Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
172
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£14.95+ £0.99 shipping


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 24 March 2015
Excellent Blu-Ray version of this wonderful silent classic. Creepy, strange & utterly unique.
Good documentary on the making of the film plus the restoration of this version.
I really can't add anymore than what has already been said here by other reviews here, just to agree with the overall positive feedback about this enduring classic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2017
This movie is brilliant! I can fully understand why many people consider this a classic. It's well worth the money & I'm more than happy with the delivery. I'll be watching this film again soon that's for sure :-)
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2014
Great Edition, Wavesome Steelbook Exceptional Extras.
Really a good edition for a collector and movie lover.
I really recommend.

Buy It!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 September 2007
The Eureka edition of Nosferatu includes the following:
a 2 x DVD special edition of the 2007 F.W. Murnau-Stiftung restoration plus original score. This edition of NOSFERATU features Hans Erdmann's original music for the first time since the film's initial release in the 1920s. The original score in paper form has been located (no original recordings were ever made, it was only performed live in the 1920s). A lush, orchestral recording of this original score has been performed by Radio Symphony Orchestra Saarbrücken conducted by Berndt Heller
+ Full-length audio commentary by Brad Stevens and R. Dixon Smith - film historian.
+ A 96-page book containing articles by David Skal (author of Hollywood Gothic: The Tangled Web of Dracula from Novel to Stage to Screen); Thomas Elsaesser (author of Weimar Cinema and After: Germany's Historical Imaginary); Gilberto Perez (author of The Material Ghost: Films and Their Medium); Enno Patalas (former director of the Münchner Stadtmuseum/Filmmuseum, where he was responsible for the restoration of many German classics, including Nosferatu); a newly translated archival piece on vampires by the film's producer Albin Grau; notes on the film's restoration; and archival imagery
- 53-minute German documentary about Murnau and the making of Nosferatu complete with fascinating footage of the film's locations today
- Restoration demonstration
there might be a few other extras but nothing confirmed at this time.
The cover art is taken from Albin Grau's poster of the time.
On top of this edition "KINO" films is releasing their own version AND there is a groovy "STEELBOOK" edition available from AMAZON.DE which I have pre-ordered. It boasts amongst other things a picture gallery and a 60 minute documentary by Luciano Berriatúa
about the director FW Murnau called "the language of shadows". The commentary on the 1970s version of Nosferatu by Werner Herzog states Nosferatu as the greatest German film of all time.
33 Comments| 69 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2011
This DVD is from the same source as the Kino, Eureka and Directors Suite issues which utilize the FWMS Transit Film restoration and as such is excellent in almost every respect. If I must criticize at all it is on a slight technical matter - the night scenes in this and all other issues from this source are tinted a strange turquoise colour - not the dark blue of the (also superb) BFI release - and as such distracts from the overall eeriness of the film - It is especially noticeable on the arrival at the castle and in the ship scenes, but this is a minor complaint and one most people would tend to overlook. All in all the film and extras are first class. This 2-DVD set has German intertitles and Dutch / French subtitles and comes at an excellent price.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 October 2012
First of all, thanks for some fantastic reviews; in particular to mxd10, J Rae and G. Ratcheson. Your views helped me choose the Eureka version of Nosferatu to purchase from Amazon. If only all reviews on the products sold by Amazon were so detailed.

The film itself has never looked so good and the score was crystal clear. In fact my ONLY gripe is that the score could have been more menacing when Orlock was on screen - I had always imagined a slow sinister piano tinkering when he came on screen. But that is a minor criticism in a altogether fabulous film.

This iconic film deserves to be in everybody's collection, and this is the edition to buy and show at this time of year.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 September 2015
Firstly, about the definitive (older) 2007 DVD version and the film in general. I original wrote this after watching this older release, upscaled through my BluRay player, and enjoyed it more than I ever have.

This film is wonderful! A true masterpiece of cinematic history, released 24 years after Stoker's novel, and manages to tell a bare-bones version of Dracula, in a visually spooky, and quite hunting, and more accurately than a lot of other adaptations IMO. The whole look of Count Orlok is rather vile and will sear into your brain, the shadows and imagery are perfect. This is not a blood and guts horror, of course, its almost 100 years old, but, relies on its creepy visuals to great effect. An awesome restoration, that we are so lucky to have, some shots are a tad degraded but most are very clear, topped off by a 2.0 and 5.1 new performance from the original sound score sheet music. My favourite Dracula movie. There is something magical about the look of silent film, even if the guy who plays Hutter is a compete over-acting wooden top :/.

A small gripe I have is, that there are a few frames missing during some scenes, making moving characters suddenly disappear or 'jump' along a little. It is very occasional, but I have other editions of this film, (namely Eureka's previous sepia version and the BFI 1997 restoration), where this doesn't happen in the same, or at least some of the same scenes, and for the sake of a mere missing frame or two would have fixed those occasional 'jumpy' scenes and made them fluid, even if the quality was, arguably, maybe, not quite as good as the source material used during this restoration, I really don't think in a split second, that, a few lower quality frames, will notice over the benefits of fluid motion. But hey, its nitpicking really.

About the comparisons between 2007 and 2013 versions:

Having heard so many positive reviews of the new 2013 remaster I caved and bought the steelbook BluRay/DVD set, after all it is a favourite film of mine. So how do they compare. The main reason why the 2007 version looks so good is that the picture is the cleanest Nosferatu has ever looked. It is not damage free, but in comparison to all previous versions, this is almost pristine, clear enough and very watchable. There is even a bonus feature on the disc showing how they painstakingly digitally removed the vast amount of scratches and speckles. If you watch is DVD version upscaled, on your BluRay player it is even better.

I had already expected that there would be some kind of a traded off by remastering the film up to 1080p HD, because as well as giving it that extra bit of clarity it will also show up some more damage. However, I was really disappointed to see just how much damage the 2013 version showed. For the most part the film now looks as badly damaged as I remember it used too, before 2007. All sorts of damage and visual noise are now back almost thought this film. The picture is scratchy, grainy and speckly most of the time with very few near-pristine looking scenes. True it is sharper and detail more defined, most of the time, but not massively IMO, or in some cases, too harsh, leaves on trees suffer noticeably from this on my TV. This for me, has just undone the great work the same restoration team did in 2007. The same soundtrack, now however, sounds even more depthy than the 2007 version, even though the 2007 version sounds excellent as it is without the comparison. The 2013 DVD version is also taken from this newer HD restoration, so also has all the visual noise too. I notice they have removed the bonus feature about digitally restoring the damage. I also noticed that the inter titles inconsistently change colour from white, to powder blue, to a mid blue, which I have not noticed on the 2007 version, the intertitles were always consistently powder blue from what I remember. The missing frame jumps are still there. The only real difference is this newer version opens with an 2 minuet 'Overture' before the 'Nosferatu' intertitle opens. Its the same music as played on the 2007 version as the blurb about the restoration is shown. Now the same blurb is shown in silence before the Overture, The booklet that came with the 2007 version is also included with the 2013 version, albeit with a different cover picture, but has lost about 30 pages, cut down from 80 to 50!

Overall, I'm going to buck the trend and say for the sake of a bit more clarity, the 2013 edition, has significantly degraded the picture quality. The 2007 version might be visually softer but its almost damage and scratch free in comparison! So, if you have a BluRay player, for the up-scaling, I would recommend getting the 2007 DVD version, or get the 2007 version for a few quid, second hand and buy the newer version on DVD too, (there is not much point getting the BluRay disc to be honest, it looks near identical if you can upscale the 2013 DVD, this film is nearing a century in age!), and have them both to compare. The choice is yours! A more detailed picture with a lot of visual noise and damage, or a less harsh, softer picture with very little visual noise and damage. I'm going to cherish my 2007 edition. Sure there is going to be movie enthusiasts that are going love the HD restoration for the damage,' because it makes the film', these are going to be the same movie enthusiasts that complain when a restoration of an old film has the soundtrack mixed from mono into stereo, because it is not accurate, is HD accurate of a film of this age, er, nope. I have nothing against squeezing out the quality, 'Cabinet of Dr Cligari' 2014 restoration is stunning, but, that owes a lot to the original camera negative still existing. Nosferatu, like most, films of that age, I should imagine, is less fortunate in that respect.
22 Comments| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 December 2007
I've seen and owned several copies of Murnau's Nosferatu in my time, and to say that this is the best quality you can find in public distribution would be an understatement. Even compared to the excellent BFI release, which I previously considered to be the best version that I would ever see, this MoC release just blows it out of the water. The scratches and flaws have been digitally removed on the whole, or otherwise kept to an absolute minimum, and it provides (at times) a stunningly clear tinted image that betrays the film's 85 years. But the real beauty comes from seeing how utterly stable the picture is. Still screenshots do this no justice, but the image is no longer jerking around on your screen like the cameraman was drunk.

The music is also a real joy, as it is probably the "definitive" score for the film, the very score that was performed at the movie's premier. You will never get much better than that, and it fits the film wonderfully. While James Bernard did a great job on the BFI release, the Hammer Horror artefacts were too overbearing at times. However, the music on this release is perfectly unbiased and fits the movie like a glove.

The special features are about as good as can be expected for this nearly-lost and mysterious film. On disc two, there is one interesting documentary that delves into the history and background of the film, as well as a brief featurette about the restoration process. The documentary is good, revisiting some of the shooting locations and exploring Murnau's past and the occult background to the film, but if you're hoping for any footage of a non-Nosferatu Max Schreck like I was, then you'll be disappointed! Back on disc one, you can find a useful commentary track that delves into the film's imagery and influence.

The main flaw with this release is that everything except the commentary track is in subtitled german, and that includes the documentary and ALL of the text/intertitles in the film. This does comply with the authenticity of the restoration, and it doesn't bother me, but it could be considered lazy when it comes to the documentary. It's also a shame that the special features weren't more exhaustive. At least one photograph of Max Schreck sans-makeup would have been nice, and some interviews or featurettes on the commercial influence of the film would have been really cool. It was good of them to include a very nice 80-page booklet with the DVD though, which contains a number of nice essays.

If you consider the film alone, the picture and the audio quality make everything worthwhile. This the most watchable and authentic version of the film that you can get your hands on. You really won't regret it!
22 Comments| 37 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 June 2013
I read the rave reviews of this film and ordered it not realizing that it wasn't the Masters of Cinema release that everyone lauds to the heavens. Instead it's a shoddy, blurry wreck of a release from Elstree Hill with the film's proper aspect ratio of 4:3 completely skewed.
1. Do not buy any releases by Elstree Hill. They may be cheap, but there is obviously a good reason for this!
2. Amazon.com - please show reviews which pertain to the cover picture shown. Too many times reviews do not correllate with the product advertised.
33 Comments| 35 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 April 2017
All is well. Great blu-ray.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)