Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.8 out of 5 stars
28
4.8 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£12.85+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 18 March 2001
This is easily one of the best dance albums ever to be created. It combines pounding techno drum beats with hugely atmospheric and chilled out samples to create the best dance you'll ever hear. I'm not saying this is better than their other offerings, which are all brilliant, but I wouldn't really classify them as dance, more 'electronica'. There is only 1 bad track, which is 'walk now', so just skip that one. Tracks 3-6 are all mixed into each other, and are just absolutely incredible. There's also the mesmerisingly beautiful 'halcyon' which I think is the best dance song ever made. Basically, this album is fantastic, and you can always find it for cheap, so no-one should be without it, unless they have an absolute hatred of dance music. and even then they should at least borrow it.
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 2 November 2003
Songs sound better structured than before and have a much more lasting affect on the listener.
'Lush 3-1' is one of the best songs on the album, but for the real highlight listen to 'Halcyon'. This is one of my favourite Orbital tracks. Starting off with a solo sample of Kirsty Hawkshaw, the song builds into one of those memorable songs you will be humming for days.
A great album.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 August 2011
Albums one and two (affectionately known as the green and brown albums) are milestone releases, bringing us a fresh new look at what had become tired old electronica. Out with all that weary predictable stuff like chord progressions, string pads, and electronic choirs - and in with bright, sharp industrial melodies, brimming percussion lines, and infinitely unusual track titles. This is electronica as it should be, fresh and original and certainly not just a copy of some other band or artist. A real shame the brothers just gave up and started pressing buttons at the end of 1990s - monkeys throwing banana skins at phone boxes could have done better.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 April 2016
The greatest album from the greatest electronic band of all time. Absolute genius!
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2000
DJing in Glasgow around 1993 I found a promo of Halcyon on a trip to Edinburgh. The track contains a sample from Opus III "Its a fine day" backwards - somehow it works, like their live version that combined Blinda Carlise "Ooh baby" - If you like modern dance/techno that breaks the mould - this is one of those that set the scene for the late ninetys and beyond. A must buy.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 November 2014
Excellent album, probably Orbital's best
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 May 2007
I must admit the first song I heard from Orbital was Halcyon + On + On, which still remians my favourite Orbital song (despite this being the only Orbital CD I own - they are very hard to find in Australia).

The first truly great track is Planet Of The Shapes, which seems to be all about maths and physics, which is fine for me because I do have an advanced degree in science (soon). Lush 3-1 and Lush 3-2 retain the high quiality of the previous tracks, but as stated earlier Halcyon + On + On is the best track on offer. It begins very light and atmospheric, but it takes you to another dimention when the bass enters, and is simply the best techno song ever, not that it defines the gener by any means.

Highly recommended for anybody

9 / 10
11 Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 28 April 2013
I'm new to this band and think both this and wonky are brilliant. I would strongly recommend them to anyone.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 26 July 2014
excellent quality
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 August 2015
Great album
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here