Learn More Shop now Shop now Shop Fire Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
214
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£3.28+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 1 March 2006
this is a good film for 3 reasons,
1) its simplicity, there are no dramatic twists or moments in the film where you have to ask yourself "what the hell's going on?!" this does however make the film somewhat predictable, it has lost a star for this reason however.
2) excellent british cast. ray winstone, jude law, johnny lee miller, kathy burke, rhys ifans, etc. all are brilliant and the roles played by the operation good guys crew are fabulous. very well acted by all involved.
3) this film is so funny!! it works on the level that it never takes itself too seriously as a gangster film and this allows for some humourous slapstick comedy! i wouldn't call it a spoof though (to say it does to gangster films what 'scary movie' done to horror films is a bit wide of the mark) as it comes across as too avantgarde for that.
overall this is a class bit of film-making and although some people may not find it very rewarding in terms of the plot, it has enough laugh out loud moments to keep even the harshest of critics entertained for 90 mins.
0Comment| 26 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 29 September 2011
Bored with his hum-drum life as a North London postman, Jonny approaches his pal Jude about getting in with the North London Mob run by Jude's uncle Ray. After winning favour with Ray by bringing a credit card scam into the gang, Jonny starts to spice things up by causing trouble with the rival mob from South London. But although Jonny has won respect from his fellow gang members, he's also getting ideas above his station, and it's not long before his actions put everyone in danger, including their families.

So a load of well known British actors make a humorous tongue in cheek satire of the gangster genre, and many failed to get it. Working from a very basic plot and script, directors and writers Dominic Anciano and Ray Burdis gathered the likes of Ray Winstone, Sadie Frost, Jonny Lee Miller, Jude Law, Rhy Ifans, Kathy Burke and Sean Pertwee. And let them run with it. Creating a funny ad-libbed picture that the cast clearly enjoyed making, and really the viewers should be in on the joke as well. Anyone expecting some hard edged Brit gangster film are in for a big disappointment, there is violence and there are drugs, but nothing here is designed for shock value. This really is a fun movie, slyly poking the ribs of gangs and their bosses whilst cutely reminding all that families get involved as well. From the use of Viagra to karaoke sequences, Love, Honour and Obey is a British treasure that has been badly misunderstood. If the fact that the coup de grace at the finale is played out in fancy dress doesn't tell you that it has been taking the urine, well you have walked down the wrong garden path. 8/10
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2006
No I don't know what that means, and neither does Ray Kreed, Daddy of the North London boys. Facing Ray across the river is Sean and the South London boys, a man of taste with his decent champagne, his classy bars, and his tendency to make up words as he goes along.

Love, Honour & Obey is a gangster movie following the progress of Johnny (Johnny Lee Miller) in joining his mate Jude's gang (Jude Law) headed up by Ray Kreed (Ray Winstone - who else). They run scams, they fight with South London and throughout it all Fat Alan gets stabbed, beaten up, drugged, forced to eat dog food, and blown up until he thinks it's about time he gets another line of work.

A London Gangster movie with an edge overlaid with some highly funny moments, particularly the boys disguised as arabs trying to knick a load of diamonds after taking some viagra. Clearly made on the cheap - why spend the wedge when you don't need to - and stuffed with cracking one liners and some karaoke performances that stun - Sean and Trevors "Fireball XL5" duet and the opening "Avenues and Alleyways" by the North London Mob musically punctuate a great movie.

Special moments include Kath & Ray (the other Ray) solving his erectile dysfunction and Fat Alan demonstrating his hand to hand combat skills and ending up in hospital. A raft of great performances in a film appeared in, written and directed by Dominic Anciano and Ray Burdis, writers of "Operation Good Guys" and "Final Cut".

I loved this film, I've watched it many times and the one liners never fail to make me laugh, especially Ray Kreed to the TV Soap Director "Shut up you, you're fat and I'll throw you in the river" - I suppose you had to be there.
11 comment| 23 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 18 June 2014
I didn't expect a whole lot from this 2000 British gangster comedy, but I was completely won over after like 5 minutes and I really had a mighty good time watching it! Below, more of my impressions, with some very limited SPOILERS.

This film begins with Jonny (Jonny Lee Miller), who works as a postman, becoming increasingly dissatisfied with his life. He asks finally his school friend Jude (Jude Law) to help him join the North London criminal gang run by his uncle Ray (Ray Winstone). And I will not say anything more about the story...

The cast includes many members of Primrose Hill set, as other than Jonny Lee Miller and Jude Law, already mentioned, we have here Rhys Ifans, Sadie Frost and Sean Pertwee. Both directors, Dominic Anciano and Ray Burdis also appear in the film.

This film is a comedy and it is clear that everybody involved in it had GREAT TIME playing in it. OK, granted, not all the jokes fly very high, as some of them concern the impotence problem of one of the characters, but it is an exception rather than the rule. In fact most of the dialogs are very funny, without being unnecessarily obscene and good one liners appear every minute or so. This film also features possibly the most hilarious gang war I saw, on the same level of humour as the one in this old 1963 French classic "Les tontons flingueurs"...)))

Another treasure of this film is the great soundtrack, mostly in form of really amazing karaoke...)))

And yet there also some more serious moments, which remind quite usefully that even if we make comedies about gangsters, the topic is not exactly funny in itself - some characters are tortured and others end by being killed in this film, in an ugly way... The whole plot also contains a more serious element, warning in fact that when you want to play with fire, it is unavoidable that you will burn yourself - especially if you have ambitions to be some kind of Tony Montana...

Bottom line, this is an excellent, mightily entertaining film. I will keep the DVD for a future viewing. ENJOY!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 May 2005
Nearly every sentance said by the characters are all part of the comedy of the film. Anyone with a slight sense of humour will love this film and give it at least four stars.
Great choice of actors for a London gangster movie, some of the actors added their own sense of humour to the script.
Don't get me wrong this isn't just a load of funny crap, its a serious film with LOTS of black comedy and just generally funny and cool lines. You will keep repeating lines said by characters to your friends and will never forget them.
Watch it once and you will probably think it's good. Watch it twice you will think it's brilliant.
0Comment| 18 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 December 2003
THIS IS ONE OF THE BEST BRITISH FILMS EVER. FACT. i'm serious, i've watched it soo many times.
It's essentially two rival London gangs - North Vs. South. Young boy Jonny - a new recruit - takes it upon himself to set a turf war between the two - playing them off against each other. His counterpart in the other gang is of equal insanity and so the chaos kicks off.
It's violent, exciting, tense, funny, and even thought-provoking in some places - particularly the end. The acting is fantastic and the storyline is very beleivable.
The actors are incredible, the director couldn't have chosen anybody who would have suited the jobs better.
It's also a film with loads of memorable quotes in it, things you'll find yourself saying again and again.
Another great point is the fact that there is absolutley NO CHEESE what so ever in the film - it's all top quality. Buy it - honestly - you WON'T regret it.
0Comment| 13 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 February 2007
When my wife suggested we watch this movie, I wasn't too keen. I'm very glad I did watch it, from the opening karaoke scene this film is a good old fashioned british mob movie.

It's incredibly funny at times, and the humour very black, but its just sooooo good! Ray Winstone is exceptional as the east end mob boss 'Ray' and Jude Law is also up there as his nephew 'Jude'. Ray Burdis is brilliant as Ray's second-in-command (also called Ray) who has erection problems, and spends most of the film wondering how he's going to satisfy his wife, played by the always funny Kathy Burke.

Most of the film tends to centre around a new boy to the gang - played by Jonny Lee Miller - who manages to get accepted into the east end gang, only to cause problems when he takes out two gang members from the south london gang, led by Sean Pertwee.

One of the funniest bits is the gun battle which takes place in a timber yard - Watch the film, and you'll see what I mean.

Other people starring in this film are Denise van Outen, Laila Morse (Mo' in eastenders) and also happens to be the sister of Gary Oldman! Rhys Ifans also appears.

One of the best british films in a long time, in my opinion.
0Comment| 9 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 15 February 2006
This is a wonderful film. There's humour amongst the macho-posteuring of the "heavies", and the daftness of how even "hard men" can mess up an easy "sort-out" made me laugh out loud. No one tries to out-act or ham it up; it's like being in the same room as them because it's nicely understated when needed.
The humour is excellent.
Buy this film - you won't be disappointed.
0Comment| 17 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 October 2000
Low-budget. Yes. Low-publicity. Definately. Rubbish. It is certainly not. This gem of a film is a feast for all those Lock, Stock-a-holics who can't get enough of the new wave of London gangster movies. If it's a recipe of violence, action, excitement and comedy that tantalises your cinematic taste buds then look no further and serve up this feast of a movie. The cast features many familiar faces from the UK's stable of acting talent. Denise van Outen also stars. Jude Law portrays the up-and-coming vilain superbly, Jonny Lee Miller is brilliant as the lunatic wanna be and Ray Winstone is awesome as the guv'nor. Support roles by Kathy Burke, Sean Pertwee and Rhys Ifans (to name but a few) are equally flawless. Many missed this film on the big screen. Be sure not to miss out on the small-screen release.
0Comment| 20 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
TOP 500 REVIEWERon 22 February 2013
'Love, Honour and Obey' is a very good British comedy gangster film with an impressive cast of well known actors playing the leads.

The plot is simple, a young lad called Johnny (Johnny Lee Miller) is unhappy with his life and job and so asks his friend Jude (Jude Law) to help him become a member of a London gang run by his uncle Ray (Ray Winstone). Once accepted into the gang, Johnny starts to make mistakes and after a mutual dislike develops between him and another gangster (Rhys Ifans), he starts a war with a rival gang, lead by Sean (Sean Pertwee).

Despite the fact that most of the film is far fetched and unrealistic, it simply doesn't matter because although it's far from thought provoking, what makes the movie special is how stylish and hilarious it is. There is a lot of black humour mixed in with a good soundtrack of 1970s hits (usually performed and sang by the cast themselves) and all of the characters are very much tongue in cheek.

'Love, Honour and Obey' is a funny and entertaining little gem. It wasn't very likely to win an Oscar, but it's good fun.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)