Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
62
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.97+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 November 2002
Basically put, this album is the best rock album I have heard in ages. The line up of this band though was always going to produce a classic like this. Josh Homme, the song writer and guitarist, Nick Oliveri, the insane hedonistic bass player with a penchant for playing naked. Coupled with Nark Lanegan from The Screaming Trees, this is a line up that cannot fail. Every song on the album is a brilliant piece of stoner rock. From the opening blast of 'Feel Good Hit Of The Summer' to the brilliantly mellow 'Autopilot' through to the album's end track, the epic 'I Think I Lost My Headache' This album even contains my favourite Queens song ever, 'Monsters In The Parasol' This album is a must have for anyone who has even a passing interest in music. A brilliant piece of powerful, mellow, stoned, exciting music, quite simply, this album is genius and cannot be overlooked by anyone.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Queens of the stonage are not unfimiliar to the alternative rock scene with other great albums under theyre belt such as ''Queens of the stone age'' album (self titled) with great songs such as ''if only'' and ''regular john''.Enough about the past anyway this new album has adapted to a more powerful rock sound and has is easily the best rock album of this year and is worthy of your hard earned dosh with such hits as ''lost art of keeping a secret'' and ''feel good hit of the summer''both featured videos on mtv.If your into Nirvana and your looking for the next best thing this band does more than fill the shoes of kurt cobain with josh's amazing ability to create a unique rock sound combining his unusual voice with power chords and blistering solo's.This is a masterpeice and any rock fan would be stupid not to buy this you will still be listening to the catchy melodies and lyrics in 10 years time also these are very good live and are worth seeing as long they dont get busted for playing nude again.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2004
After hearing the amazing Songs For the Deaf, I was instantly hooked on the Queens, so Rated R was a must-have purchase. When you first hear the first track, Feel Good Hit Of The Summer, You think "is that really it?" but by the end of another listen, you're addicted (not literally) and will go around humming the simple yet effective tune for ages. The next two tracks, The Lost Art... and Leg of Lamb are more melodic, and are probably two of the best songs on the album. My other particular favourite song is Monsters in the Parasol, Which has an awesome tune. The rest of the songs are good too, with classy riffage, super-fine drumming and awesome Bass Guitar. There is a dizzy instrumental at the end, which really finishes the album off in style.
The Bonus Disc is alright too, having Feel Good Hit...(again) and three other songs, which are catchy. Especially Never say Never.
Songs For The Deaf lovers will be a little disappointed with this outing, but only because Songs for the Deaf was such an outstanding Album.
An essential purchase for QOTSA fans and Rock Music fans in general, This album is a modern classic.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 January 2003
This is an album that will blow you away, if you've heard the new album your way ahead of yourself because although this isn't as heavy nor as fast as SFTD it is QOTSA at their finest. The self-titled album was huge but nothing in comparison to this. It gets straight down to business by blasting the two singles "Feel Good Hit Of The Summer" and "The Lost Art Of Keeping A Secret" leaving you thinking there can't possibly be much better than this but there's so much left.
"Leg Of Lamb" and "Auto Pilot" are powerful songs but mere tools to get you used to their psychedelic rock sound in preparation for the massive Bjork inspired "Better Living Through Chemistry" which will leave you wondering quite how much of the 'Nicotine, Valium, Vicodane, Marijuana, Ecstasy and Alcohol' you consumed to feel good this summer. After that head rush you need some calming down but now Josh Homme has got something else for you, the mind destroyingly addictive "Monsters In The Parasol" with Goss and Oliveri adding in some sinister backing vocals. 'I don't even know... what I'm doing here' admits Oliveri before a sudden rush of guitars and vocals leads into "Quick And To The Pointless". Guest star Mark Lanegan is given lead vocals on the darker "In The Fade" before another rush in "Tension Head" then it all starts to mellow out on the instrumental "Lightning Song" before the final big QOTSA outro "I Think I Lost My Headache" with a mass brass instrumental at the end which will either cause you to end the album prematurely or listen to an artist's attempts to create a musical depiction of a headache (One that still doesn't compare to Radiohead's "The National Anthem").
This album is one of highs and lows that will leave you either loving or loathing the entire album. Altogether the album is a mass hit and one of the greatest albums from 2002. One to add variety to a collection of Rock/Metal music and a great addition to those already fans of the members, QOTSA coming from Screaming Trees (Lanegan), Kyuss (Homme) and Dwarves (Oliveri). To make it all quite simple, if you don't own this album then do yourself a favour and buy it.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
Taken 1 star off as I received the Rated X vinyl in red. Having to hide the vinyl because the gatefold pictures are extremely rude and I don't want my daughter to see them. Superb album and one of my favorite albums by QOTSA, excellent vinyl quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2000
c-c-c-c-c-cocaine! by the time you hear this, "the feelgood hit of the summer" will be well and truly camped out in your subconscious. A glorious start to a fantastic CD sees a shopping list of narcotics recited like a gregorian chant and it is quickly followed by an equally good tune - "the lost art of keeping a secret." this sounds so good right now it's hard to turn it off - even to go to the pub, but it keeps getting better. Tune after tune flows in with waves of rhythmic beauty just a sublime album. I think to appreciate it fully you have to be getting stoned as the last track descends into experimental horn solos and bizarre pieces of music, but this aside this has to be an essential purchase for the year. If you are stuck between this and "Issues" for instance, there is no contest. Superb.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
Still listening to this red hot QOTSA album as they power there way through a great variety of material and sound textures.
This is very much an early indication of the stunning Like Clockwork album that maestro Homme and his cohorts produced in 2013.
A wonderful collection of noises and some very good songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2015
I bought 'Rated R' (00) in 2003, after 'Songs For The Deaf' (02).

There are 3 songs which stand out on this album: 'The Lost Art Of Keeping A Secret', 'Auto Pilot' & 'In The Fade'. Each song has a different lead singer: Josh Homme / Nick Oliveri / Mark Lanegan, but you might be forgiven for thinking that 'Auto Pilot's mellow vocal is also by Mark Lanegan (from 'The Screaming Trees' group), and not the bands crazy bass player, Nick Oliveri, who was sacked from the group 'Dwarves'. Lanegan also provides backing vocals on a couple of tracks. If all of the songs were as good as the last three mentioned, this album would be a 5 star classic.

Some might say that the single 'Feel Good Hit Of The Summer' with it's 'list of drugs' lyrics, is another stand-out, but to me it does not match the quality of the above songs. Track 9 is a short reprise of the latter, which puts the remaining track numbers out of sync with the track-listing.

Nick Oliveri follows his more conventional 'Auto Pilot' lead vocal with more typical scary/shrieking vocals on the short 'Quick & To The Pointless' (1:42), and the nightmarish 'Tension Head', which both convey a sense of humour. 'Lightning Song' is an unremarkable instrumental with piano and a 12-string guitar. The longest track 'I Think I Lost My Headache' (8:40) seems to be a song of two halves; I'm not keen on the second, instrumental half, where noisy brass instruments bring the track to a close.

My CD has a 4 track second disc (13:19) which, frankly, is not worth having. It repeats the 'Feel Good....' single, and contains 3 sub-standard B side tracks. The Song 'You're So Vague' is not the 1972 Carly Simon hit 'You're So Vain', although it contains a reference to the song ("you probably think this song is about you")

Nowadays, there is a big 'Nick Oliveri' sized hole in the group, but fortunately he was still in the band at this point, as well as on the next album release.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 23 October 2000
i'd just about given up on hearing a new(ish) band that sounded completely themselves and then i heard this. it's one of those albums that you couldn't imagine any other band releasing. there's a fair few style changes on the album but they all make perfect sense. there's a lot of guest helping out (particularly ex-members of the screaming trees) and qotsa still manage to keep the thing under total control. 'feel good hit...' kicks it all off and just as soon as that's done burrowing into your brain along comes 'the lost art...'to take up a few more of your cells... by the end of this album your head will have been plugged with so many favourite bits that you'll just have to play the whole thing over again. mark lanegan's guest vocals are amazing... the psych out of 'better living thru chemistry' will tap straight into your brain stem. ther are so many good songs on this album i could kiss the but of each individually but don't take my word for it... find out yourself. artistically the album is a perfect example of knowing when to hold back. they leave out things that lesser bands would have felt compelled to include but it makes the songs better. they play music like a stoned hemingway would have written. it's not quite rock and it's not quite metal but this album should have both camps drooling.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 July 2016
This is my favourite rock album EVER. Not a massive queens fan, didnt like their other work as much, songs for the deaf had some hits on it but wasnt as complete as this headfuck of a masterpiece. This is a brilliant album, period. Vinyl pressing reveals new sounds and hidden depths i didnt notice on cd or cassette. If you have kids beware of the inner covers, you open the gatefold to reveal a web of soft core pornography! Love it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£4.05
£4.77
£7.99
£7.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)