Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
67
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£5.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 January 2001
I am lost for words!
Instead just let me say that this is the finest damned record i have heard in a long time. It's great to be excited by a rock band again.
How do they do it? Don't know don't care, just if you care about great rock and roll then buy this album!
Awesome! Hows that for constructive criticism?
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 February 2014
Still listening to this red hot QOTSA album as they power there way through a great variety of material and sound textures.
This is very much an early indication of the stunning Like Clockwork album that maestro Homme and his cohorts produced in 2013.
A wonderful collection of noises and some very good songs.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 June 2004
After hearing the amazing Songs For the Deaf, I was instantly hooked on the Queens, so Rated R was a must-have purchase. When you first hear the first track, Feel Good Hit Of The Summer, You think "is that really it?" but by the end of another listen, you're addicted (not literally) and will go around humming the simple yet effective tune for ages. The next two tracks, The Lost Art... and Leg of Lamb are more melodic, and are probably two of the best songs on the album. My other particular favourite song is Monsters in the Parasol, Which has an awesome tune. The rest of the songs are good too, with classy riffage, super-fine drumming and awesome Bass Guitar. There is a dizzy instrumental at the end, which really finishes the album off in style.
The Bonus Disc is alright too, having Feel Good Hit...(again) and three other songs, which are catchy. Especially Never say Never.
Songs For The Deaf lovers will be a little disappointed with this outing, but only because Songs for the Deaf was such an outstanding Album.
An essential purchase for QOTSA fans and Rock Music fans in general, This album is a modern classic.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2015
Taken 1 star off as I received the Rated X vinyl in red. Having to hide the vinyl because the gatefold pictures are extremely rude and I don't want my daughter to see them. Superb album and one of my favorite albums by QOTSA, excellent vinyl quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 November 2000
Wow! From the first time you put on this album it hits you. Fresh and emotive sounds pulse into the air and you're taken over, and its so dynamic, every I know loves it, indie fans to thrash (o.k. not every one). If i were you i'd buy this album.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 August 2000
Slap on the disc. Crank up the volume. Prepare to be blown away. This an unstoppable blast of manic stoner rock, and the feel-good album of the year. Forget all those angst-ridden nu-metal casualties- this is the real, amoral article.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 June 2003
one of my favourite albums of the yeah, it can be initail be hard to listen to but quickly becomes in gained on your mind. I cant help but singing along and jumping about to it. A stand out is the single "lost art of keeping a secret"
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 June 2001
If you want huge riffs, and bone crushing heavyness, buy all of Kyuss's albums (which are all fantastic). If you want all of the above, plus a mixture of punk,ska,folk,country and western and every other style of music imaginable, then buy this record. Its eclecticness is what sets it apart from all of its peers, and is precisely the reason why this (and the first Queens album) is such an important, magnificent record. Don't get me wrong, I love huge riffage (and was and still am a huge Kyuss fan), but Josh Homme and the boys are taking it to a whole new level. Buy, listen without prejudice and get into the most important band around at the moment.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 October 2013
Great record to own on vinyl. Second Qotsa album, with Nick Olivery delivering basslines heavier than a heavy truck. These geezers were certainly serious about nicotine and valioum and....
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2001
Best Album I have heard this Year. Not Metal not Indie not anything just a right good mix of class songs done by some very clever Guys.Better than any of the Numetal Carry On.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£9.00
£3.99
£4.82
£5.99
£14.50

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)