Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
16
SIMPLE SOUL
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 10 October 2017
I love Edie Reader's music. Right from Fairground Attraction to her solo albums, I find her singing, her expressiveness, and her choice of material to be entirely enjoyable. Simple Soul is no exception. This album has a soft, largely reflective tone that caresses my ears. Love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 2 August 2001
This is a welcome return to the simple and heartfelt folk of Eddi's earier records. The lyrics range from simple kitchen-sink metaphors to genuinely touching confessions without any self-referential whimsy or tongue-in-cheek teasing. A wonderful, open and honest record.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 February 2001
Eddi Reader's latest album is a very low key affair. A change of record company has resulted in a CD cover that looks like a copy of the original... but is the original. Musically, the album pulls no punches. This is Eddi at her most restful, apart from the occasional double edged lyrics. Elegant and moving harmonies are in ample supply... the stunning title track is the most musically adventurous... Wolves and the Wanting Kind delight with their telling words and tunes. The only disappointing track is Eden. While I'm really enjoying this album its a shame Eddi didn't provide a more original and varied style as she achieved in her previous two releases- Candyfloss and Medicine with its darkness and Angels and Electricity with its eclectic mix of styles. That having been said, Simple Soul is a strong and beautiful album which if released by any of the major female artists of the moment... Dido, Beth Orton or Madonna would be heralded as a critical success and shift in bucket loads. Maybe its better this way... I feel like I'm listening to a secret soul...
Look out for another Eddi album, Driftwood being released late Spring.
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 February 2001
Another true gem from Eddi! This long awaited follow-up to Angels and Electricity is much quieter than it's predecessor, but after repeated listening it has much the same effect, leaving you feeling soothed and inspired. Simple Soul is relaxing without lapsing into dullness and Eddi's beautiful and haunting voice shines throughout. Highly recommended!
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 March 2001
I've never really listened to Eddi Reader properly before. I've always been put off by that Perfect track she did with Fairground Attraction. But I was surprised by this CD's variety and depth. It's not the mature jazz-lite I expected. In fact, Reader seems to have drawn Jane Siberry into her cannon of influences - and very much for the better. I hear she's going out on tour very soon, with the magnificent Eileen Rose (Rose's Party Dress EP is fantastic, by the way). I'll be there.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2001
Take the risk if you haven't heard her stuff before, it's worth it! Good for falling asleep to and waking up to, soft but still rocky. Musically, it's a gem!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2001
Normally, I read reviews for albums like this months before the albums come out in the states. Now I can write one! Already out in the states, Simple Soul is another jewel in Ms Readers crown. A seemingly effortless masterpiece.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 April 2015
Eddi Reader is a Scottish Folk/Pop singer/songwriter and former lead singer with Fairground Attraction, who now has several solo works to her name, plus the recipient of three Brit Awards.

"Simple Soul" with Eddi's soft lilting vocals and tastefully arranged instrumentation, largely acoustic guitar accompanied by Accordian, Indian Harmonium and keyboards, is a beautifully intimate set of reflective songs.

Not a bad track on the disc, but one in particular stands out for me... "I Felt A Soul Move Through Me" written shortly after the death of Eddi's Father.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
Good voice, some good songs but poor production made this album disappointing. I am new to eddie reader only recently hearing of her on the kate rusby 'little lights' album (incidently, one of the best cds of all time). The title track is haunting and has a sting in it, but many of the others lacked substance and sounded like they went on for too long as a result. Poor production is evident throughout which spoiled it for me. Sorry eddie...but I will try you again
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 February 2001
Maybe it's because I'm a fellow Scot, but I like Eddi Reader a lot. I have done since Fairground Attraction. Here first three solo albums were great, 'Mirmama' being arguably the best. Under normal circumstances I wouldn't consider giving a bad review to an artist I like, but unfortunately her most recent efforts rarely succeed in being anything other than... well, ordinary. Admittedly this album is better than her last, which only had one good song on it - the first one. The title 'Simple Soul' is well deserved, however, her songs having become distinctly low-key, low-tech, one-dimensional affairs lacking in both hummable tunes and memorable lyrics - gentle, relaxing and not at all unpleasant, but in a rather monotonous kind of way. I worry she might be going a bit overboard with the old biblical imagery on this one as well. Buy her earlier albums first.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Vagabond
£10.24

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)