Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.3 out of 5 stars
189
4.3 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.50+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 11 October 2006
Yes, yes, yes, yes. This movie rocks. In fact, I can't think of a single reason not to buy it.

Let's start with the cast. The two juggernauts Ian McKellen and Patrick Stewart are in the centre of this epos, going head to head against each other - one militant using force to establish a new world order where mutants are at the top, the other wishing to build bridges between mutants and humans for a better understanding; justice and peace for all. Then there's Halle Berry (hot as usual) as a quite convincing Storm, Famke Janssen as the graceful Jane Grey, Anna Paquin as the fugitive Rogue and Hugh Jackman as the wild and mysterious Wolverine. There is not - in my opinion - a single cast member who does not play his/her part well, and they are all well-suited for their respective roles.

The plot is what makes this film stand out. The focus is on the difference in philosophy between the two old friends Xavier and Magneto, the appearance of a new powerful mutant named Rogue and her encounter with the loner Wolverine. The film is an introduction to the story of the X-men, and is very well suited as the beginning of a trilogy. Wolverine is an important character: basically, he's a mystery. He doesn't remember much about his past, and throughout this film (and indeed in the next) he quests to learn more about himself while at the same time opening the door to his heart in one rare instance for the vulnerable Rogue, who is placed in the middle of the battle between two old friends who have different views on the relationship between humans and mutants.

The film will leave you with a desire for more. Trust me when I say you don't really need it. This film yields a preliminary result of a continuing battle between the two great old men, and that's the way it should be. You can always continue the story yourself, in your own imagination.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 April 2014
Following the disaster that was Batman and Robin, it seemed that the comic book movie was dead. Then came along X-Men and the comic book movie was reborn.

With a darker tone than most previous comic book movies and great performances particularly from Hugh Jackman, Patrick Stewart and Ian McKellen, X-Men resulted in the start of many comic book characters being brought to the big screen. Now while the movie is a little shorter than I would have liked (it almost seems like a preview to the sequel) I can't deny that it saved the comic book movie from complete extinction.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 November 2003
I have never been a fan or fantasy or such like films, but after this film was recommended to me by a friend i thought why not just watch it and see if it was any good. So, i did, rather skeptically i will admit. However, before long i was really getting into and i was starting to grip the edge of my seat. By the end i was quite shocked at how good it was.
I mean, you can be really picky about certain things that they have missed out from the comics, but as i, and a large majority of others in the world have never read them anyway, i guess it don't really matter.
I have seen quite a number of films before, which have tended to be either action or martial arts, but suprisingly this really measures up. I would not hesitate to watch this again and i look forward to watching sequel and any others which they might make.
So, in answer to my original question, Has this film got the 'X' factor? Well, i would say YES definatly! And i would also say BUY THIS NOW!
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 January 2017
A great introduction to the X-Men universe. Showed a great storyline from beginning to end and never went off track. Great film for the whole family.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 January 2005
The thing is when you sit down to watch a film like this; you shouldn't be expecting acting of Shakespearian standards, a subtle plot and sensitive subjects. What you're really after is a good chunk of action, some great special effects and a fun filled storyline to keep you going to the end. With X-Men you get that and plenty more besides.
Hugh Jackman is great to watch as the "lead mutant" and how great to see Ian McKellen and Patrick Stewart trying to outdo each other in the ham-acting stakes. Another mention must go to the superb sets which give the film a wonderful futuristic feel. Couple that with some amazing special effects and the ingredients for an entertaining evening come together nicely.
Another great plus point is that the film has no pretence about it; it knows it is a comic-book action flick and tries to be nothing more. There no stuffing of morals down your throat as comic-books sometimes try to do, and any points the director makes are done with real skill and therefore work so much better than if he'd rammed the "discrimination is bad" message home over and over again.
Great fun!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 December 2000
Ok, I admit the star of the movie is and always will be Wolverine; Hugh Jackman was born for the part. When it gets released over here you just have to get it, if only to see the bar sequence again and again and again and again and...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2001
I've talked to many avid X-Men comic fans and this was really the film that they had been dying to see since they first picked up the comic book.
To see it finally on film is probably something I personally have been waiting for since I was about 7 (many many moons ago) and to say I was impressed was an understatement.
Making a film from a comic book is hard. You have to appeal to the die hards "It's not close enough to the story line; its not in depth enough; Rogue doesn't look like THAT!" and to the mass market "What the hell is an x-man?" means you have to make sacrifices on both sides to get the ideal movie.
This has HUGE potential to fail - but the balance is right in this movie.
Instead of trying to appeal to fans with deep characterisations of all characters (10 hour movie, anyone?) they've concentrated on Wolverine and Rogue, balanced off against the die hards moaning that their fave character isn't in it enough (wait for the next movie, will ya!)
Instead of revealing the entire history of the Xavier/Magneto saga (which after 100's of comics still hasn't been resolved) they've given what I consider the ideal solution - brief history, but not much detail (die hards complain again, but it is in the spirit of the books!).
And instead of trying to follow the complex plot lines (who REALLY knows the history of Wolverine - anybody?) they've stuck to the basics - he himself isn't really sure.
I get the feeling that they have spent WEEKS just discussing how to execute this movie, and I for one think the result far exceeds most people's expectations - however, like any crossover movie, everyone is gonna have their winge about how it wasn't EXACTLY what they wanted.
If I was you, I'd leave your mind open and just watch Wolverine and Sabretooth fight it out : )
And where was Gambit?
:-p
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 7 August 2014
This film, along with ‘Blade’, could easily be the ones responsible for the current regeneration of the superhero / comic-book movie. Direct Bryan Singer brought a fresh look to a genre long since stale with exciting characters, cutting edge special effects and a cast of top name stars to deliver fun, fast and exciting action and story work for a franchise backed up with an extensive back catalogue.

Thankfully for tip-toeing into the make or break world of superhero adaptations with a wealth of comic book history to rely on, the plot relies on no previous knowledge of the X-Men to understand and follow. Of course there are plenty of nods to the Marvel universe for die-hard fans to note, but for the general audience it’s a simple story of good mutant vs bad mutant vs humanity in a fight to survive and save man-kind. It’s exciting and dangerous, but fun and witty at the same time thanks to the cast who embody the characters as if they were born to play them on-screen to make them far more likeable and enjoyable to watch than could be imagined.

It’s easy to see the growing appeal for Hugh Jackman making Wolverine a more likeable character than he could have played him, appealing to all audiences and paving a strong lead for the franchise. But you can’t knock any of the cast at all to be honest; Patrick Stewart and Ian McKellen play old friends and enemies that you believe has just been ongoing for decades, and fellow X-Men Famke Janssen, Halle Berry, James Marsden and Anna Paquin equally show a great deal of raw emotion, wit and pathos in a story that is very tender and deals with the strong subjects of isolation, betrayal, loss and acceptance of who you are.

The threat of communism in the 1960s and racism in the 1970s creeps into the plot, but without ever being in your face as it just makes the story more believable, more relevant and more fitting for modern society rather than spanning some out-of-this-world alien-esque plot.

Yes, sadly some of the actors are under-used with such a wealth of talent where you wish you could see more of them and the foundations are placed for greater character development in future films as we just skim the surface of some of the team, but it’s a minor argument in an otherwise enjoyable film. Carried along by hard-hitting action sequences and bone-crunching fights (a stand out duel between Mystique and Wolverine is both exciting and thrilling), dry humour and the use of cutting-edge CGI in the year 2000, it’s a slick and exciting trip into the super-hero universe of Marvel’s X-Men that launched a craze unlike modern cinema goers haven’t experience for a long time.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The first film of a new franchise is always tricky, trying to satisfy existing fans and introduce the characters to a new audience is an almost thankless task - you can't please everyone, but X-Men succeeds, mostly...

Starting the film at a Nazi concentration camp instantly gives it gravitas - this isn't a silly superhero film, it means business and seeing a young boy twisting the metal of the gates separating him from his parents as he stands terrified is an incredibly effective opening. Straight away this becomes a human story and we can sympathise with the villain, he's not a one dimensional baddy - he has a history, a past which gives him a motive to resent humankind.

The strength of the X-Men film is that it is grounded in reality, the political struggles the mutants experience reflect the social movements of the twentieth century where prejudice is driven by fear and ignorance. The 'real world' feel means that the film can pull off a farfetched plot without it looking ridiculous as the 'X-Men' from Charles Xavier's school for gifted youngsters find themselves pitted against Magneto and his disdain for non-mutants. The main story itself isn't very complex, but the real substance comes from the more subtle relationships, particularly between new members Logan and Marie who find that integrating with their own kind isn't always that easy.

Black leather outfits look edgy and help to give the film a dark feel, bright costumes wouldn't have been in keeping with the tone - in fact, surely a highlight for the fans was Cyclops' "yellow spandex" comment, a great nod to the original comics. The visual effects in X-Men perhaps aren't as grand as the ones in the X-Men 2, but they are still very well executed and will please those wanting action but not at the expense of drama. This is a film which benefits from some tremendous acting talent, both Patrick Stewart and Ian McKellen have great screen presence and their performances as the two opposing leaders of their own very different cause brings not only a theatrical sincerity, but also a warmth which makes them both so incredibly likeable. Instead a of a simplified good versus evil battle, this is a clash of two very distinct philosophies from two great minds who understand and respect each other. You get a genuine sense that there is a long history between them, although they oppose each other there's also an underlying fondness which gives their adversarial interaction a magnetic quality (pardon any pun). Although it's hard to imagine anyone else as Wolverine now, Hugh Jackman was something of a surprise casting and many were sceptical that he could fill such big shoes - he did of course, and brilliantly so. His growling, rough-around-the-edges portrayal adds to the mystery of the man, along with Magneto and Xavier, Wolverine's story carries the film, he too is a well developed character with enough humour and compassion to make him lovable.

This blu-ray release looks bright with details well rendered. The film looks great in high definition, though it isn't too kind to some of the special effects; the CGI on Wolverine's claws look a bit obvious at times! In terms of bonus features, this isn't much of an upgrade from the DVD release - personally I didn't have the DVD and so the extras seem more impressive to me. Extended scenes are nice to have - but don't bother watching included within the film, I think they're in standard definition and the detail looks a bit 'mushy' when sandwiched inside the main Hi-Def feature. The best additional feature is the documentary "Evolution X" which runs for over two hours and explores all aspects of production, though it does get a bit repetitive with some areas touched on several times!

In a nutshell: This was a film to make or break the X-Men film franchise, and thankfully it was handled well. This succeeds where The Fantastic Four movies failed, visual effects aren't enough - you need characters you can believe in, on both sides. X-Men sows seeds, introduces mystery, and asks questions we want to see concluded, it makes you want more.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 October 2007
As far as bringing comic books/games to the screen, this has to be the best so far. The filming, sound and acting are great. The only reason I feel I did not give it 5 stars is that I just finished watching "The Perfect Storm" the same day...and the acting does not compare... But if you like reading the X-men comic, you must have this film. The DVD gives you a lot of extras. And for a comic book, there is a very good story line. Wolverine's creation seems to need its own movie. Everyone else is born a mutant.... Of course the comic book as is the movie, is a statement on how the majority treats minorities they do not understand.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£2.50

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)