Tea Leoni) from 13 years ago, a confused Jack is then confronted by his two children and pet dog. It's from that moment that Jack looks into the life he missed and after trying to retain the life he left he finds out that the wealthiest man is the man who has a family.
Cage is on top form as he tries to convince the strangers around him that he is the real Jack. It sets up comedic moments as well as moments of complete desperation on the part of Cage as he tries to gain back his old life while sticking with the family forced upon him. Leoni is the perfect wife who unlike Jack is a non profit lawyer. With that the messages in the film are many, whether it's the age old debate of you're not really happy when your wealthy or alone, to the contrasts between the big money hungry city and suburbia where everyone knows your name and respects you despite your status in life. For me the film is mostly about the decisions we make and how they mould who we become and what life we lead, whether it will be a good or bad choice you will never know if it was the best one.
The film has a lot of sentimentality especially between Jack and his children which increasingly becomes more touching and tragic towards the end when his glimpse of what could have been draws to a finish. Indeed whether you like your films butch or not you will not help but sympathise with the messages and excellent interaction between each of the characters Jack meets, all of them who love him in different ways. By the time the final credits role you suddenly see the fast cars and high paid jobs as less important than the relationships we have.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 March 2017
any movie with both Nicolas Cage and Don Cheadle in is going to be good and this one is certainly that. I love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 June 2017
I love this movie. A question on everyone's mind. What if.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
Like this film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 February 2016
Such an amazing film. What would happen if I did things differently? Love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 March 2017
Love this film first saw on TV, if only we could go back and change things.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2014
It is nice movie but I accepted a bit more to be honest but I recommend so go for it
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 January 2002
This is a truly wonderful film that contains love, humour, suspense, and even a hint of tragedy and despair.
Nic Cage plays an upper class, fast-moving, hard-talking, rich business man whose life is turned on it's head in the most unlikely way. Having lived his life believing he has everything a man could want he is offerred a glimpse into an alternate reality that he is forced to live out. A reality of a family, with a wonderful loving wife, 2 gorgeous children, and friends of the highest order - all the things he's never had. The plot then unravels as Cage slowly adapts to his new life without really wanting to. As the ending nears he realises something that he was neglecting his whole life.
Both Cage and Leoni put in superb performances that draw you into their cosy life and the tribulations as Cage realises what's happening to him. It even throws in a few laughs too.
Instantly one of my favourites, treat yourself!
11 Comment| 31 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 November 2004
A story of what is most important in life.
It's an old cliche, but money doesn't make you happy and Nicholas Cage is the man with more money than you could imagine. He thinks he is happy in his every day life until he is given a glimpse of what his life could have been like. Cage is left thinking about a choice he made thirteen years earlier to pursue a life in business over a life with the woman he loved.
Cage is projected into a parallel life on Christmas day - a life where he chose family over fortune. In a world where careers come first, this film tears down the ideals surrounding modern materialism to show that the commitment most people should make in life is to each other.
Cage is brilliant as he first rebells and then welcomes his new life with his all adoring wife and somewhat sceptical daughter and son. What he doesn't expect is to realise that the family man is what he wants to be. What he doesn't want to accept is that this new life will be taken away from him.
The Family Man will engage every viewer from start to finish in an emotional roller coaster ride that does not fail to pull on the heart strings at every turn.
This film has massive feel good factor. Every couple should own it.
0Comment| 25 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 100 REVIEWERon 11 June 2017
This is one of those films that I think can easily become a classic.
A story of character growth, with a feel-good ending, that's suitable for the entire family.
Really enjoyed it :)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here