Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
20
Your Disco Needs You
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£36.53+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 24 January 2002
"Your Disco Needs You" was the final single release from 2000's Light Years album, and is one track that many UK fans were screaming for a release.
Well we didn't get our wish over here, but Germany and Australia were certainly listening, which is where the single was released.
The song itself is a high-camp, high-fun homage to the Disco, and is as Village People sounding as Kylie is ever going to get without dressing up as a Native American!
This release is essential if you want the remixes of the song, which are in fact superior to the album version.
The Casino mix is less cringe-worthy than the album version, and the Almighty mix does Kylie and Almighty proud (unfortunately this is their only mix of a Kylie track).
There's also a mix of the last UK single "Please Stay" that was not available on the UK singles, so another reason there to treat yourself.
Your Disco Needs You became a fan-favourite and a stormer in concert - Klassic Kylie!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 January 2001
As the presenter of the german tv show 'wetten-dass' introduced the song before Kylie performed it.. it surely has become, The Disco Anthem of the new millenium.. This is Kylie Minogue at her finest. The most amazing piece of pop in the history of sound, you will agree. Not only is the new Casino Mix outstanding and will have you dancing in the streets, the almighty and original mixes are also masterpieces. This track will make history and remembered forever, it may also be the biggest selling single in Kylie's career even without a UK release. Your Disco Needs You.. Dont miss it.....
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 29 June 2005
Why was Your Disco Needs You not released in the UK? Simply because the song was too in your face and controversial, you either love it or hate it. As Kylie had only just made her comeback, it would have been unwise to alienate any potential album buying fans.
When I first heard Your Disco Needs You I even questioned why I bought the Light Years album (well til the next track anyway), but I gave the song time and even started to like it. Mainly because it was so overblown and camp that it would just make me smile, it was too much effort to dislike it.
There is more to Your Disco Needs You than I first realised, and it has now become one of my favourite Kylie songs. This is because Kylie closed the Showgirl concerts (before encores) with Your Disco Needs You, and it was superb. The song is simply at its best when being performed on stage, in concert, by Kylie.
Which is why it gets 5 stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 January 2001
I am a DJ in the US. If you want to get the whole club into a frenzy, spin any version of "Your Disco Needs You" and watch everyone swarm to the dancefloor. It is just really too bad that Ms. Minogue does not have a contract in the US, as "Light Years" blows anything else away from the American artists... To all of you in the UK, I hope Parlophone decides to release the single in your country, it is some of Kylie's best work! Pure pop, pure fun, pure Kylie.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 12 February 2001
Yes, we all know the song is great. But the release of this single is disappointing. This 4 track cd is basically 2 tracks, in my opinion. There are the album and Almighty edits (2 with the monologue in French and 2 with the monologue in German). If you already own the full length cd and CD1 of On A Night Like This which already has the full Almighty remix of Your Disco Needs You on it, you really aren't getting much by buying this release. The only selling point of this cd is if you really want the edited version of the Almighty remix, or to hear Kylie's monologue in the middle of the song in German. The cover art is terrible. Purple text over a black background? Not good. This single seems as if it was hastily slapped together to make quick sales. If you're a casual Kylie fan with a one-cd budget who likes this song, I recommend the full length cd at a slightly higher cost. You'll be pleased at the variety of disco gems besides 'Your Disco'. And for the serious Kylie fans, we deserved more in terms of remixes.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 March 2001
**AT LAST** The Disco track of the New Millenium. Kylie has finally recorded the song she was born sing!! A true celebration of what Disco is all about. This is probably the strongest track on her current album "Light Years" and should most definately have been released as a UK single...a certified No.1!!
The track drips with "Camp Quality", nostalgic 70's undercurrents mixed with hard, pumping millenium beats...reminicent of "New York City Boy" by The Pet Shop Boys. Kylie's superb vocals are really put to this test and shine through to the end of the track, leaving you gasping for air!
Every respectable "Disco Queen" in the land should own this record and show the rest of the country that......"Your Disco Truly Needs You"!!!
BUY IT NOW!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 January 2001
Before the light years began this song was one of the most talked about...although it may have been parlophone's/emi's secret weapon in promoting the album...hence all the diffrent language versions of this song in various countries it still is one of the most stand out tracks on the album light years... Acording to the big record boss's and kylie herself "your disco needs you" will never see light of day in the UK....Mmmmm i am not convinced but time will tell as surely a top tune with a pumping sound which is at the top of any league and with an excellent mix such as the casino mix cannot be missed...surely record boss's are not that silly???? or are they???
ITS TIME TO STAND UP AND SALUTE MISS KYLIE MINOGUE AND TELL THOSE RECORD BOSS'S TO RELEASE YOUR DISCO NEEDS YOU IN THE UK!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 September 2007
Why this CD is SO expensive I don't know ! (I purchased this from HMV for £2.99 or something !) But anyway - for big fans of Kylie, this really would be a welcome addition to the collection - it is Kylie doing what she does best - infectious dancy disco cheese-fest x 1billion !!?

Yes this would have been an obvious choice of single, it has 'Number 1' stamped all over it - but it was thought that this single alone would set her career back 5-10 years and pigeon hole her into a niche that would have been very difficult to escape from. Only released in Germany - they LOVED it there naturally - and it did not seem to harm her professionally over there, so it is a shame this gem was not broadcast to the world afterall !!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 15 June 2005
Your Disco Needs You (UK album version) - 10/10
Your Disco Needs You (German Almighty radio edit) - 10/10
Your Disco Needs You (UK Almighty remix) - 10/10
Your Disco Needs You (German Album Version) - 10/10
Pass Word (Hidden) - 10/10
Why this didn't get a UK release I'll never know. You can't fault this sunny slice of fun. It's a real winner. Wrote by Kylie & Robbie Williams.
Don't forget 'Pass Word' which is hidden on the end of track 4. It's not just a filler - I don't know why they hide it. (It's also hidden on the 'Light Years' album).
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 April 2011
This song could be named as "THE CAMPEST SONG EVER". It is an ode to DISCO and this is where it belongs.
The maxi I have in my collection is a limited australian version.
Here is the track list:
1. album version
2. german almighty radio edit
3. uk almighty mix
4. casino radio and club mix
5. german album version (the "rap" part is spoken in german)
+ hidden track

One of the best songs in Kylie's career, sadly not promoted in UK and US.
Great remixes made it one of the best maxi singles ever.
review imagereview image
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)