Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Shop Now



VINE VOICEon 24 October 2010
They got the title wrong. It should be "The Adventures of Mr. Toad and Ichabod" as the Wind and the Willows story comes first. And what a great story it is.

Set mostly at Christmas, the Mr. Toad story has a wonderful festive feel and really does stand on its own. It's such a shame that the dull, boring Legend of Sleepy Hollow story bogs it down.

I wasn't particularly entertained by the Tim Burton film but at least stuff happened in it. More than 25 minutes of this version is dedicated to Ichabod romancing some woman and only 60 seconds from the end to we get to see a headless horseman. Since I bought the DVD after the halloween-ish cover caught my interest I was kinda annoyed that it failed on this promise but delivered a nice Xmas story, if entirely unexpected.

This was my first encounter with a Disney "Package" film and I have to admit that Mr. Toad should have been released independently as a short and Ichabod forgotten about completely.
44 Comments| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 January 2016
As I'm collecting the Disney films I was abit disappointed it didn't have the number on the side but great film :)
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
HALL OF FAMETOP 50 REVIEWERon 20 December 2010
This review is from: The Adventures Of Ichabod And Mr Toad [1949] [DVD] (DVD)
The Adventures of Ichabod and Mr Toad was another of Disney's features that were really a compilation of shorts, although in this case its seven reel running time is made up of just two stories boasting star narrators. Basil Rathbone makes the case for Toad of Toad Hall being one of the greatest characters in English literature, though the half hour animated version of The Wind and the Willows loses much of the charm and whimsy of the original story in favor of something simpler and more energetic. It's not bad at all taken on its own terms, and Eric Blore is perfect voice casting as Toad, but a little more attention to the story would have been welcome: Toad's prison escape dressed as a washerwoman is all but skipped over when it should have been a gift for a comic sequence. Bing Crosby takes up the narrating duties for the second half, an adaptation of Washington Irving's Legend of Sleepy Hollow complete with 40s songs not far removed from Donald Duck's theme tune. Unfortunately this does feel a bit stretched out until the Headless Horseman makes his belated appearance for an impressive and fiery finale that's not quite impressive enough to take away the feeling that it would have worked much better as a one-reel short.

Unfortunately the picture quality on Disney's DVD isn't as impressive as it could be either, with a lot of white speckles on the picture. Still, with both films released separately for so long in the past - The Wind and the Willows turning up as a short supporting `feature' on Disney theatrical reissues like Alice in Wonderland and The Legend of Sleepy Hollow more often relegated to Disney's TV series - it's good to have them back in their original format. The classic Mickey Mouse, Donald Duck and Goofy cartoon Lonesome Ghosts, which almost certainly served as the inspiration for Ghosbusters, provides a welcome extra alongside kiddie-friendly singalong, interactive game and storybook features.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 February 2011
As with Disneys older cartoon films, the animation is superb, and the characters quite beleivable. I also liked that classical extra cartoon called Lonesome Ghosts [of which i never tire of]. Marvellous Disney material.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 July 2009
I love these two Disney shorts. They are witty, clever and brilliantly put togther. We sometimes forget how good the early Disney animations were. I love Pixar too, but seeing these two old storis always makes me smile and cheer.

Watch Icahbod running away from the ghost of the Headless Horseman. Cheer as Rat, Mole & Badger help Toad recover Toad hall from the evil Weasels. It's good clean fun, and easy to watch over & over. Stories that we can all relate too.
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2009
This Disney cartoon featuring stories from The Wind In The Willows and The Legend Of Sleepy Hollow.is great fun for all the family. Dating from the Fifties the animation may not be quite up to Pixar standards but really that doesn't detract from the enjoyment.
0Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 October 2013
A few years ago i remembered having seen a scary cartoon about Sleepy Hollow when i was a child. It took me ages to track it down (mainly as i didnt know what it was called), & i've eventually got it from Amazon.
The title is deceiving, as it infers that Ichabod and Mr Toad are in one adventure - but it's two separate stories.

Of course, its not as scary to me now - but its still very good and you can scare the kids with it!

I now just need someone to help me find the other one i want from olden days - The Blue Danube - it's lovely little birds & woodland animals, squeezing the blueberry juice into the river to make it blue - all to the music of 'The Blue Danube'.
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 September 2010
This dvd has two wonderful cartoon shorts dividing up the story of Mr. Ichabod and Mr. Toad. Mr. Toad winds up on some grand journeys with some great friends, and ends up reclaiming his good name after being framed. Mr. Toad's wonderful friends are instrumental in helping him reclaim his innocence. Mr. Ichabod plays a man full of charm and a love of life that gets along well with others. It is a great cartoon for both adult and kids, but there are certain scenes in the Ichabod cartoon that may be a little on the intense side for children under 3 years old. What I also like are the bonuses included. One of the bonuses involves playing a game where you must answer questions correctly to get to Toad Hall. If you can answer tham without getting four tires then you can get a nice bonus at the end in the form of another cartoon short. I played the game and thought it was pretty fun, plus the mini cartoon that I got to see as a result of it was pretty creative (a car version of the little engine that could). Watching this dvd is definitely worth it, especially considering the bonuses included.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2017
It's okay for kids.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2016
Watched once.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse