Learn more Download now Shop now Pre-order now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 14 November 2017
Very good album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 26 June 2017
Why did it take me so long to buy it. Brilliant!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 22 August 2017
lovely album and good quality cd
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 21 January 2018
George‘s masterpiece
luv it soooo much!!!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 February 2015
A classic album, buy it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 18 October 2017
This is George's masterpiece. Full of beauty, the songs range from the sublime My Sweet Lord to the rollicking Wah-wah, with George's unique way with a melody and lovely slide guitar featuring throughout.

There are so many great songs on here - Beware of Darkness, I'd Have You Anytime, Isn't It A Pity and the title track to name just a few. The production is warm in that lovely natural 70s way, and the performances throughout are bang on.

An essential album for Beatles & George fans, and lovers of 70s rock....oh, and anyone who likes great music!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 3 February 2017
This was one of the first Beatles solo albums I bought. I was a 2nd generation Beatle fan and bought this in 1977. It was exciting cos of the volume (3 discs) and it didn't disappoint. Got the CD version when the reissue came out. The songs really stand up. Some of Georges best work. Was never sure about the 'Apple Jam' and the demo's are no great shakes but the main body of the album still does the job. George was always (and still is) the under-rated Beatle. CTB.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 February 2001
I'd almost forgotten how good this album really is!
Having replaced all of my vinyl Beatles Albums with CD's (while carefully keeping all of the old 33's intact) and also buying the CD versions of "essential" solo material - "Plastic Ono Band", "Band On The Run", "Imagine" etc - I must confess I'd overlooked "All Things Must Pass"!
What a mistake!
The first 2 Albums of the orginal 3 record set were quite outstanding - and the re-mastered versions remain so!
Everyone knows "My Sweet Lord" but "Wah-Wah", "Isn't It A Pity" and my own particular favourite "Ballad of Sir Frankie Crisp" all come across as fresh and original as ever!
In the case of the latter don't all true Beatle fans just love those semi-autobiographical tracks? . . who else could write a song about the architect of the house they live in?
It's easy to subscribe to the view that the true greatness of the Beatles was the chance in a million happening that put two true geniuses together at a Church Fete in Woolton Liverpool!
Listen to this album again and there's a strong case for suggesting that the genius count becomes three!
It is suggested that these tracks were stockpiled by George because he couldn't get space for them on the Beatles albums! This is partly supported, perhaps, by the fact he has never quite suppassed himself again with his solo collections - although "Cloud Nine" came close and "Living In The Material Word" was also a very good album!
The Jam tracks haven't quite stood the test of time but it was, nevertheless, facinating to read the liner notes that can now, finally after 30 years, give a complete list of all musicians appearing including, inevitably, Eric Clapton - with even the suggestion that a young Phil Collins was in attendance during the sessions!
The bonus Tracks are patchy although the slight change in the words of "Beware of Darkness" was interesting to say the least!
Finally the packaging and presentation of this boxed sat are excellent - I particularly like the re-working of the original cover pic on each of the inner sleeves and the booklet!
In two words: "BUY IT!"
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 19 October 2011
When this album was reissued ten or eleven years ago, part of me was hoping that George had taken the trouble to strip away some of Phil Spector's heavy production which for me hasn't aged at all well. The Wall of Sound is somehow unsuited to George's introspection and his lovely slide guitar work is often buried under the brass and other forceful clutter that Spector was so famed for. When the production is relatively spare, such as in Behind That Locked Door, I'd Have You Anytime and Let It Roll the melody has a chance to breathe. The extra track I Live For You is a sweet and puzzling omission from the original album and a nice surprise here. George had stored up quite a few strong songs in the late sixties and this album is a clear high point for him, which he never reached again despite some other great songs later in his career. It is an album well worth returning to despite Spector's blitzkreigs, though the jam session at the end is best skipped.
44 Comments| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 14 September 2006
This is a unique album. It is so, in that, unlike many incidents involving bands going their seperate ways and then producing manufactured, contrived pap, George Harrison managed to produce this lovely, and at times tear jerking opus.

I have always been an admirer of artists who tastefully combine musical genres, and that is exactly what Harrison does here. My two favourite tracks that highlight this, are "My Sweet Lord" with its uplifting rythm and Indian chanting, and the emotion grabbing, "Isn't it a Pity" the lyrics of which make it sound not only like a gentle reminder of our world at the time (1970) but also like a mantra of sorts which accentuates George's love of Indian music and devotion to Hinduism.

Whichever way you look at this, it is an exceptional work, a must for any record collection and an odyssey that will remain mercurial in its beauty for eons to come.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)