Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Shop now Fitbit

Customer Reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
25
4.8 out of 5 stars
5 star
20
4 star
5
3 star
0
2 star
0
1 star
0
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£3.99+ £1.26 shipping

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 30 January 2004
The first I heard of musiq was his single halfcrazy from his second album juslisen. On hearing this I immediately rushed out and bought his first album, and the word "impressed" doesnt even come close to how i felt about this album. It is absolutely mind blowing!
There is a song in here for everyone, no matter who you are and how you're feelin'. From the comforting lyrics and mellow beat of "you be alright" to the super funky "just friends" which you will find yourself singin' away 2 at the best of times.
My personal favourites are:- girl next door, mary go round, 143, settle for my love and you be alright, but there is not a single song on the album that isnt excellent.
If You aint got this album, you better go and buy it! quickly!! A Good serving suggestion is to sit down and play this album all the way through in a mellow room with a nice cold alcoholic beverage of your choice and share the "soul" of musiq soulchild! ;o)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 August 2003
Musiq Soulchild has co-written and co-produced his first album and I am surprised he has not had more commercial success. His style is comparable to that of Stevie Wonder who he pays special thanks to in his credits.
His vocals glide smoothly through this album like a knife through warm butter. He has the ability to make the songs he’s singing all his own, with lyrics he seems to truly relate to.
In my opinion, this is more of a record that can be played as background music. There are no standout tracks as such, but each song adds its own specific quality to the album.
I have also purchased his second album, now under the guise of simply ‘Musiq’, which I feel offers slightly more. My recommendation is to buy the second album, called ‘Juslisen’, before this one. If you like what you hear, then ‘Aijuswanasing’ is a must – it’s chilled-out, smooth R&B!!
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 July 2004
this album seriously improved my life.
when im sad it makes me happy, when im happy it makes me ecstatic!it is the smoothest collection of songs i have heard in a long time and i havent stopped playin it since i bought it!it is one album that i continued to play through bad times and good.
musiq's voice is smooth and sexy his music is brilliant and he is destined for great things with talent like this.his second album is not so good in my eyes and to my ears but soul star and aijuswanasing are amazing.my favourite tracks are just friends, you be alright, and speechless on this album and for the night and soulstar on the soulstar album.
his influences are apparent and if you are a fan of soul, hip hop and old skool rnb they will be clear but his strength is found in how he has adapted and moulded his musical mentors work into his own unique, uplifting, unbeatable style.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2001
Yeah, this album is PHAT!, sit back press play and enjoy, you won't be dissapointed from the scratch intro right through to the last lyric of the last track(AIMEWITUE). I love it. Don't expect jump up and rah rah, this album is nothing but quality, Music & voice so sweet. For a debut this album is all that.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 April 2006
For a debut album no other word comes to mind but excellent! Mr Soulchild is here to let everyone know that, soul music still exists. 'Mary go Round' is no doubt the anthem of the album, but songs such as 'my girl', 'speechless' 'aimewittue' 'Love' & 'poparatzi' makes you appreciate soul for what it really is.

your music collection can never be complete without this album.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 January 2004
one of my boyz at work told me 2 get it and frm track 1 right thorugh 2 north star i love it!!! its nice 2 hear dat da soul aint dead. i love sunny (just friends), love iz jus 2 heavy!!!, paporatzi (my cuz tune!!!) i could go on an on dis album iz a must. u have 2 have it truss!!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 June 2003
Musiq Soulchild has co-written and co-produced his first album and I am surprised he has not had more commercial success.
His vocals glide smoothly through this album like a knife through warm butter. He has the ability to make the songs he’s singing all his own, with lyrics he seems truly passionate about.
In my opinion, this is more of a record that can be played as background music. Standout tracks are: 'Just Friends'; 'Speechless'; and 'Girl Next Door' - but each song adds its own specific quality to the album.
I have also purchased his second album, now under the guise of simply ‘Musiq’, which I feel offers slightly more. My recommendation is to buy the second album, called ‘Juslisen’, before this one. If you like what you hear, then ‘Aijuswanasing’ is a must – it’s chilled-out, smooth R&B!!
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 February 2001
What da blood...?! Why are you wasting precious listening time - go and buy this album...IMMEDIATELY! Musiq totally and utterly KILLED it with 'Aijuswannaseing'. From the wordplay of 143 (#means I Love You numerically#), to the booty-shaking, mind-boggling beat and candance of "Poparatzi" to the luscious ballads of songs like Settle For My Love and the heart-wrenching confusion of Mary-go-Round, this album is sooo...whole. You can tell Musiq really out his heart on the line with this album and any artist that exposes the soul like that can only receive genuine love.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 May 2001
This album will certainly be at the forefront of my collection for the lazy, warm Summer evenings as Lynden David Hall's last album was last year. It is full of relaxing and soothing r&b. Still, it can easily melt into the background and it is not a great album to listen to when you have nothing else to do and are concentrating on the music as it can get a bit boring. However, it is worth buying simply for the song Just Friends (Sunny) as this song is beautifully chilled and perfect for swaying to on a sunny afternoon.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 June 2001
An excellent album which continues to grow in its impact with each listen. I first encountered Musiq on Later with Jools Holland where he did a great rendition of the funk-filled groove "Girl Next Door" (co-written with Jill Scott). Other songs on the album are equally as good. "Speechless" has hip hop influences whilst "Just Friends" is a harmless happy track. I would recommend this to any R&B fan who likes decent creative music. This is music with a soul.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse


Customers also viewed these items

£5.46
£6.98
£8.22
£14.00

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)