Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
53
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£4.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 April 2014
Ever since Cyndi Lauper first burst onto the scene, from her record-breaking debut album in 1983, to her Grammy and Tony Award-winning Broadway play "Kinky boots", her continuous work as a LGBT rights activist, as well as her current stint as a special guest on Cher's Dressed To Kill Tour, she has kept singing and dancing, with her unruly energy and nutty outfits, remaining just as strong today as she did back then. The 10 original songs are already familiar to those who have enjoyed them the first time around, but for new listeners who are familiar only with the hit singles, each of the songs are enjoyable in their own way. Here lies the enduring strength of this bright set of colorful numbers fusing pop, new wave, post-punk, reggae, and funk. Accompanied by Lauper's unique appearance and distinctive thin, girly voice, it helped popularize the image of punk and new wave for America and the rest of the world, influencing artists and listeners alike, and mark a whole new era for the pop landscape.

This groundbreaking album produced 4 Top 5 hits (a record for a woman at the time), earned Cyndi 2 Grammys, and went multi-platinum in many countries. To celebrate this iconic debut, this fantabulous anniversay edition comes with 2 CDs, including new remixes, live tracks, early demos and studio outtakes, and a 20-page booklet with previously unseen photos and a brand new essay from the co-author of Cyndi's autobiography. And, to top it all off, the show-stealer is a re-usable sticker set, with vinyl cut outs of Cyndi's outfits and accessories that can be arranged on a 3D fold-out backdrop of the bedroom featured in her "Girls just wanna have fun" video! It does not matter that the new remixes sound out of touch with the original set, or that songs of that period like "Goonies" and "What a thrill" are not included. This is an exquisite package, lovingly and carefully assembled down to the last detail. It remains a benchmark of the early '80s, and it is a perfect accompaniment for every '80s-enthusiast, fun-loving, fashion-fannatic.
review image review image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2001
I distinctly remember, at the tender age of 12, receiving as a gift the vinyl version of She's So Unusual in 1984. Cyndi Lauper was all the rage then; her garish, multicoloured costumes in her frequently aired videos made her one of the more popular female artists in 1984 (possible even more popular than Madonna in that year). Many years after last listening to that vinyl record, I became reaquainted with She's So Unusual on this CD. The music is as dynamic and fresh today as it was back in 1984. I'm sure most people are familiar with the gimicky Girls Just Want to Have Fun, but the rest of the tracks are just as wonderful in their own way. From the beautifully sad ballad Time After Time to the bouncy She Bop, this album is a wonderful showcase for Cyndi Lauper (who unfortunately has never been able to duplicate this first success), and for 80's pop in general. Also included are live versions of Money Changes Everything, She Bop and All Through The Night - excellent additions for the serious fan.
Buy it...and step back in time to a wonderful era in music....
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2016
Some album !!! Reminds me of them "good ol' days", my childhood, long hot Summers, when shoulders were big, colours were loud and hair was bigger .. Cyndi would be known for 'Girls just wanna have fun', but there is so much more to her than that. The beautiful 'Time after Time' is here too as is She Bop but for me the highlight is a cover of Prince's 'when you were mine', a driving beat and tempo I imagine it to been played loud in many a roller disco back in them 1980's. Cyndi will not thank thank me for saying this, but she remninds me of the fun, of the colour of the days when MTV played music and when we were smart and our phones were dumb.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 April 2014
This Tribute to an excellent Album starts out great - exquisite package, with lots of ideas, love and care! The actual Album is great and deserves a special re-edition but why mess up actuall Songs that survived the past 30 years with remixes from 2013? SONY Music offer a similar hodgepdoge with Michael Jackson's BAD 25th anniversary - NOBODY Needs the bizarre remixes on such work of art. The actual remixes are not even bad (apart from the overlong 7min Time after time Yolanda Be Cool mix) but they are completely out of touch with album. If you let the first cd run through you enjoy each of the quirky original 10 Songs and have this sudden come down with "Time after time" and G"irls..." being up-dated with house and Techno beats. Why??? Why not stay in the given Spirit and just add authentic versions of the period as done with the Demos on the second cd: There are the single Versions of "She bop" and "Money..." missing, as well as the extended Version of "Girls" and "Time after time" further missing tracks are "Goonies" and "What a thrill" to mention a few. Safe the money for the remixers and put on the original Edits an Extended Version!
11 comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
First bought this album cd - circa 1989.some sort of a cd re-issues I seemed to remember.
Now it has received the deluxe re-vamp all these years later,I love it even more this time around.
Cyndi lauper is on fire; her rebellious girls just wanna have fun,is her reposte to overbearing,over-protective and condescending parents.
All the other tracks including money changes everything and time after time are outstanding.A truly wonderful debut album and with full essay, 'lobby cards' and bonus disc of out-takes,an excellent re-issue.
NB :The only downside I can find,is the omission of any lyrics..But you can't have everything I suppose.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
Another one of those iconic albums from the 80's as the music world was transformed into a brand new style of pop/rock
music by major artist as Michael Jackson,Lionel Richie,Prince,Chaka Khan,Tina Turner to mention a few.Cyndi Lauper is a
mixture of these blends and possess a very unusual vocal style indeed.This being her debut album which earned her many
awards including Grammys is a priced gem that fits in perfectly to the catastrophy.once again had to wait for 28 years to get it and it's well worth it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 January 2013
This album is pure 80's, it's irresistible to any lover of the decade. Even listening to it today it's sound is exciting and adventurous. But it will not seem as fast paced as it would have originally when compared to the pop scene of today, how ever it is still a great album with quirky sounds and fun beats, a great listen with my personal favourite song being 'she bop'.

It's a shame she never made an album this good again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 April 2014
Bought this deluxe version of the album as I am a mad fan of cyndi lauper and have seen her live a number of times. This is a truly brilliant album and comes with extras like photos of cyndi etc. Buy this album it's worth every penny you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 April 2014
I cannot believe that this debut album is 30th years old. It is packed with so many good songs and so many hits including one of my favourites "Time After Time" This album shows her talent. If you are a fan of this lady buy it, if you like 80s music buy it , or if you like good music buy it. Whatever you do just buy it and listern to one of the best singers of the 80s
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
This album takes me back to an amazing time in my life. Have always loved Cyndi and this is the album that got me hooked. Got it on vinyl but never on CD. When this came out I put that right. Packaging is fantastic. Like a 10" album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)