Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
28
4.5 out of 5 stars


on 26 August 2017
great
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2017
ok
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2016
Wonderful songs and voice....especially He Was Beautiful..........
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 October 2007
This compilation is drawn from Cleo Laine's RCA albums recorded between 1974 and 1996. Over this period she recorded many albums of various themes and styles. Therefore this 2CD set features a mixture of jazz, Broadway and pop. Cleo Laine's beautiful voice and wide range is showcased on great songs like "Just A-Sittin' and A-Rockin'", "It Don't Mean a Thing," plus "Bess You Is My Woman" and "My Man's Gone Now" from her duet album with Ray Charles "Porgy and Bess". Also includes famous Laine songs outside of jazz, "Send In The Clowns", "He Was Beautiful" and "Streets of London". This collection is a good introduction to Laine's back catalogue, and will give the listener the opportunity to decide whether they want to delve deeper into her jazz, pop or Broadway albums.
0Comment| 30 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 May 2011
34 wonderful tracks from this great lady singer. Such a rich deep and husky and sometimes strong voice. Quite a unique voice. A wide choice of material. Many of these songs I have, but not all. Many of the songs are on vinyl LP, so it is nice to be able to have a CD to play in the car. The packaging and photography are good on this collection and there is a little story about each piece for Cleo, which is rather nice. I personally like her doing the slow stuff like Streets of London and Send in the Clowns. But the beaty ones like Born on a Friday are extremely entertaining. Not a bad track on the whole collection. I would have liked to hear You'll Answer to Me, I like that track, it was a hit, but I have heard Cleo say on chat shows that it was one of her regrets to have recorded that song. Well worth the money, bought from Amazon, arrived so quickly and in very good condition.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2007
I have to say sorry, but ths is the most boring CD selection I have heard in years. Cleo Laine is unboubtedly superb in herself, but the selction of songs on this double CD is unbeleivably not very representative of Cleo at her best, it is a non-stop collection of typically slow and boring broadway themes out of context and syprupy sweet ballads with no pace. I would personally never pick such a large collection of undynamic music of the same ilk to string together. Those that like this type of sweet sickly song collections will love it, because Cleo Laine is without a doubt a superb technical singer with a style that surpasses even that of the likes of Barbara Streisand. I would like to have been able to listen to a far broader cross section of Cleo's musical repertoire. Not good and probably why the CD box was so cheap. The only redeeming factor is the inclusion of a very good version of 'It don't mean a thing', on CD 1 and a couple of other nice jazzy numbers on CD 2.
22 Comments| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2009
If you buy one box set of Cleo Laine, buy this one. An excellent listen!
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2014
A must for Cleo fans and an excellent introduction to anyone who would like to get to know more of her music.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2016
Unfortunately after playing it twice the CD developed a fault in the first track - "Beautiful" - and keeps stopping. There are no visible signs of any defects, but will have to return it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 October 2015
Vg 2 cd set.includes cleos mastetpiece MY MANS GONE NOW noone has ever sung this with such emotional depth
recommended set
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)