Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Worried Blues Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

5.0 out of 5 stars
18
5.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
18
4 star
0
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.62+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 September 2013
I realise there is room for a sensible debate about how the Strauss Four Last Songs should be done - small-scale pianistic intimate versus large-scale orchestral operatic - but if you are going to do them 'big' I'm not sure this offering from Jessye Norman could be bettered - majestic, soaring, ravishingly beautiful, deeply moving. Once you accept it as a valid interpretation, which I'm glad to do - marvellous!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 September 2014
Jessye Norman`s rich voice in this recording is sublime, nothing more to be said!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 February 2014
Jessye Norman sings Strauss' wonderfully evocative songs like no one else and I shall have at least one of them played at my funeral! The Wagner songs are not bad either - just as well sung but not as well written.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 March 2012
This CD unifies the "cores" (evidently in Philips opinion) of two (or three, counting the original issue of Strauss' Lieder) other issues. From these two R Strauss: Four Last Songs -Strauss, R.: Four Last Songs etc are omitted 6 other Strauss' Orchesterlieder, from this one Wagner : Tristan und Isolde & Wesendonk - Lieder /Jessye Norman are omitted the Tristan und Isolde Prelude and Isoldes Liebestod. The Wagner's Wesendonk Lieder gain the Super Digital Transfer (96kHz-24bit). Indeed, the result is a CD a bit empty (47'41"), but here the matter is quality and not quantity.

Strauss' four last songs are absolute masterpieces. The lyrics of three of them are by Hermann Hesse (one of my favorite writers and poets); the lines of the fourth lied are by Joseph von Eichendorff. Therefore, the mastery and the mellow artistry of the last Richard Strauss (here saying a serene adieu to his earthly experience and preparing to the next life of his soul) joined to the high poetry of Hesse/Eichendorff create the miracle.

In my opinion Wagner's lieder stay, from an artistic point of view, one or two steps below. Mathilde Wesendonk's lyrics are quite good and touching, but obviously hers is an amateur poetry and it suffers a bit from mannerism and a Decadent posture. The orchestration is not by Wagner, but by Felix Mottl. He is an excellent Wagnerian specialist and a gifted musician, but the orchestral effect lacks the involving density and originality of the Master. Therefore, in Strauss' case, the absolute excellence of Norman/Masur's performance gives plentiful evidence of the artistry virtually contained in the score; in Wagner's case, the superb performance by Norman/Davis improves the artistic interest of the compositions.

In general terms, Norman's timbre is not of my preferred kind; but a judgement on a vocal timbre, due to the numberless elements that in human voice contribute to determine it, is deeply affected by the individualities of taste. Anyway, here, both in Strauss and in Wagner, she sings astonishingly, quite incredibly, well. Her voice continuously sends shivers down to your spine. It flows from her mouth effortless, dense, perfectly modulated, in every register, from pianissimo to fortissimo and from an astonishing smooth cue to the end of the pitch or of the phrase. Then her voice floats, weightless but steady, in the air, perfectly melting with harmonies coming from the orchestra. But the real miracle is that such a perfect virtuoso technique is completely enslaved to meaning, in a context-sensitive masterful interpretation.

The great and humble (in the sense that he serves music and not vice-versa) Kurt Masur finds the way to englobe the gorgeous vocal leading line in harmonies and countermelodies produced by his Gewandhausorchester Leipzig without overlaps, but perfectly melting everything.
Colin Davis is one of my preferred conductors of his generation, but I did not know him in Wagner. In my opinion, his performance here is really great and matches his celebrated performances in the Berlioz's solo voice+orchestra repertoire: Le Nuits d'Ete, Lelio, Herminie, Cleopatre. He, the London Symphony and, obviously, an ineffable Jessye Norman, give thickness and interest to compositions maybe not robust enough for aiming at the sublime.

The original sound is a 1982 DDD in Strauss and a 1975 ADD in Wagner. In my opinion, Strauss sounds a bit more detailed, with well separated sound layers, but a little bit chilly and flat, while Wagner sounds warmer and deeper, but just a little bit confused. I do not like the use of headphones in listening to music, particularly to this kind of music that has to freely expand and to breath plentifully in the air; by chance I have listened to this CD also through headphones, and my personal impression is that Strauss gains something, while Wagner loses.
Anyway, the superb content of this CD will enrich you and your collection with some of the purest expressions of vocal artistry.
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 August 2006
This is the definitive recording of "Four Last Songs". No-one else achieves that unearthly quality, that enormous sound, the rich, amazing tone that Jessye Norman brings to these beautiful songs. I have tried everyone else's renditions but I keep coming back to Jessye's; it doesn't get any better than this.
0Comment| 16 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2001
If you always thought Strauss was a bit of a lightweight, prepare to have your mind changed. Here is the most sublime voice delivering these songs with a clarity and all-enveloping passion that speaks straight to your soul. If you manage to get through the Strauss without weeping buckets so heartfelt is Jessye Norman's delivery of all 4 songs, Wagner's "Schmerzen" will tip you over the edge. Beautiful, deeply melancholic but absolutely worth every second of breath-taking, breath-holding but ultimately life-affirming fabness.
0Comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 March 2014
A superb and moving recording. Jessye Norman's sustained singing is wonderful and her pitch absolutely spot on (surprisingly not always the case with some singers!). Highly recommended
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
Glorious soothing music!
Jessye at her best - just the music to enjoy on a summer's day or even a gloomy day in winter.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 30 July 2010
I've tried to keep an open mind when listening to other recordings of the Four Last Songs but no other singer has ever come close to Jessye Norman's performance. Wagner's Wesendonk sit well alongside the Strauss and for those who don't know Wagner's songs are an excellent introduction.

Beautiful music beautifully sung.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 November 2016
Replacing lost / mislaid CDs. Was only after the Four Last Songs, but I get a bit of Wagner too! Jessye Norman's voice is incredible... bold, powerful, but tender and sweet too... Wonderful!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse



Need customer service? Click here