Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
52
4.6 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 8 August 2015
Bought this recently to replace my late father's old copy that was lost when I moved house. Was too gutted not to replace it. Ronnie's "How Come" accompanied us on many a long car journey when I was a kid. Fab musician.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 April 2013
Arrived petty quickly, first of all.

I'd known of Ronnie Lane's background but nothing of his music. A run of Old Grey Whistle Tests and Sounds of the 70s was on tv, with an appearance by Ronnie's band Slim Chance. I didn't remember the name of the song but the performance was beguiling. Just prompted me to find out more.

This compendium of Lane's early to mid-1970s work is a good taster. As the title suggests, his best-known song, How Come, features. His voice and style of music are perhaps not to everyone's taste but there are understandable cues to the sound of the Faces, which is fine by me.

I'll be seeking out more on the back of this CD. At the price well worth dipping your toe in the water.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 May 2009
I got 'How Come' as a single back in the 70's, and have had a soft spot for Ronnie Lane's music ever since. Because he didn't do fashionable his songs have remained timeless, doing acoustic country or bluegrass tinged rock'n'roll. Most of the best of what he did appears on this cd so I can only recommend it.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2013
Ronnie Lane, probably underrated by many but this collection will put you right. Buy it and love the quality of his songs and production.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2004
Mint unplayed UK issue CD.great ointroduction to Ronnie Lane's solo material includes his hit singles
Track Listing
1.THE POACHER
2.OOH LA LA
3.HOW COME
4.KUSCHTY RYE
5.BROTHER CAN YOU SPARE A DIME
6.ONLY YOU
7.YOU NEVER CAN TELL
8.CHICKEN WIRED
9.ONE STEP
10.JUST FOR A MOMENT
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 October 2015
Great album of ronnie after the faces. Often go to bishop's castle and have a beer in ronnie's favourite pubs. Stick this CD on and drive through the area he used to live. Poignant stuff.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 April 2014
Just discovered Ronnie's early stuff from the 70's onwards - it's brilliant.
Knew about the single How Come - but there are some classics on this CD.
Well worth a listen.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 April 2014
One of the greatest rock legends ever and nicest fellas, also ,superb songwriter and musician if youve heard the Small Faces and like,who wouldnt?Move on to this for you collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 March 2013
This is by far the best album I have bought for a very long time. Ronnie was a great singer/songwriter and apart from 'Annie' and 'Barcelona' the album contains all his best works.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 April 2016
I was lucky enough to see Ronnie Lane live with the Faces.This is a great CD ,I would recommend to anyone.He was taken far to early but his music lives on . Buy it !
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)