Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
39
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.95+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 5 June 2006
Quite simply: Mind-blowing. This guy has it all -- feel, edge, risk, dynamics, and damn big balls if this album is anything to go by! He continued the theme of "Who Else?" with his experimentation of live-meets-electro backing, but this time the playing seems even more inspired. 'Earthquake' sets the bar pretty high from the outset, sounding a bit like a revved-up Nine Inch Nails tune. Then we're into a stellar roll of four songs with 'Nadia' hitting possibly an all time Beck high -- fantastic beats and a touch on the geetar that sends shivers down the spine. 'Loose Cannon' has an almost elastic riff that sprawls and grooves whilst 'Left hook' wouldn't be out of place at an underground drum 'n' bass club in Brixton -- super-aggressive backing, super-aggressive chops. The album then rides out on a high, but toned down, note. A genius album by a genius man. Highly, highly recommended for musos and non-musos alike.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 12 October 2013
Like Jeff himself these days, I wonder about his 1970's dalliance with Jazz, though undoubtedly he did some terrific work there, notably with Jan Hammer et al. But I prefer Jeff's later incarnation, as a thinking person's heavy rocker (actually he transcends genre), characterised by what one critic called 'a stunning combination of extreme delicacy and heavy metal brutality' ( leave aside for a moment that JB is never brutal but he is a master of the ART of noise). Here we find some of his best work - I think 'Loose Cannon' his best ever work, an astonishing throwing of everything, kitchen sink and all, in the direction of an awesome, post Hendrix (yes, really) sonic blues/thing. This CD's worth it for that. The rest, well there's the odd weak track we have come to expect, but the beauties are many: try 'Roy's Toy', 'Suspension' and 'Nadia', corkers all. A must-have, essential and quite brilliant achievement. Nothing with 'Loose Cannon' could get fewer than a 5 from me, it is that good. As for the 1 star reviewer, well each to their own but this album's a veritable cornucopia. Trust me (I'm a Doctor).
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2001
AMAZING: I dislike instrumental albums and especially by guitarists, but this has everything (including some lyrics!!!). A musical journey starting with some astonishingly powerful industrial type rhythms + distorted guitars and a bass that THROBS like I thought bass always ought to throb, but never quite managed to find. But then there's a marvellous blues rendition (Rollin & Tumblin) and the highlight Nadia - a wonderful indian piece - ?? surely written for sitar ?? but powerful and haunting nonetheless (? more so??) for being played on the guitar.
Yes there are guitar histrionics but they only add to a marvellous album.
This is my first Jeff Beck album - dare I seek furhter and be disappointed by comparisons to this?
0Comment| 24 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 February 2001
The first Beck album I bought was "Who Else", curious about his style thanks to his reputation as a guitarist par excellence. Put it this way - it convinced be to go out and buy 'Wired' and 'Crazy Legs' while forking out for US imports of 'Guitar Shop' and 'Flash'. When I saw this in the shops last week, it just had to be MINE!!
The sound has a lot more gut than "Who Else" - naturally, Jeff reduces his guitar down to ashes on many occasions - but when was the last time his guitar work didn't exceed boiling point?
What surprised me was not the 36min running time ("Wired" is only 37min, but that album is far from disappointing), but the disappearance of Tony Hymas - Jeff's long-term collaborator. This thrust Jeff, along with members of his band, into the writer's zone... a place Jeff doesn't often visit. That said, with Jeff adding his writers touch to the album, it makes the album a whole lot more interesting. It grinds, slashes, wrenches and sings beautifully - especially on "Nadia". If you put quality over quantity, this album is a real 'Blast from the East', so to speak!!
In response to the Amazon.co.uk review, although Jeff is approaching the big 6-0, his sound hasn't aged a bit and it will be a very sad day for music when he does hang up his guitar as, quite frankly, there aren't any guitarists of today's generation that even come close to this man's talent.
11 Comment| 19 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2001
Jeff Beck continues to extract ever more unlikely sounds from his guitar, and is one of the very few artists that is still producing original music. Even his cover versions of 'Nadia' and 'Rollin An Tumblin' are original, if you catch my drift. He obviously makes music for himself, and cares not what you think of it. Ironically, this is why it is so good. The whole thing makes the hair stand up on the back of my neck. Music from the heart, rather than the wallet, this is art for the ears. Outstanding.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2009
Never bought a Jeff Beck album before, but I first heard 'Jeff' on Spotify and liked it very much, and after reading the reviews on Amazon of that album and this one I decided to buy them both.

This is a much more consistent set than Jeff, and it really astonished me that someone I'd always only ever associated with a song as ancient as Hi Ho Silver Lining could produce such a sonic tour de force that sounds so, well, modern. But it's just a great, great record. He's clearly an awesome guitarist, and not in that apalling virtuoso Steve Vai sense, but whatever he plays is totally in tune with the mood of the song, and they're all different in style and tone. It's exactly the kind of record you'd expect from a great musician who's not content to rest on his laurels.

Top notch stuff.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 September 2002
From Indian Rag to Dance - Delta Blues to Ambient, Beck makes it all his own. Is it a guitar he's playing or someone's voice box?
Tracks 3, 4, and 5 are the one's that stick in my mind as remarkable. Track 3, "Dirty Mind" - the title says it all; Track 4, "Rollin and Tumblin" with the beautiful Imogen Heap on vocals, is up with, and maybe, surpasses Ry Cooder's "I'm All Shook Up" for exciting interpretation. On Track 5, "Nadia", Beck's guitar sings, literally.
Is the album title telling us that Beck goes Dance, under pressure, and it serves us right. A friend remarked that it was 'Fat Boy Slim grows up!'
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 12 May 2013
'You Had It Coming' is an astonishing piece of work.Combining elements of techno,heavy metal,blues and Indian melody this is an album of such irresistible punch and drive that it resembles a musical runaway freight train. A million miles away from the jazz rock of 'Blow by Blow', 'You had it Coming' impresses with its stripped down sound,disciplined arrangements and playing.Having little in the way of soft edges, this platter may be too energetic and single-minded some.But for others, like me, it's very energy and the sense of risks being taken, makes it required listening.

I loved the beautiful 'Nadia;where Jeff uses his whammy bar and volume swells to achieve a violin like fluidity on the guitar.The reworking of the old fave 'Rollin' and Tumblin''reminds us that it is possible to revamp old blues tunes without losing their essence. Guitarists seeking further thrills should look out for 'Loose Cannon'
yet another textbook example of how Jeff can wrench emotion and the most unlikely of effects out of a guitar.

At 37 + mins, not the longest album around, but it's all good stuff. Recommended.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 August 2005
My husband loves everything guitar, and i smile and nod, but this album is a real musicians album. My favorite has to be 'Nadia', incidentally, i believe the original is by mercury award winning, asian contemporary musician, Nitin Sawhney on the album Beyond Skin (1999). Jeff Beck's guitar tone is so true to the original vocals, its unbelievable!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 September 2003
If you like guitar playing, then buy this album and any other JB album you can........ JB's playing on this album is quite amazing. "Nadia" is a real highlight, starting with some wonderful trademark Beck whammy work - No one on earth can play like this and that is a fact. Rather than be sad about the lack of soul in guitar music today, feel good about this great man and his timeless talent. "Earthquake" is just that........ Don't play this to your grandma! Take a car, (preferably your own) and slap this in the cd player and enjoy. The guitar sound is surprisingly dark on the heavier tracks, but beautifully ethereal on the more reflective numbers. Just buy and play..........
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)