Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
85
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£8.11+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 1000 REVIEWERon 1 January 2015
People's views on this 1987 American political thriller usually revolve around what they make of the final twist which comes a few minutes from the end of the movie. It certainly upends your views of the main characters and there are only a few clues in the earlier events which hint at it. That makes the final twist rather jarring and for me, therefore, all the more enjoyable especially as once you know it, some of the apparently improbable coincidences earlier in the story become much more believable as the result of someone's deliberate positioning of themselves.

But even if you don't like the final twist, there's much to enjoy in the run up, all of which is based on the novel The Big Clock with the key idea of the central character (an American naval officer played by Kevin Costner in the movie) finding themselves in charge of an investigation to identify someone... who in fact they know secretly is themselves.

Gene Hackman's acting as the American politician however steals the movie for me, with its adept showing of both the good and bad sides of politicians, making his character a plausible flawed human and neatly switching between gravitas and shrunken vulnerability as the plot progresses. The different ways he sits in his office chair to match the changing character are a brilliant little demonstration of acting skill.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 3 April 2017
Firstly I'm going to admit that Kevin Costner is one of my favourite actors so obviously I had to buy this. The story is good and the cast is two. It is fast paced and edgy. Great film
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 March 2017
My favorite Kevin Costner thriller. While it starts a little slow, he suspense is terrific once it gets going.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 June 2017
added to my collection
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2017
Brought for my brother, he loves it.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 May 2017
fine
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 22 July 2017
Good film, good supplier, will use again.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 July 2017
excellent
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 December 2004
Kevin Costner, Will Patton, Sean Young, Iman, Gene Hackman. Costner plays a Naval Officer (Farrell) working a tour in Intelligence at the Pentagon. He's having an affair with the mistress of the Secretary of State for Defence. Then she turns up dead, and Farrell finds himself in charge of the investigation to find her killer - only he's the one in the frame. Very competent, understated thriller: a welcome break from the hysterical spy films of today. Gene Hackman (as the SecState) and Will Patton (his Special Counsel) both lend solid support. The best Costner film I've seen.
0Comment| 28 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
No Way Out is an excellent reworking of The Big Clock, moved from a 1940s publishing building to the Pentagon of the 1980s, with Kevin Costner charged with finding the killer of his girlfriend, who also happens to be the Defense Secretary's mistress, with all the clues leading to a fall guy who'll never live long enough to be charged: himself. Despite a few very Eighties moments (seduction in the back of a Limo to the accompaniment of a forgettable power ballad the most laughable), it's still a well crafted thriller that cranks up the tension even if it has a couple of overly obvious moments. And there's no way you can tell me that Will Patton's increasingly obsessive gay assistant to Hackman's politico isn't clearly the model for the fawning Smithers in The Simpsons.

MGM/UA's DVD has a good widescreen transfer that's unfortunately non-anamorphioc, but the only extra is a brief trailer. Shout Factory's US Region A-locked Bluray offers an audio commentary by director Roger Donaldson as well as the trailer.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)