Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 9 February 2016
Hard to find now days this lovely tale of opposites in typical Thatcher Britain at the time. all the cast are superb here especially the lovely Lesley Manville & versatile Phillip Davies. its worth watching for the daily lives of the Booth Brains & the climax at the end is cringe worthy viewing to say the least.
Brilliant !
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 September 2015
I was disappointed in the filming because I could not watch it without sub-titles. I had already had this item replaced once and the replacement was the same. Rather than send it back (again) I watch it. Liked the story but wouldn't watch it again. Might give the DVD to someone who is hard of hearing.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 November 2017
Amusing
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 17 July 2011
I remember seeing this film years ago. Brought back memories of the 1980's and the beginnings of the increasing concentration of wealth into the hands of the privileged few and the increasing neglect of the disadvantaged and vulnerable in society that seems all too prevalent today.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 October 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 September 2017
Not the 'High Hopes' I was expecting.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 September 2016
Good film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 October 2010
A classic Mike Leigh movie - not one of the best but I still enjoyed it and glad that I can add it to my collection. Amusing as always in that black comedy way. Recommended to Leigh fans.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 August 2015
Great buy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2012
High Hopes is good Mike Leigh stuff. We are given a window through which to glimpse a little piece of British social culture as it affects a few inter-connected people. Perhaps each character is a little bit too extreme in reflecting their individual reaction to life in 2007 Britain but that may be necessary for the illustration.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)