Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more

Customer reviews

4.7 out of 5 stars
15


on 8 July 2017
An amazing record!!!! With the intense friction of their brotherly relationship paying huge dividends for the publics ears, even if their relationship suffered dramatically for a number of years as a result, you can hear the different and at times contradictory music each brother was listening to at the time, Jim with bits of psychedelic experimental punk rock with at times a hint of sixties feel in melody mixed with high energy rock'n'roll, William with a more contemporary nineties experimental indie feel with hints of spiritualized, my bloody valentine, spacemen 3 and even the melodic teenage fanclub on the Fantastic track "black", an album of emotional and deeply sensitive mixed with vitriolic bitter lyrics at times (this is a good thing in rock'n'roll), criminally underrated by the press at the time, who were busy sniffing round and getting excited over the beta band, gomez (really??), and delakota(really????), if you like inventive and experimental music with heartfelt endearing if at times bitter lyrics you must hear this record now, being Scottish I am fiercely proud of the mary chain one of the best and most underrated rock'n'roll bands around all time, if they came from London or America they would be far more appreciated by the mainstream music press, Jim and William I salute you and feel blessed for hearing your music and even more so for having attended your gigs, I LOVE/HATE ROCK'N'ROLL!!!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 8 July 2015
I drifted away from the Mary Chain in the 90s so I just picked this up recently.
I think it's great - familiar JAMC noise augmented with occasional brass and guest vocals.
Don't know what someone coming to the band for the first time would make of it or if I'd recommend it as a starting point... yeah, go on it's worth the risk
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 4 December 2017
If you like JAMC then you will like this - if you don't know them then it is a little late and don't start here.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 December 2014
Exactly what I ordered and wanted
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 7 November 2002
...Truth is it's not been of my car CD player for three weeks! Driving to work these days has taken on a whole new meaning.
I was a J&MC fan throughout the eighties having caught them early on during one of the chaotic Glasgow shows back in 84. I must admit that come the early 90's I thought they had become the 'Ramones' of feedback.
This album changes everything and I just wished I had picked it up four years ago! Not a duff track in sight with, to these ears, the best set of songs on any J&MC album, great trashy lyrics courtesy of the ever cynical Ried brothers, you can sense history in the making as the two songwriters clash between the hate/love rock 'n' roll central theme.
I mean who can not sit back and enjoy a song with the immediate lyrical onslaught of 'I was just a teenage Jesus freak'? Production is huge and the noise guitars and bathtub drums work brilliantly with the tunes and melodies underpinning the chaos.
William sounds so p****d off on some of the tracks that you can almost sense the inevitability of the soon to happen split.
Leaving the very best to last this is a suitable swansong for a group who wouldn't compromise. Totally overlooked upon release this perhaps makes this an even more important masterpiece in the J&MC anti fashion. For Creation & no doubt McGee to take responsibility for the release is a fitting end from where it all started.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 13 June 2013
hmm well i was 21 when psycocandy was released .loved it at the time ,can't listen to it now.the chain moved on .darklands was crap ,along with stoned n dethroned . but honeys dead and automatic were a a different approach they were classic albums .this the follow up and difficult to get released album (their label hated it) contains some class n some naff tracks was virtually the end of a band that lost there way.cant knock the value of this tho .2 cds of audio and a dvd of content .good value although u may want to hit the skip option a few times!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 January 2001
Hailed by some as the saviours of rock'n'roll on the release of their debut LP 'Pychocandy' in 1985, it was perhaps inevitable that the Jesus and Mary Chain's career path would be downhill from thereon in. This, their last record, originally appeared in 1999 to widespread disinterest and the band split up soon after, bitter and disillusioned. It's a good record though, sometimes a fantastic record one, though at other times it is admittedly a little hard on the ears. The tension between Jim and William Reid, the brothers from East Kilbride who basically were the band, is nowhere more evident than it is here. Jim's songs are upbeat and melodic, celebrating his life and what he has made of it with music, as on the opening blast of 'I Love Rock'n'Roll' and the heartfelt 'Stardust Remedy'. One wonders to what extent Jim's optimism is an attempt to annoy his famously surly brother Wiliam, whose bitterness, misanthropy and self hatred manifest themselves in a number of uncompromising songs. On some, like 'Birthday' and 'Cracking Up', the result is bracing, dynamic, a perfect demonstration of the group's mastery of indie-rock dynamics; elsewhere, as in 'Commercial' and 'Degenerate', it's a (no doubt intentionally) bruising grind. The album is by no means unremittingly grim, however. Guest appearances by the brothers' sister on 'Mo Tucker' and Mazzy Star singer Hope Sandovaal on 'Honey' provide light relief and musical variety, while several more delicate songs towards the end, William's 'Never Understood' and 'I Can't Find the Time for Times' and Jim's 'Man in the Moon' and 'Dream Lover' prove that both could write impeccably melodic, sensitive, even moving pop music when they so chose. The album ends, however, with 'I Hate Rock'n'Roll', William's bitter tirade against the music industry by which he felt so wronged, and one can't help but think that if they felt like that about it, it's probably just as well they gave it up. While they lasted, though, they were unique, and this is a great lost album.
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
..if you are a fan of the later work of the Chain, beginning with Honey's Dead, you'll love this album. If you are more into the tinny, over-feedback sound of the 80s, don't bother. A couple of the tracks on Munki are so-so, but the rest more than make up for minor lapses in Chain coolness. Especially good are Perfume, Commercial and Cracking Up. Make up you're own mind. I don't think you'll be disappointed.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 25 February 2010
Never mind the NME 6th form 'experts' or the record buying public - this album is a corker containing some sooper dooper tracks and deserves far more respect.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 March 2001
The opening track, "I Love Rock 'n' Roll" is scorching and one of the Reid Brothers' finest moments, but it is downhill from there. A collection of fairly lame tunes from the erstwhile masters of feedback. Impression of a band whose ideas had run out.
Avoid - buy the vastly superior "Psychocandy" instead.
11 Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Customers also viewed these items

Damage and Joy
£5.99
Barbed Wire Kisses
£7.85
Darklands
£7.92

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)