Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
125
4.4 out of 5 stars
Day Of The Dead [DVD] [1986]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£16.99+ £1.26 shipping


on 16 December 2016
Excellent zombie film with superb make up and effects. Definitely the darkest of the trilogy. Very viseral and disturbing.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 July 2012
Watch this movie on television only middle half midnight. after wards i purchased on dvd the amazing edtiion i watched the opening of the film was brillant and great love the music which played starting horror this is the film make u jump at opening title i give this five stars then dawn of the dead 4 stars.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 July 2017
The best of all the Zombie films
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2017
Fantastic quality! Happy with purchase!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 March 2017
Classic film arrived in quick time thank you
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 May 2017
Thanks for the great service! Loving my new purchase👍🏻
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2017
Everything fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2012
In my opinion Day of the Dead is the best of George A. Romero's Dead trilogy. Night was pure suspense, Dawn a satire, and Day a science v. nature parable. We learn what drives the zombies while also wondering if we should; the studies shown raise moral questions which are fun to chew. If it's the smartest, however, Day of the Dead also the goriest. There's more blood, entrails and dismemberment here than in the first two films put together.
In a masterful opening scene we meet Sarah (Lori Cardille), a tough scientist trapped underground with army psychos, including Captain Rhodes (Joseph Pilato) and Miguel (Anthony Dileo Jr.), fellow doctors Logan (Richard Liberty) and Fisher (John Amplas), helicopter pilot John (Terry Alexander) and radio operator Bill (Jarlath Conroy). Tensions rise as Logan pushes for more "specimens"; nicknamed Dr. Frankenstein, he's been studying the zombies' cognition. They keep a herd sectioned off and try "domesticating" them with strange tests.
Though the army guys are typical jarheads, a la James Cameron's films, the scientists aren't spotless. As cold as he is, Rhodes has a point; Logan and Fisher happily risk his men for their experiments then repay them by defiling their remains. Real conflict occurs between a quest for knowledge and a need to survive. In this respect you could argue that Day is also the darkest Dead film. It isn't as nihilistic as Night or as epic as Dawn, but it provokes troubling thoughts. Who's the real villain here, Rhodes or Dr. Frankenstein? Standing outside the fray are Bill and John, who waxes philosophical. This of course is a tradition; each film has a wise black man and a sympathetic white woman. Sarah, meanwhile, is the strongest and most likeable Dead heroine.
The soldiers' acting can be ropey. A couple of goons played by Gary Howard Klar and Ralph Marrero don't have too much screen time, thank God, then there's the line "we need his ass", delivered with an emphasis on "ass" which makes it sound like a Freudian slip. I also don't know if Rhodes speaks more than he screams.
Despite these minor flaws, however, Day of the Dead is a perfect genre pic. Its lurid colours and grainy shots make it look like a sleazoid slasher (The Mutilator, Sleepaway Camp), but it's a smarter, scarier story.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 9 November 2013
Recently I've been upgrading my collection of what I think of as 'Modern Classic Horror Films' to BD. As Kim Newman suggests in his book 'Nightmare Movies', the post-Gothic, Modern Horror film appeared with 'Night of the Living Dead' in 1968. For me, by the end of the 1980s, the genre was in terminal decline, so the kind of films I've been purchasing for maybe the third time has included the aforementioned Romero classic (which looks fabulous on the official BD), 'The Texas Chainsaw Massacre', 'Halloween', the works of Dario Argento between 1975-1982 and the like.

I saw 'Day of the Dead' at the cinema when it first appeared. While it doesn't have the immediate iconic appeal of 'Night' and 'Dawn', I've always felt it is a great film and easily the most consistent and even of the initial 'Dead' trilogy (I won't mention the second trilogy). The film is of a piece, flowing seamlessly from one scene to the next, with superior effects and music to its predecessors, with no jarring moments - for me some of the library music of 'Night' ruins the consistency of the film, while to my way of thinking, there is not yet a definitive cut of 'Dawn' - the ideal version for me would be a revision of the extended cut that incorporated the additional thrills and violence of the European cut and featuring only the music by Goblin, albeit pumped up in the mix...and all of this on bluray in hidef, DTS 5.1, naturally. I can dream.

'Day of the Dead', however, can't really be improved, except in terms of quality of presentation. The Arrow UK 3 disc edition incorporates all the special features from the previous US divimax edition DVD on 2 DVDs (plus the film on DVD) and of course, a BD disc.

Arrow are by now well known for delivering inconsistent results on BD. To be fair, you can't make a silk purse from a sow's ear, but when a film as technically proficient as Argento's 'Tenebrae' ends up with a worse transfer than Fulci's 'Zombi 2' (aka 'Zombie Flesh eaters' something is amiss - not to dis the Fulci, it's a cracking feature and my enjoyment of it has been improved enormously by Arrow's stunning transfer, despite the 6 seconds of missing footage at the start of the film), you know that their quality control needs questioning. who is in charge at the office, Arrow?

The BD of 'Day' looks better than the divimax DVD, but is a disappointment: so many of the well-lit sequences seem very soft-focussed, especially in the backgrounds, while the foregrounds sometimes fail too - in numerous scenes the actors' faces lack the sharpness one expects from good cinematography and proper bluray mastering. The darker scenes in the mine are absolutely fine and the gore sequences are pretty amazing. Although this is a big improvement on the DVD versions - the blues have the kind of steeliness only seen on DVD and theatrically - I still feel a better transfer must be possible. No way were the actors' faces out of focus when filmed...

Overall, this BD doesn't approach the quality of 'Suspiria' and Arrow's 'Zombie Flesh Eaters' - and remember, these were Italian films both made some years before 'Day of the Dead'. Another worthy comparison is the Blue Underground BD of 'the Living Dead at Manchester Morgue', which looks amazing -and this was a cheapish film made in 1974 (and to my mind, the best living dead movie of them all after 'Night').

Finally, I'd urge fans to seek out the recent double CD reissue of the soundtrack - not listed on amazon - from the USA, as it's a stunning bit of work and massively underrated.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 3 July 2015
Really loved this film. If you enjoyed Dawn of the Dead this is the perfect accompanyment. Romero is an absolute genius filmmaker.

As more and more dead have risen since Dawn the only way to stop them is to figure out why its happening. Sadly that would involve humans cooperating, something the dead seem to be much better at. The film is an exciting thrill ride that draws from the classic Dawn but improves on it in some areas. Its much more gruesome and some of the effects are really quite impressive. Remember this is pre-CGI which makes it even more impressive.

This Arrow release like so many of their other releases is spot on. The picture quality is great and so is the sound. Thouroughly recommended for a great nights entertainment.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)