Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
12
4.4 out of 5 stars
5 star
7
4 star
4
3 star
0
2 star
1
1 star
0
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£7.99+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 28 June 2013
You can't say the mob wasn't warned about John Shaft. "He's a bad dude", a racketeer cautions them. Now Shaft himself will deliver that message in a way New York City's wise guys understand.

In this film, Richard Roundtree returns as street-smart P.I. John Shaft, who runs afoul of the underworld as he investigates a friend's murder. But the players are about to be played in this hard-edged thriller, the second of the three Shaft films of the 1970s. The very first Shaft film was a commercial success, and so two more films were made, so he's back with more, Shaft's in action.

The DVD for this film has a dual layer format in that Side A features the regular version whereas Side B features the widescreen version.

Very highly recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2014
I have to say, this is the best of the Shaft trilogy...
and with the best music...

Gordon Parks (the director), did most of the music,
so he had the music to fit the scenes, unlike most
Blaxploitation films... all though, I have never seen
a Blaxploitation with a bad sound track... I have
seen "NUFF", bad Blaxploitation movies...

I give it 5 stars, for the soundtrack alone...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2014
I bought this recently and sat down to view it. Wow, what a sequel movie Shaft's Big Score is - it's full of action, from start to finish, action-packed, and more shooting than I've ever seen in my life! Just like the first movie, there are 2 viewing options. Watch it full screen on Side A, or slicker in Widescreen on Side B. The choice is yours - but don't forget to buy it first!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 6 October 2009
This movie has been called the best in the Shaft trilogy and I would not argue with that. Richard Roundtree excels as the pleasant gumshoe who is subjected to all sorts of punches and attacks but never seems any of the worse of it.
Bumpy and Willie are back giving yet again stirring performances and the plot is more complex that its predecessor.
If you have not seen it, then do not miss it.
A really good film.
11 comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 August 2013
As one of the natural pace setters for the likes of Eddie Murphy and Will Smith, Richard Roundtree brings the curtain down on the cinematic phenomenon of his character John Shaft, in style. While its not a classic (the outrageous 'shaft in Africa', is my favourite) its very entertaining and after all these years, its still a good watch. Many Shaft fans, including me, would love to see another movie remake, with many calling for Idris Elba to take the helm, but until someone in Hollywood makes that magical moment happen, just enjoy the original trilogy of films. Will that be enough to keep shaft fans happy? You damn right!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2001
this is simply the best of the Shaft movies. A good mix of action, thriller and adrenalin. Buy this product. You will not be dissapointed. The missing star for the sound. A failure mono-track. But that doesn't matter
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 July 2011
only three black movies from the 1970`s are worth repeat viewing`s,COFFY with pam grier,BLACK GUNN with jim brown and this one,believe me I know,as I have seen them all,most just lived of the success of shaft,but with poor scripts and very bad acting,shaft`s big score has some great action scenes and one of the funnest parts for an old lady coming out of a lift with a hood trying to get into it,you can just feel the film crew in the background falling around with laughter,but watch it yourself to see what I am talking about,only down side is last 30 mins with a copter chasing shaft,how could they miss shooting him,and I thought that as a kid watching this in the 70`s,just as much as now,anyhow still great to watch after so many years.The last movie in the series is ok,ie shaft in africa,but is not in the same league.
44 comments| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2013
Ok, I'm sure it's me, but I don't think this stood the test of time really.

Watched more or less half and lost interest, no depth and no cool shots of NYC to hold it in place. Sorry guys.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 July 2015
Really good action film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 April 2016
customer very happy
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)