Learn more Download now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more



on 1 January 2015
A simplified form of scrabble for the younger player that manages to be simultaneously not that much fun for the playing parent and not particularly interesting for the child. Having tried to play it a few times, it bit the dust pretty quickly. It might seem like a "nice" and "sensible" present to buy a child to help with literacy and spelling, but the game design is poor and the fun side of the equation so low, I can't see many kids playing it other than when forced. You'd be better off playing a dumbed down version of the adult game, or even better, the excellent Bananagrams http://www.amazon.co.uk/Winning-Moves-Bananagrams-Game/dp/B00PFRNEU6 . A bit of a waste of money this one, really.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 February 2016
A great game introducing a younger audience to Scrabble. The game by Mattel comes with the methods in which to play. The first is aimed at children aged 5-7 and links in words and pictures as a way of helping them improve spelling, and vocabulary. The 2nd game is closely linked with her adult version allowing them the chance to practice before moving on to the adults board. It is with a simplified scoring method that children are able to enjoy the game without it being overly difficult.

The game is nog suitable for younger children due to the small parts which should be kept away from toddlers and babies for safety.

My niece enjoys this game and as soon as her younger sister is old enough to play I have no doubt they will be able to have hours of fun on the days when they can't go out or maybe just don't want to.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 6 February 2012
I bought this for my granddaughter Ellie's 4th birthday three weeks ago, specifically as an educational toy.

It's changed a fair bit from the Junior Scrabble that I bought her mother and uncle some 20 years ago, but for the better.

It stays at Grandad's, and Ellie absolutely loves getting it out whenever she comes.
At just 4 yr old, we are not attempting to push her into to "playing it" per se, simply using the word side of the board, with all the letter tiles face up in the lid, spelling out the words that are on the board, seeing her face beam when she gets one right.
The next step will be to knock up some sheets with some more common word/picture combinations - family pets, furniture, cutlery - and dynamically expand her spelt vocabulary with words relating to her day to day life.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 1 December 2012
For some reason our version did not have all the letters printed on one side, so we had to write them on ourselves. We play a variation where everyone picks one tile, places it and if their tile completes a word they get a point, this makes the game go a lot faster and keeps my 5 year old and 3 year old boys engaged, they have a lot of fun with this game and often choose to play it. It's helping no end with their letter recognition and the older one's reading. It's also nice knowing that when they're older we can flip the board and play a more advanced version! All the components are very well made and good quality.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 December 2017
Absolutely brilliant for the younger members of the family. This game promotes "happy " learning & encourages to read
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 20 May 2017
A lovely way for the young to start to learn their letter and words in a fun way.
11 Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 10 January 2018
What a great game, my Granddaughter uses it every day., quality board, tiles and box, should see her into normal scrabble
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 27 October 2015
It's ok but there aren't enough tiles for four players. The absence of racks on which the players can place their tiles is a serious flaw.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 9 January 2016
Beware! The pictures of this julior scrabble are not accurate. I bought this as every letter of the words are shown so my 4 year old can match each of the tiles to the correct square. Unfortunately i received a different version that only shows the first letter of each word. I will be sending it back as it is not as advertised.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse
on 15 August 2017
perfect family game
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you? Report abuse

Questions? Get fast answers from reviewers

Please make sure that you've entered a valid question. You can edit your question or post anyway.
Please enter a question.
See one answered question


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)