Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Barbarella [DVD] [1968]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£5.32+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 16 January 2013
Bought for a nostalgia trip (for very little money) to see if the film is as weird as I remembered. The plot revolves around Barbarella, played by Jane Fonda, a sort intergallactic ambassador for peace and love, and followers her through a series of adventures, which usually involve her losing her clothes. Yes it as weird as I remember, but is the very essence of the 'swinging sixties', loud and colourful, and for a brief while I was 22 again, and thus worth every penny I paid.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 September 2013
I loved this the first time I saw it in the 60s and don't feel it has ever dated. It's very funny, lots of action and despite the strip there is actually very little nudity and sex! A bit dated now but many of the names and lines are still relevant, for example there is a pop group named for the hero - Duran Duran - and we have lots of family jokes based on this film. Apart from the opening scene there is nothing my 13 year old grandson could not watch.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 16 March 2005
If there was ever a film that reflected the nature of the 60's hippy revolution then this is it. It has that much lovin and nude frolicking that you might think that this is a dirty movie but as the film progresses you start thinking that this is a pretty good film and the fun frolicks are just a bit of fun! It has all the things a good sci-fi movie should have and more, including an excellant bad guy called 'Duran Duran!'
Good film all round.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 30 December 2014
The film itself as bonkers and brilliant and sexy as it ever was. The Blu Ray mastering is very good and you can see the original film grain. It is not however, the 1968 original. The original never had the subtitle "Queen of the Galaxy." That was added for the 1977 post Star Wars re-release. I'm also curious as to why the box and disc indicate a 15 certificate but the recording has a PG certificate.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 March 2013
Always loved this movie and up till now have owned it on video and dvd format so I'm delighted to have it now on blu-ray. The picture and sound quality are both very good and worth getting it on blu-ray.
As for the film itself it's just a really fun flick drenched in awesome 60's style, tongue in cheek humour and cutesy eroticism.
Jane Fonda is smokin' hot and delivers the comedy and sometimes absurd scenarios with effortless genius.
Great movie, highly recommended!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 June 2013
Jane Fonda as Barbarella, excellent supporting cast, totally off-the-wall script. What's not to like? So the soundtrack is mono—this is not an action pic—and there's a certain amount of picture noise visible which probably the result of cheap film stock. This was never made as an Art Work. Enjoy it for what it is: saucy 60's hokum with a great deal of OTT!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 31 July 2016
It was different, it had the stunts that you would expect for an early 1970s film, watching it now you can see what is blue scene and what is stage set with the wires, you could tell where the story line was taking you, good attempt at what a woman James Bond would be like on the big or small scene, more costume changes than a film made in the 2000s.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 February 2014
Jane Fonda as Barbarella, she was stunningly beautiful, it has everything, Duran Duran, the matmos, you wicked girl you have broken the excesses machine!! And the totally gorgeous John Phillip Law as Pygar the Angel (worth watching the film for him alone). The black queen, a real vision of the future and its such great fun too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 February 2013
Delivery was fine (no damage).This film was well ahead of its time in the late sixties when it came out (I didn't like much then), but it is quite amusing more than 40 years later, and it contains a few things that have been re-used by other science-fiction films and series in the meantime. Definitely worth the £3.75.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 May 2014
Jane Fonda as Barbarella would still be a space-godess if she was cast against any modern leading actresses! Though aspects of this film obviously show their age, the originality and often bizarre nature of this classic film makes it very watchable, especially with the quality transfer on to Blu-ray.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse