Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Paperwhite Discover more Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
44
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.53+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 4 January 2002
With good condition vinyl original copies of this changing hands for big money this CD must've been eagerly awaited. The artwork on the sleeve bears no resemblence to the original but the tracks are the same. The anthemic "Self Preservation Society" recently re-awakened by adverts and english footie fans is the real gem. If you love the film, this is a must, and if you own a Mini Cooper like me, fit a CD player and you'll be in seventh heaven. Turn it up and "blow the bloody doors off"
11 comment| 22 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 February 2004
Down in the antipodes, decent OSTs like this are about as rare as Cockneys themselves. I had to travel to London on a regular jaunt to find this gem and do not regret it one moment (especially after paying under £10); later I bumped into a friend of the CD producer, who apparently went to work for MCA and asked for the soundtrack on CD, to be told that it didn't exist (in the days when decent vinyls were going for £75). His mission from that point: to re-create one of his favourites on CD-God bless his decision and persistence!
Quincy Jones's original compositions are marvellous, recalling the moments in the film-and despite the relative brevity of the entire CD, it all seems more substantial. His jazz background serves the score well, including his rearrangements of traditional tunes, which work well independently of the movie. No other Matt Munro-performed song touches 'On Days Like These', while the instrumental (present here, thankfully) is as elegant.
As an earlier reviewer said, the quality of the remastering is excellent, while the liner notes are a useful complement (while presenting little new information for fans, souvenirs such as an image of the original poster are worthwhile). I can't wait for my next drive around Italy with this soundtrack in the CD player. While remembering that in that country, 'They drive on the wrong side of the road!'
0Comment| 14 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 March 2001
A truly great soundtrack that brought flooding back the fact I dragged my poor mother to the flicks over 10 times to see this film at the age of 8! But I agree with previous reviewers - adding some of the truly classic dialog... "...doors off..", "Hang on lads, I've got an idea", and Noel Coward's "Everyone's bent" would have added the 5th star for me.
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 November 2000
So it's here at last - and about time too! After a wait of nearly 30 years, Quincy Jones and Don Black's soundtrack to the quintessential British caper movie doesn't disappoint. From the opening of Matt Monro's sublime vocals in the simply beautiful 'On Days Like These' to the beery finale provided by the cockney chorus in 'Get a Bloomin Move On', the long overdue CD release of 'The Italian Job' will no doubt fill a void in many a collection of cult movie soundtracks. As an Oscar winning London born songwriter, Don Black's participation was predictable enough for a 'Swinging Sixties' project, but just how Quincy Jones got himself involved would surely be a story worth hearing. Anyway, betwen them they pulled it off to create a memorable accompaniment to many a bloke's favourite British movie. Welcome home, Charlie Croker and the boys!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 December 2000
I bought this CD today and was very impressed with the quality of the recordings - obviously a decent re-mastering job has been done - but I couldn't help but feel a little short-changed. The CD runs for just over 28 minutes in total and there's no excerpts of dialogue - which was a real disappointment as it's the dialogue (especially from Caine) that really MAKES the film! Surely, some dialogue from the film could have been included, as is normally the case with many soundtrack albums, and this would have helped to fill out the rather measly 28 minutes of music you get on this CD. Still, having said all that, it's a hugely entertaining album to listen to and it's release on CD has long been overdue. I can't give it the 5 stars I'd like to as I feel it's a little bit of a wasted opportunity.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2013
Love the music in the movie, and went out to buy it when I thought if there was a soundtrack for the movie.

Currently trying to get a mini for me, my dad and a friend so we can play "Getta Bloomin' Move On!"

The music is fabulous, you can't find music like this in the charts.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 June 2002
The soundtrack to my fav film of all time- british or otherwise. The highlight is the final track, the Self Preservation Society, although the rest, particularly Matt Monro's intro and 'Its Caper Time' is also great. An essential CD for any Italian Job fan!
So why not 5 stars? The film gets 5 of course so why not the cd? As others have said there should have been some quotes. Also they missed out the second verse to self preservation society, the one Croker and co. sing just before the coach takes that corner too fast...
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 February 2001
Qiuncy Jones has created one of the greatest soundtracks for any British film ever, with many a tune to drive to (Although Matt Monro's "On Days Like These"/Crashing into a JCB I'd rather not imitate). Tracks 7 and 12 are the greatest drinking songs ever, as by the time you down your third pint, you'll wish you were in the minis themselves. This CD was well worth the wait. Nice one Lads.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 March 2001
Many people have said it's a pity that this soundtrack lacks quotes from the film. Whilst I can see where they're coming from, it is a soundtrack, and if you want quotes, you buy the film, which is also worth the money. It's the best film ever, and the soundtrack doesn't let it down. How I wish I was small enough to drive a Mini!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
The Italian Job was a stylish and with it comedy from the late sixties. Everyone remembers Michael Caine's accent and the iconic Mini chase, but the equally stylish soundtrack is often overlooked.

Opening with the inimitable Matt Monroe crooning `On Days Like These', a song and performance as cool as the Alps in which the opening sequence is set, this is a classy sound track that really sets the tone for the film. Using the cool jazz/blues sound prevalent at the time there are series of swinging numbers that neatly describe the hip with it swinging youngsters, and the stuffier elder statesmen of the criminal organisation. It neatly brings together the various elements of the film, the comedy, the serious criminal endeavour and the sense of having fun that pervades throughout. Finishing with `Getta Blooming Move On', sung by the cast as the bus with the gold is careering through the Alps with joyful abandon, this is a great soundtrack.

The score from Quincy Jones is well put together and fits the film perfectly. It is not quite in the top echelon of film music (The Good, The Bad, The Ugly and On Her Majesty's Secret Service are my personal two all time favourites) but it's not far away. The only slight let down is that there is no dialogue from the film - Caine's `Now listen, I have this great idea...' at the end of the disc would have rounded it out nicely. The sound reproduction is clear and sharp, and sounds good on my stereo. The inlay contains a short essay and lots of nice pictures.

A decent set, well worth the money to any fans of the film and anyone who likes the style of the hip swinging sixties.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)