Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Click Here Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

  • Proud
  • Customer reviews

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
32
4.5 out of 5 stars
Proud
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.74+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


on 5 May 2017
Bit slow and wallowing, she had great voice, but better stuff with m people
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2016
Great voice
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2016
This is just a great song brilliantly delivered
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 50 REVIEWERVINE VOICEon 1 April 2012
Rooting around in a dusty corner of The Wolfcave Heather Small's 2000
solo debut album 'Proud' jumped out of a pile of CDs which hadn't seen
the light of day for more than a little while. Listening to it once more
for the first time in almost a decade was like meeting an old friend again.

Taking time out from M People Ms Small delivered some of the finest recorded
performances of her career in these twelve cracking songs. What a voice! Solid
as a rock, warm, expressive, powerful and capable of making the hair stand up
on the back of your neck. The first three tracks : 'Proud', 'Holding On' and
'Wherever The Road Goes' are among the finest pop anthems which the noughties
had to offer. The soulful torchsong 'Ease Your Troubled Mind', too, burns with
beautifully articulated emotion; 'Garden Of Eden' sports some rich gospel
backing vocals and a wonderfully sinuous string arrangement and final track
'What Do I Have' brings the set to a superlatively uplifting conclusion.

Ms Small's 2006 release 'Close To A Miracle' has more than a few highlights
too but 'Proud' remains her most memorable achievement by a long country mile.

Essential.
44 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 May 2017
One very nice cd. Beautiful music, strong and distinctive voice and aesthetic photos. It might not concern the native English speaker, but for not being one, her voice is very good understandable while listening & that is very nice.
As it seems, the first half o the cd, she seeks independence for herself, as against the other half , it is more the opposite, where she looks for love. I personally like "Don't change a thing" very much.
And brought all together, to be proud, independent but deeply committed is truly nice.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 April 2001
What a wonderful album from one of the best singers around!!Heather doesn't disappoint at all with this offering!The backing music is beautiful and all the lyrics get right into your soul and the whole package makes this album my favorite of all time especially WHAT DO I HAVE?!!All the lyrics touch you on a personal level and just feel like they are for you!What more can i say ?-a tremendous album!!Definalty money well spent!!
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 December 2006
Three magnificent songs are brilliantly and flawlessly sung by Heather Small. "Proud" is a triumphant and uplifting song replete with Heather's captivating crooning. "Don't Give Up The Fight" is an inspiring and in many ways spiritual song with a theme of overcoming. "What A Wonderful World" is wondrously sung by Heather and it is equally poignant, yearning and optimistic. Heather Small is a vocal phenom,an ethical vegan and an upbeat, musical star. She is consistently magnificent ! I hope the USA finally discovers her.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 May 2000
Well, it's been rather a long wait to hear Heather sing again and she doesn't disappoint. "Proud" is a great single to show off her talents. I'm hoping she comes with more 'music for my ears' soon
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 July 2009
CD is great and the service from Amazon was fantastic! needed the CD for work project and so getting it delviered next day was brill!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 July 2015
Heather Small in my opinion is one of the greatest under rated singers of all time (what a voice) she is right up there with the likes of Alison Moyet, Dusty Springfield, Judith Durham and Shirley Bassey. again in my opinion these artist don't need reviews there music will live on forever. which is more than can be said about the so called rubbish that is churned out on (Britain's got NO talent) Heather is just pure magic.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)