Learn more Download now Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle The Grand Tour Prize Draw Learn more Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.6 out of 5 stars
54
4.6 out of 5 stars
She's So Unusual
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£10.74+ £1.26 shipping


TOP 500 REVIEWERon 30 April 2014
Ever since Cyndi Lauper first burst onto the scene, from this, her record-breaking 1983 debut album, to her Grammy and Tony Award-winning Broadway play "Kinky boots", her continuous work as a LGBT rights activist, as well as her current stint as a special guest on Cher's Dressed To Kill Tour, she has kept singing and dancing, with her unruly energy and nutty outfits, remaining just as strong today as she did back then. The 10 original songs on here are already familiar to those who have enjoyed them the first time around, but for new listeners who are familiar only with the hit singles, each of the songs are enjoyable in their own way. Here lies the enduring strength of this bright set of colorful numbers fusing pop, new wave, post-punk, reggae, and funk. Accompanied by Lauper's unique appearance and distinctive thin, girly voice, it helped popularize the image of punk and new wave for America and the rest of the world, influencing artists and listeners alike, and marking a whole new era for the pop landscape.

This groundbreaking album produced 4 Top 5 hits (a record for a woman at the time), earned Cyndi 2 Grammys, and went multi-platinum in many countries. To celebrate this iconic debut, this fantabulous 2-disc anniversay edition presents new remixes, live tracks, early demos and studio outtakes, and a 20-page booklet with previously unseen photos, and a brand new essay from the co-author of Cyndi's autobiography. And, to top it all off, the show-stealer is a re-usable sticker set, with vinyl cut outs of Cyndi's outfits and accessories that can be arranged on a 3D fold-out backdrop of the bedroom featured in her "Girls just wanna have fun" video! It does not matter that the new remixes sound out of touch with the original set, or that songs of that period like "Goonies" and "What a thrill" are not included. This is an exquisite package, lovingly and carefully assembled down to the last detail. It remains a benchmark of the early '80s, and it is a perfect accompaniment for every '80s-enthusiast, fun-loving, fashion-fannatic.

**** for the album
***** for this edition
review imagereview image
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 16 June 2014
First bought this album cd - circa 1989.some sort of a cd re-issues I seemed to remember.
Now it has received the deluxe re-vamp all these years later,I love it even more this time around.
Cyndi lauper is on fire; her rebellious girls just wanna have fun,is her reposte to overbearing,over-protective and condescending parents.
All the other tracks including money changes everything and time after time are outstanding.A truly wonderful debut album and with full essay, 'lobby cards' and bonus disc of out-takes,an excellent re-issue.
NB :The only downside I can find,is the omission of any lyrics..But you can't have everything I suppose.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 June 2016
Some album !!! Reminds me of them "good ol' days", my childhood, long hot Summers, when shoulders were big, colours were loud and hair was bigger .. Cyndi would be known for 'Girls just wanna have fun', but there is so much more to her than that. The beautiful 'Time after Time' is here too as is She Bop but for me the highlight is a cover of Prince's 'when you were mine', a driving beat and tempo I imagine it to been played loud in many a roller disco back in them 1980's. Cyndi will not thank thank me for saying this, but she remninds me of the fun, of the colour of the days when MTV played music and when we were smart and our phones were dumb.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 April 2009
PLEASE NOTE: THIS REVIEW IS FOR 'SHE'S SO UNUSUAL' ONLY:

Cyndi Lauper's debut album.

When she first stormed onto 'Top Of The Pops' with the fabulously catchy 'Girls Just Want To Have Fun', I guess we all knew she was already here to stay!

Cyndi has a tremendous voice that can attach itself to both emotional ballads as well as her catchy pop numbers. Bearing in mind that Cyndi was no 'chicken' when she made it big, it is ever a credit to her that she appealed to the audiences she did at the time in her early days. Now, she is a well-respected and much acclaimed Singer with tremendous versatility.

Here in her debut album you will acquire her two major hits from 1984 and a collection of seven other great and well-sung numbers!

Great stuff!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2001
I distinctly remember, at the tender age of 12, receiving as a gift the vinyl version of She's So Unusual in 1984. Cyndi Lauper was all the rage then; her garish, multicoloured costumes in her frequently aired videos made her one of the more popular female artists in 1984 (possible even more popular than Madonna in that year). Many years after last listening to that vinyl record, I became reaquainted with She's So Unusual on this CD. The music is as dynamic and fresh today as it was back in 1984. I'm sure most people are familiar with the gimicky Girls Just Want to Have Fun, but the rest of the tracks are just as wonderful in their own way. From the beautifully sad ballad Time After Time to the bouncy She Bop, this album is a wonderful showcase for Cyndi Lauper (who unfortunately has never been able to duplicate this first success), and for 80's pop in general. Also included are live versions of Money Changes Everything, She Bop and All Through The Night - excellent additions for the serious fan.
Buy it...and step back in time to a wonderful era in music....
0Comment| 12 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 April 2009
Cyndi Lauper's debut album.

When she first stormed onto 'Top Of The Pops' with the fabulously catchy 'Girls Just Want To Have Fun', I guess we all knew she was already here to stay!

Cyndi has a tremendous voice that can attach itself to both emotional ballads as well as her catchy pop numbers. Bearing in mind that Cyndi was no 'chicken' when she made it big, it is ever a credit to her that she appealed to the audiences she did at the time in her early days. Now, she is a well-respected and much acclaimed Singer with tremendous versatility.

Here in her debut album you will acquire her two major hits from 1984 and a collection of seven other great and well-sung numbers!

Great stuff!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 12 April 2009
Cyndi Lauper's debut album.

When she first stormed onto 'Top Of The Pops' with the fabulously catchy 'Girls Just Want To Have Fun', I guess we all knew she was already here to stay!

Cyndi has a tremendous voice that can attach itself to both emotional ballads as well as her catchy pop numbers. Bearing in mind that Cyndi was no 'chicken' when she made it big, it is ever a credit to her that she appealed to the audiences she did at the time in her early days. Now, she is a well-respected and much acclaimed Singer with tremendous versatility.

Here in her debut album you will acquire her two major hits from 1984 and a collection of seven other great and well-sung numbers!

Great stuff!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 January 2014
Another one of those iconic albums from the 80's as the music world was transformed into a brand new style of pop/rock
music by major artist as Michael Jackson,Lionel Richie,Prince,Chaka Khan,Tina Turner to mention a few.Cyndi Lauper is a
mixture of these blends and possess a very unusual vocal style indeed.This being her debut album which earned her many
awards including Grammys is a priced gem that fits in perfectly to the catastrophy.once again had to wait for 28 years to get it and it's well worth it.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 22 December 2003
Cyndi Lauper's popularity rested on the zany, frenetic hit "Girls Just Want To Have Fun," her dirty little secret meaning song "She Bop," and her debut hit "All Through the Night," all of which made it to the Billboard Top 5 But her reputation as a musical artist rests more on "Time After Time," her one #1 hit off of the album. Of course, Lauper did not write "Girls," that would be Robert Hazard, but she did co-write "Time" with Rob Hyman of the Hooters, but her willingness to cover that diverse a ground musically meant she could not be dismissed as a person of garish appearance (she was sort of the female Boy George, if you can wrap your mind around such an idea). "She's So Unusual" is an appropriate title for this above average debut album, which sold 5 million copies and made Lauper one of the biggest stars of the early MTV period with her thin, girlish voice and rag-tag appearance. In fact, it is really one of the defining albums of the early 1980s, with its colorful new wave fusion of a whole bunch of musical styles. Unfortunately, Lauper was not able to come anywhere near as close with her subsequent albums, which saw a shift to more mainstream pop ballads.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 January 2015
almost a best of collection of her best material ever..
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)