Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Learn More Shop now Shop Women's Shop Men's

Customer reviews

4.4 out of 5 stars
14
4.4 out of 5 stars
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£6.02+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 19 August 2017
Largely does what it says with some interesting oldies.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 December 2000
I was at first put off by some of the comments above, but after having bought this CD I can only recommend it. Most of the tracks were new to me as I'm not very familiar with the genre, but there are some fantastic tracks on there! Also, it's interesting to listen to how these songs have been sampled by modern-day artists. This CD is well worth the money, and I eagerly await volume 2!
0Comment| 6 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 5 November 2000
Believe me this is a truly amazing compilation and at the price absurd value for money! This quite simply blows other breakbeat compilation specialists out of the water (Harmless, Strut, etc, etc). Out of the forty tracks there is a truly eclectic mixture of the arcane (Reggae great Max Romeo, Patti Page, Bob Dorough.... who??? exactly!), grooving (Chic, Lyn Collins, Diana Ross(!), Carly Simon(!!!)), jazzy (Herbie Hancock, Billy Cobham, Quincy Jones), and just for a couple of tunes the not very good (step up Neneh Cherry, Carol Williams). The compiler (Alex Macnutt) though has got the balance just right with just a few truly off-beat tracks dispersed throughout the two CD's to throw things off-kilter now and then and keep things from getting monotonous. The first CD has a funky bias whilst the latter CD a slightly more jazzy vibe. The only slight criticism I've got perhaps is that some of the longer tracks have been edited down to fit onto the CDs, this is particularly noticable on the jazz tracks where some final chorus's have been edited out (prime culprits: Cantaloupe Island and the Creative Source track). This is minor though since both CD's are packed to the rafters with quality music and so longer tracks would result in less tracks overall and all of them are pretty much long enough to give you the basic idea. Standouts are many and include William de Vaughn, Camille Yarborough, Labi Siffre, and most of all Marlena Shaw's "Woman of the Ghetto" which is worth the price alone (sensibly its not been edited down - very good move!!!) - a truly staggering track! In conclusion: get this CD now. I reckon the best purchase of a compilation CD I've made this year, I just hope this is the first in a series of many.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 February 2001
'Sampled' is probably one of the best compliation albums I own at present, and even if old skool funk, soul and disco is not your 'thang', I am sure you will appreciate this record for what it is. It takes some of the most well known tracks in contemporary music,such as Fatboy Slim's 'Praise You', and Moby's 'Natural Blues', and unearths the classic tracks behind them, that efectively made them hits. You have the likes of Diana Ross, Chic and Isaac Hayes - classics, and once again hits in their own right. 'Sampled' honours these items of music which, until now, have been lost in music. It is an insight into the culture of sampling, and is proof that as far as music is concerned, 2001 is going to be gettin' it on with all things groovy!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 6 November 2000
Listening to this double cd reminds me of just how creative people can be when it comes to sampling these days. With the likes of Moby and Fatboy Slim constructing records around the most obscure recordings, it brings artists which before were not well known into the mainstream. Some of these are well known, any excuse to put Chic and other 70's classics is a good one. Some you'll recognise straightway where the whole song is sampled, others are a bit more tricky where only snippetts are used. All in all an excellent collection for the trainspotter and the casual music listener alike..and with 40 tracks at close to 160 minutes, good value as well...Sliced Tomatoes by the Just Brothers is worth the money alone!
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 25 March 2016
As the wonderfully named Alex Macnutt somewhat sheepishly acknowledges at the start of a short sleeve-note which accompanies this 40 track double CD: “this isn’t the first album to unearth a selection of original samples people have used.” To an extent he is right. It’s hardly the first time that James Brown’s ‘Funky Drummer’ has found its way on to the running order of such a compilation. But he needn’t be quite so modest. Just because it hasn’t come out a self-consciously hip label like Ace – as the Super Breaks series did - doesn’t mean that it doesn’t do ithe job just as well.

The album showcases a whole host of disco, jazz, funk, and soul originals that are superb tracks in their own right. Highlights include: Max Romeo and the Upsetters's god-fearing ‘Chase the Devil’; Sly Johnson’s self-questioning ‘Is It Because I’m Black’; Aaron Neville’s laidback ‘Hercules’, and William De Vaughn’s “gangsta lean” ‘Be Thankful For What You’ve Got’. Whilst the inclusion of a range of soft rock songs, which could be labelled “guilty pleasures”– such as Carly Simon’s ‘Why’ and The Korgis’ ‘Everybody’s Gotta Learn Sometimes’ – also allows Sampled to reflect hip hop and dance music's crate-digging culture that bit more accurately than some of its sniffier, and less broadminded, competition does. Though there are a couple of omissions that more seasoned observers will soon spot – notably The Mohawks’ ‘The Champ’ - there are three other volumes in this largely enjoyable series.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2000
If you're a bit of trainspotter and avid music fan of all things funky especially stuff from the 70's you will LOVE this CD which is jam packed (40 tracks!!) with tunes that'll make you go 'oooh', 'ahhh' I 'don't believe it' - you'll be amazed and shocked just how unknown some of the tracks featured on this CD are that have been sampled again and again to make the very popular tunes we know today! I thoroughly recommend you buy this CD - There's nothing like an Original!!
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 June 2015
Excellent originals tracks . You can see
where other artists got their ideas from .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 14 March 2013
A discovery of all things old and wise, and why the songs that were made from these were good in the first place.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 7 October 2009
Excellent album. A good one to put in a multi disc play list or rip to an MP3 player. Perfect summer music too.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Customers also viewed these items

£102.21
£20.89
£9.64
£5.99

Need customer service? Click here

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)