Shop now Shop now Shop now See more Shop all Amazon Fashion Cloud Drive Photos Shop now Learn More Shop now DIYED Shop now Shop Fire Shop Kindle Shop now Shop now Shop now

Customer Reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
54
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£9.59+ £1.26 shipping
Your rating(Clear)Rate this item


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 12 October 2013
this is a great film, weird & wonderful. japanese classics on BFI are always well done with good subtitles and production values but often discs are wonky: they freeze or skip and need to be returned. amazon is always very good about replacements, but this has happened twice already with my BFI discs so beware.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
These 1961 and 1962 Akira Kurosawa Samurai films are presently only available on ‘BLU RAY’ in the States - “Yojimbo” on a single BLU RAY issue - and a further double that combines both movies. But therein lies a problem for UK and European buyers with either release…

Both editions of the US BLU RAY are REGION-A LOCKED - so it WILL NOT PLAY on most UK BLU RAY players unless they're chipped to play 'all' regions (which the vast majority aren't). Don’t confuse BLU RAY players that have multi-region capability on the 'DVD' front – that won’t help.

Until such time as someone on this side of the pond like say the BFI gives these Black and White gems a REGION B release – check your BLU RAY player has the capacity to play REGION A – before you buy the pricey Criterion issues…
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 18 June 2011
This is quality. Toshiro Mifune is excellent and believable as the wandering samurai and the rest of the casting is top notch. It's such an interesting area - the Japanese Western/East meets West/Oriental Cowboy. A very good film - well filmed and directed, it's a must have for film lovers I would say. So glad to have found it here on Amazon and to have it in my collection.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 20 July 2000
This is one of the great all time films, in fact to keep me riveted for over two hours in grainy, subtitled, black and white it has to be. The superior inspiration for Sergio Leone's 'For a Fistful of Dollars', which is a classic in its own right. The acting is outstanding with Toshiro Mifune in the lead roll and a well organised supporting cast and the strength of the main character puts Leone's copy to shame. The film keeps moving along at a good pace and there are very few lulls in which you can get distracted. All in all a great film.
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 24 March 2007
Its no wonder that Sergio Leone used every last detail of Yojimbo to write A Fist Full of Dollars this film is bordering on perfection.

Toshiro Mifune tosses a stick in the air to see in which way to travel and the rest is straight out of legend.

The film has its comic moments,all the baddies look like they have come from a horror movie set,one in particular looks like Lurch from the Adams family but the entire plot down to the finest detail was used by Leone for his first Dollar film.

Mifune sucks on a straw whilst Clint sucks on a cheroot,even Wanderdios the crazy bell ringer is there and the undertaker.

Yojimbo is the film A Fist Full of Dollars should have been.Leones first outing lacks the style and cinematography of the final two but Yojimbo in Japanese ranks alongside Throne of Blood as one of the greatest Japanese films of all time.The atmosphere and comic dialogue is one of a master director at work and the film sets and special effects are trully excellent.

If there is only one Kirosawa film you should see then Yojimbo is it because the atmosphere and acting especially by Mifune are of the highest standard.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
Bought two copies, one for my father, and one for my self.

I had been looking for it, for a while, since no one else would send it out of UK.

The DVD worked without any problems.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2015
watching this akira korosawa film first (excuse my spelling please) was probably a bad idea, since now all my opinions of his other films lay on the comparison of this film. this is unfair considering this and possibly the bad sleep well or seven samurai, is like his opus. must watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 1 July 2004
Don't buy this or experience the rage I felt when seeing BFI slaughter this Kurasawa classic. Out of about 200 dvds this the only one where the picture is so shockingly bad that you can't even see what's going on. HOW DID BFI GET AWAY WITH IT, IT IS A DISGRACE. I mean, don't get me wrong their treatment of all the Kurasawa films is of blasphemous proportions but this is beyond belief. Who do they think they are releasing it in the first place and amazon should really review the price they've put on this. I WOULDN'T PAY 2p FOR IT GIVEN THE SECOND CHANCE. Sadly I never thought that a film dvd company would ever show such a lack of consideration for it's customer and I paid £20 for it. Don't I feel like a fool. DON'T MAKE THE SAME MISTAKE.
33 comments| 40 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 4 June 2007
I never tire of watching this film. Mifune is here at his best, as the rogue ronin who manages to manipulate effectively and eventually eliminate two different gangs of criminals in a small Japanese village in order to liberate the subdued villagers. Mifune's Yojimbo is a cynical, misanthropic wandering samurai who helps out the villagers for no apparent reason.

It is easy to see how Clint Eastwood modeled some of his gunslinging cowboys on Mifune's incredible rendition.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 March 2015
This is what you would expect from Kurosawa, its visually witty and I imagine that the language is probabley witty too but the subtitles sometimes seem wrong to me. The actual quality of the picture is quite poor being somewhat dark.
Its a good story and the expressions on the faces is joy to behold. Would be nice if processed to improve the quality of the picture,
Will buy others.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)