Shop now Shop now</arg> Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Listen with Prime Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.5 out of 5 stars
30
4.5 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£10.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 31 May 2001
This film is NOT about baseball, you could transplant it with any professional sport. Baseball works because it has plenty of time within the game that allow's Costners character to reflect on the passing of his professional career and how he has got to this point.
The Flashbacks are done superbly, they start off rose-tinted but as the film progresses reality enters, showing what little regard he had for anyone around him, and he has to question "Was it worth it?"
Sam Raimi has crafted a great film about the selfishness of professional sportsmen. The only problem was part of the Romantic thread of the story, it worked for the most part, but part of it just didnt ring true especially at the end. If you watch it you'll see what I mean, I kept expecting her to say "you had me at Hello". This looked like a nice tidy add-on forced by the studio, who seem to think that the guy should always get the girl.
Sam Raimi has shown with this and A simple plan, that he is an accomplished filmmaker, who isnt afraid to take time to build the characters, so we actually care what happens to them.
0Comment| 7 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 March 2004
for love of the game is a true lovestory

billy chapel a famous baseball player falls in love with jayne who also falls in love with him but jayne comes second in billys life baseball comes first
it is mainly flashbacks of how they met and how billy treated jayne the end is perfect and just how i hoped
a perfect film of romance if you however wanted to see the baseball i would not watch this if i were you only brief bits are shown
a perfect performance from the cast espescially kevin costner (billy chapel)
i have bought this film a year ago and are still watchin it now buy it and you will know why
0Comment| 11 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 October 2002
Ok, so Kevin Costner doesn't always make great movies but he always makes great BASEBALL movies ! "For Love Of The Game" will probably be the epitaph etched on Costner's headstone because he truly does love the game of Baseball ... and it shows.
This is the third film in Costner's Baseball "Trilogy" and, like it's predecessors "Bull Durham" and "Field of Dreams" it demonstrates the actor's knowledge of and feeling for the subject matter. He was by all accounts a more than useful player in his youth and this experience is put to good use as he stars as Billy Chapel, a veteran Pitcher with the Detroit Tigers, who is coming to the end of his big-league career. The film regularly flashes back through Chapel's on-off relationship with his long-term girlfriend {Kelly Preston} but the romantic scenes don't detract from the action sequences which see Billy taking the mound at Yankee Stadium for what may well be the final nine innings of an illustrious twenty-year career with his beloved Tigers. Near the end of the film, both Billy's career and relationship are on the line and the climax is exactly what you'd expect but no less dramatic for that. This film works on a number of levels - the romantic stuff isn't mushy or overplayed and the Baseball scenes are extremely realistic and cleverly filmed. Anyone who's ever seen a game at Yankee Stadium will immediately recognise the .. err .. unique atmosphere generated by the New York fans !
At the end of the day , if you're a Baseball Nut you'll love this film because no-one does it better than Kevin and even if you've no interest in the game, there's enough of a sub-plot to hold your attention.
I loved it, Jonathan Ross {apparently} loved it and so will you !
0Comment| 10 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 April 2001
An easy watching light hearted romance that everybody should be able to relate to. Kevins performance was to his normal standard of shear brilliance. If you can keep up with Here and Now flash back story then you should have no problem with is, It uplifting and makes us all look at the decisions we make in life and the loved ones that occaisionally get forgotten and taken for granteed when we become obsessed with our own success.
Definately a must if you have not yet seen
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 February 2007
I love baseball, I love Costner sports movies and I love the Detroit Tigers.

Guess what? I loved this film. Sure there are bits and pieces to quibble about (hence 4 stars rather than 5) but it's a good story that has been given a good treatment. It clearly shows the not so lovable side of sportsmen alongside all the great stuff, which I think is what makes it so compelling.

I will be watching this film and enjoying it for many years.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2013
I didn`t know what to expect from this film,as i hadn`t heard about it.I was looking for a baseball film to put on my tablet for a trip away.Having watched it,i was not dissapointed,a very good film,and not just for baseball fans.My daughter came down with tears having watched it,and thats not happened a lot.Very enjoyable
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 November 2000
I have been a fan of the Costner "sport" movies (Field of Dreams, Tin Cup etc) for a long time and looked forward to seeing this. Unfortunately as much as I tried to like this movie, I found it too long and with too much emphasis on the Baseball elements, which is great if you like the game, but I just wonder about European audiences. It centres on Billy Chapel, who, in rapid succession, is presented with a number of live-changing choices, Does he follow his girlfirend to London and a new life, does he prolong his baseball career and finally does he opt to finish his last game in glory. The film is full of flashbacks as he reviews last few years of his life. And those flashbacks also present a problem for the film, it causes it to lack continuity and comes across somewhat muddled. Having said that the performances are good from Costner & Preston. But if you are looking for soulsearching impact of Field of Dreams, or the triumphalism over the final scenes of Tin Cup, you will be dissappointed. Finally if you love baseball, you will love this, if you don't you may find it too slow and drawn out. I did my best to like it, but ultimately was dissappointed.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 June 2016
Vastly underrated finale (perhaps?) of the KC baseball trilogy, with Bull Durham, and Field Of Dreams, and containing the most accurate baseball action ever filmed, as well as an insight into the psychology of top sportsmen, matched only by Any Given Sunday. It helps, of course, that Costner really can throw the ball. The love story, is the only possible weakness, but Kelly Preston, and Jena Malone are superb, and the relationship angle manages, just, to stay the right side of soap. The growing relationship between Costner and Malone, in particular, feels very genuine. It isn't as good as Bull Durham, or Field Of Dreams, as a movie but knocks them out of the park when it comes to the sporting action. Well worth a (re)visit.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 May 2013
A baseball Costner movie with romantic drama. you needn't know baseball to enjoy this chic flick but don't expect too much comedy.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 27 July 2015
Not Costner’s most famous movie – that has to be Field of Dreams – but this is a clever baseball film in which Kevin Costner’s character is pitching his final major league game. The action flits from the present, in which Costner’s Detroit Tigers are taking on the New York Yankees, and the past, exploring Costner’s life as a baseball player and his on-off relationship with is girlfriend. Baseball knowledge isn’t necessary – although you might not fully understand the on-pitch action, it’s pretty clear that Costner is having a decent game – because the central aspect to the story is that of Costner’s searching for happiness, self-esteem and love from his partner.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items


Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)