Learn more Download now Shop now Browse your favorite restaurants Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop now Learn more

on 5 April 2001
Tekken is a very good game, using lots of brillianty animated characters (and secret ones) .Lots of exellent combos and moves, (thousands!!!!) And I recommend this game to 6+.and I base my review on a OPM (Official Playstation Mag) I have played this game and recommended it to all.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 February 2012
This is the first Tekken game on Psone and only on that console. This game is what started the whole King of Iron Fist Tournament and this game also appeared in Tekken 5 as a bonus arcade game that you can unlock. It's a port of the arcade version, which is no good when playing with a control pad and all characters are unlocked from the start. I think this started out as an exlcusive series to the Psone - maybe it was back then - but now there are other releases on different platforms like Nintendo and Xbox 360, which I think it'll ruin it's reputation.

Arcade mode (or 1P Mode as it's called in this) is your main campaign. This is where you pick a character out of a total of 8 characters and you go through 8 stages of opponents and view an ending sequence at the end. After every playthrough you do, you will unlock a character with every character on the roster and each character has their own character to unlock - for example: Yoshimitsu will unlock Kunimitsu and Nina Williams will unlock Anna Williams, but only if you can beat the boss Heihachi at the end of every stage. When you have unlocked every character their is, Heihachi will be the last character you will unlock, but only if you can beat him.

There is not a single drop of replayability in this game, but there is a 2 player mode. This game won't last long and you can probably unlock all characters in one single playthrough. This is still a classic game and it is still worth a play for the fun of it or if you want to add it to your Tekken collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 June 2016
A great game.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 August 2014
doesnt work
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 October 2010
Sometimes it's worth looking back to the past just to see how some things in life started out and how much they've evolved. Namco's Tekken is one of those things worth checking out. The first Tekken game was released in arcades in 1994, and then made its way onto the PSone in 1995. This game, along with Ridge Racer and Wipeout, kickstarted the PlayStation brand and made Sony the gaming force they are today.

Tekken consists of the Arcade Mode, 2-Player Mode and Test Mode. The Test Mode is actually the options menu which allows you to adjust the difficulty level and set the number rounds to win in fights, like first to one, first to two, etc. 2-Player Mode obviously allows two players to try and beat each other senseless, so you and your friends can have plenty of fun there.

The lone rangers will head for the Arcade Mode. Here you chose from one of eight different fighters, which include the hard nut biker-riding, Paul Phoenix; Bruce Lee lookalike, Marshall Law; and the mysterious ninja, Yoshimitsu. Each character has their own mini story as to why they've entered the tournament, and if you complete the Arcade mode you can watch an FMV of your character enjoying their victory. But first you have to defeat eight opponents and then beat the tournament organiser, Heihachi Mishima, in order to see the ending.

Completing the Arcade mode will also unlock other fighters for you to play with. It's possible to play with up to seventeen characters, one of which you'll have to put in a really good performance in Arcade mode in order to unlock that character.

The graphics are rather dated by today's standards, but they still run nice and smoothly when you play the game. The backgrounds contain some level of retro charm as does the in-level music. The baseball stadium is one level I particularly like, mainly because it looks so bright and feels so "arcadey."

The fighters in this game don't have the big number of moves they have in later Tekken games. In fact all the available moves are listed in the manual. Although you can unlock other characters all of them have the same moves list as the original eight fighters, which makes this game feel very limiting.

With newer Tekken games out there offering more characters, better graphics and more gameplay modes, is there any point in getting this original Tekken game? The answer from most people's point of view would be "No." However it still has some sentimental value, and hardcore Tekken fans are bound to want this for their collection. You know what? Buy it anyway. You would be in possession of a piece of gaming history.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 April 2013
I can appreciate the newer generation playing the updated version of these games, including Tekken, but if you can take a step backwards, and ignore the less advanced graphics compared to today, you might just find that the old stuff was just as fun as the versions you are playing today. sometimes more exciting
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 August 2008
Released on the Playstation One in 1995, Tekken was the first game in the now-popular Tekken series.

In these days of hi-resolution graphics and HDTV's Tekken's graphics may produce sniggers from the casual gamer. But the dedicated gamer knows that graphics evolve, and that the real test of longevity in gaming lies in the gameplay and storytelling. This is the reason why I am writing this review today and why people are still playing Tekken in 2008.

The basic premise of the game is thus... Heihachi Mishima, the head of a large financial empire, announces a global martial arts competition. The Iron Fist tournament. The fighter who manages to beat Heihachi in the final round would earn themselves a large cash prize. Of course it isn't quite as simple as it sounds. Every character has additional motives for entering the competition. Some, like Paul Phoenix, enter just to prove their strength. While others, such as Kazuya Mishima, wish to topple Heihachi from the top of his empire and replace him.

The characters are, as a whole, well developed. Every character has his or her own fighting style and moveset to match. For example Yoshimitsu, a modern Robin Hood type figure, wields a sword whilst fighting a ninja style. For those interested in plot, the highlights will undoubtedly lie within the end of game cut scenes for each character. Each video acts, usually, to aid character development and adds a bit of depth. Some are laughable, but that's always a good thing.

The pace of the action, as is the case with many Playstation era Beat-em-ups, is rather slow. But I prefer this style to the breakneck pace of the later games which leads to brainless button-bashing and pushes skill to one side. To win on the harder modes the player will be expected to have mastered the blocking technique.

Unlocking extra characters is always fun and there are 10 to be had here, making a total of 18 characters available to the player.

Now, onto the negatives. I have to show some level of impartiality here! Many gamers have complained about the difficulty level of Tekken. I have to agree that sometimes it is a bit harsh on the player; I have sworn at the TV and thrown the controller around the room on many occasions whilst playing through the story mode. But in my opinion that only makes the eventual victory taste that little bit sweeter.

The areas in which you fight are nothing special, it has to be said. They are never-ending, meaning you cannot use a wall to your tactical advantage.

Onto the music. I find the music to be slightly cheesy, but it does suit its purpose. It is similar to the music of many mid-90's games. One cool thing about the music though is that each character has their own theme tune.

In conclusion then, I believe Tekken to be a landmark Playstation title that is well worth purchasing. It does show its age but that is understandable after 13 years. It is a must-purchase for Beat-em-up fans. I would give it 4.5 stars, but I am not allowed!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 January 2004
Everyone who is into games an gaming has heard of 'Tekken' and most people have played on one or more of them at some point. Well behold the very first in the legendary series.
I am proud to say that i have followed the series since the beggining (this game) and they have just got better and better, and now the latest one is 'Tekken 4'. In fact, there are only a few other series of games which have lastest this long.
There are seventeen fighters who have all entered 'the king of iron fist tornament' for their own reasons, mainly revenge on another contestant. You choose who you want to be and you basically have to fight your way to the top until you win. When you have won you unlock a 'sub-boss', so it takes a few goes before you can unlock all the characters. I know it may sound slightly easy, and once you get the hang of it, it is but it takes a bit of time to get used to he moves, and i still cannot master all the specials.
Although this is a pretty sound game, i really would not recommend that you buy it. If you only have a PSone then go for 'Tekken 3' because that is amazing, but if you have a PS2 then buy 'Tekken 4' which is a big step up from number 3. However if you have got quite a bit of money knocking around, and you are content in starting the series from the beggining, then this is a good game to get.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2002
And so it begins...! Tekken, Namco's crown jewel, has the best storyline any beat'em up has to offer - the Mishima Corporation's Iron Fist Tournament. Eight characters fight for the ultimate title... and for the largest cash prize in history! Sounds pretty simple, doesn't it? At least, that was the general idea, which would still wipe out the competition, completely. But, it gets a little more interesting than that. Besides the fact that every fighter has a personal reason for participating, there is also a darker motive behind the Tournament itself. This is the golden opportunity for Heihachi Mishima, the ruthless leader of the Mishima Financial Empire and mastermind behind the Tournament, to get rid of any supposed threat by annihilating the world's finest martial artists. Some of you are probably lost, by now. That's the main reason why Tekken is not a 5 Star game, in my opinion. You never really get to know (not even in the cut-scenes) what they're fighting for, how they got there or why. It's all so immensely vague, and it's such a shame that you can't gather more from it.
Still, Tekken is an overwhelming visual experience. Not only does it have an exquisite variety of fighters, including references to real martial arts legends (Marshall Law has a striking resemblance to the late Bruce Lee), but it's also incredibly realistic, where true power doesn't rely on magic tricks, but on strength, speed and unique fighting techniques.
We are also introduced to a revolutionary concept - the main character, Kazuya Mishima, is a villain, who seeks retribution. Tekken has no place for noble quests.
Furthermore, and as if they weren't enough already, all eight fighters have a hidden character (sub-boss) that you can unlock after beating the Arcade Mode with each one of them. Afterwards, you can also gain access to the true master - Heihachi!!! This gives you a total of seventeen characters to choose from, although, only the eight main characters have a cut-scene at the end, unlike in Tekken's sequels.
As for options, you don't get much to choose from. Besides the classic Arcade Mode, you have the Vs. Mode, in which you can play against a friend, and the Options Mode.
Personally, I find Galaga (the pre-historic game that pops up on our screen during the load the loading of Tekken) a lame excuse for obtaining the Devil version of Kazuya. It has nothing to do with the game itself and proves to be a complete and utter waste of both time and patience. But, what can we do? Every rose has its thorns.
Anyway, and in spite of being the first in a series, Tekken is still the mother of all fighting games. It has it all, in every aspect: awesome graphics, an aggressive soundtrack, ground-breaking motion sequences and it's also incredibly addictive (keep in mind that Tekken was first released in the summer of 1994).
Unfortunately, no one can be shown how good Tekken truly is. You have to see it for yourself. Become the King of the Iron Fist Tournament. Enter the Tekken.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 February 2005
to all the people of tekken this is where it started
the game features a 50 frame per second graphics speed
8 charecters in cast with another 9 hidden it has a superb looking
quality for the textures and a mini game called galaxen
to play and their is suprises on that too....
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)