Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
10
4.4 out of 5 stars
Tokyo Joe [DVD]
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.99+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 1 August 2017
Entertaining
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2010
Before I bought this DVD I never heard of Palladium, the company that released this DVD. Unlike some other smaller companies, Palladium offers a movie in superb quality. Only a pity there are no subtitles. But that wouldn't hold me from buying more of their releases.

About the movie: "Tokyo Joe" is a nice film, which I could watch again in a few years time. It's not a "Maltese falcon" or "Big sleep", but nevertheless a very watchable movie. If you haven't seen it, you'll have an entertaining one-and-a-half hour with this if you should buy it.
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 January 2014
Well what can you say about the greatest actor that ever lived whatever film he starred in was excellent and this is no exception well worth the few pounds it cost
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 31 March 2011
Whilst scanning thru the list of upcoming movies available to UK free to air users, I saw the name Bogart attached to Tokyo Joe and naturally had my interest piqued. The guy or gal who writes the two line sell for the movies showing said "little known Bogart movie set in post war Japan, where he is forced to resort to extortion and smuggling to save his woman and child". Sounds ace eh? Well there's a good reason that Tokyo Joe is a little known Bogart movie, it's because it simply isn't very good. It's a film that Bogart manages to get thru with his reputation still in tact, but really it's only because of him the film is worth sitting thru.

Directed by Stuart Heisler {The Glass Key}, Tokyo Joe is adapted from a story written by Steve Fisher and sees Florence Marly, Alexander Knox and Sessue Hayakawa co-star along side the irrepressible Bogie. Filmed in that semi-documentary way that was popular around the time, it's a ponderously downbeat picture that hasn't got the script to make it a dialogue driven cracker. There's some interest in its look at post war Tokyo, with some of the actual location work in Tokyo {exteriors} helping fuel that docu-realism angle they were going for. But even that plus point is dragged down by the uneasy sit it has with the artificial studio lot work and the stuffy screenplay provided by Hume & Millhauser. Florence Marly has a lovely structured face, but she's a very poor actress if this is anything to go by, whilst Knox appears to be star struck alongside Bogart. Thankfully Hayakawa is up to the challenge, while the print of the film is of excellent quality.

It's a shame about its many faults because its story is a good one, smuggling, kidnapping and army political post war machinations should make for a fine movie. In fact on release the general public warmed to its pertinence of the setting and time. The critics were less enamoured and once one strips away the novelty value, all that is left is Bogart admirably carrying the load to the inevitable gloomy, all be it briefly exciting, finale. 4/10
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2013
Everything OK I am really happy with the DVD. Came on time ... love this movie saw it many years ago and wanted to see the movie again!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2015
Good. Bogart was already a favourite of mine when this film was made!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 September 2015
Good. Many thanks. Well packaged.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2012
I enjoyed the film: alright, it's not classic Bogie, but then again it is him, and it's well worth the watch. He makes it work. However, the transfer isn't as good as it could be. This firm tend to specialise in getting stuff released in as short a time as possible, and don't spend too much time worrying about the quality. See their truly execrable Charlie Chan box set. Thankfully my niece hadn't opened it before I lent her my copy, so she could get a refund. Get 'Tokyo Joe' to fill a gap in your collection and enjoy the film, but don't expect too much in terms of picture quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 August 2015
Good film.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2011
If you like Humph films, you will want to see this, and you should enjoy it, but it will not rank in your top 10, or even 20. Nothing wrong with it, but nothing special either.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)