Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Kesha Learn more Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
44
4.0 out of 5 stars
Format: DVD|Change
Price:£2.49+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime


There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

on 14 April 2013
Very much enjoyed it, (even though I've seen it a few times before). RW and MB are the two stand out actors. The chap from American Pie is good to some extent at what he does.
The film is seen from various view points and it explores, in perhaps a light hearted way, the darker side of the human personality. From people stepping on top of one another to get to the top to lustful desires.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 13 November 2000
"Election" was robbed. It came out around the time of "American Beauty", and was obscured by its shadow...
Reese Witherspoon plays an ambitious student who has put herself forward for election as School President. She stands unopposed. Matthew Broderick plays the teacher who would be forced to endure her after-school meetings. And so a plot is hatched...
Election is properly funny. American Beauty missed the mark. Election hits it square on. Get it. Go on.
0Comment| 3 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 29 May 2003
Election is a funny little film, but not so funny that you watch it and think 'what on earth was that?' I'm not Albert Einstein and I managed to understand it. And teens, don't let the phrase 'dark comedy' put you off. It's got as many laugh out loud moments in it as Friends, or the Simpsons, or Clueless.
So, what is the film about? Well, Tracy Flick (current queen of Hollywood Reese Witherspoon - Legally Blonde) is a straight-A student who, we are told, has had to work hard every day of her life. She is running for President of the Student Body - unopposed. But, she had an affair with a teacher, who got fired and who's marriage collapsed. This teacher was best friends with other teacher Jim McAllister (Matthew Broderick - Godzilla), who is popular with the students. Determined not to let Tracy run un-opposed, he sets up an opponent. Cue Paul Metzler (Chris Klein - American Pie 2). A bit of a jock, and captain of the football team, Paul has popularity, whereas Tracy has brains. Then we get to Tammy Metzler (Jessica Campbell). She explains "I'm not a lesbian, I'm attracted to the person. It's just that everyone I've ever been attracted to happens to be a woman". Tammy's 'girlfriend' Lisa goes off with Paul, so Tammy runs for president to get her revenge.
Then things get a little complicated, people do certain things, which result in the disqualification of a candidate, votes going missing, the realisation of a dream, and the ultimate destruction of one of the character's lives. But don't worry. It winds up sort of OK in the end.
The cast are a joy, especially Witherspoon and Campbell, in her first movie role. A little quirky in places, this film is nothing short of memorable, and deservedly won all the rave reviews which it received. Election has pure re-watch value - after you see it once, it's one of those films that you can go back to, which is always nice, and it is a refreshing film. Go buy!
0Comment| 8 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 31 January 2014
This is a great film. Reese Witherspoon is brilliant in her role as a model student. Matthew Broderick's descent into misery is entertaining to watch as is Flick's meteoric rise into politics. It has some really humorous moments and is really worth a watch.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 19 October 2014
The only film by Alexander Payne I really love, the only ones I've not seen are The Descendants & Nebraska. Possibly still Reece Witherspoon's finest hour and the whole cast are just as good. A really smart and funny film which I've watched many times.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
VINE VOICEon 23 January 2010
This is one of those films that doesn't really have any real 'good guys', or anyone to really root for. They are all very flawed characters - with only rare moments of likability. But strangely enough, I really didn't mind this, as the characters are still extremely watchable, and you NEED to know what happens to them, whether it's good or bad. It's so well-written - I ended up putting subtitles on to catch every word.
However, this is a satire - it's not a comedy. It's very clever and witty, but it's also dark and dry. This isn't a criticism - it was great - but it's not for belly-laughing. You need to settle down to watch it - you're not going to be particularly uplifted.
But Reese Witherspoon is fantastic, and it's one of the best high school films there is. It's definately worth watching.
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 12 April 2014
I love Alexander Payne's films and this early work was no exception. The only tiny thing that disappointed me was that I could predict the twist in the plot.
11 Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 2 November 2016
Some of the themes here are pretty questionable. I'm not sure that illicit liaisons between teachers and their pupils is a great subject for a movie.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 21 March 2007
pick this Flick and you will not be dissapointed this is probably the finest piece of black comedy you will see , the story is about a high school election and the twists and turns of the teachers and pupils that surround the event. the scipt writing is brilliant and the direction never fails, the main actors ,Witherspoon( Pupil ,Tracy flick) , Broderick (teacher ,Jim McCallister) and other fine actors support the beautifully crafted characters , the direction moves quickly to solidify the storyline and i have to admit this is a fine example of how to make a black comedy and a extremely funny movie about life in middle America so

DON'T MISS IT!!!!

P.S the early review from Ninja suggests that it is unsuitable for children as it contains sex and bad language ,well the classification clearly states 15 yrs and i don't think any 15 yr old would have any problem with this movie .
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 11 November 2009
Election is a fantastic underrated black comedy. My review is based on the Blu-ray itself. Picture quality isn't amazing, no better than an upscaled DVD. Daylight scenes are bright and clean, but don't have the sharp detail you'd expect on a Blu-ray copy. The only extra is commentary by Director Alexander Payne (the same commentary from the DVD).

For audio, the disc carries English 5.0 Dolby TrueHD, French 5.0 Dolby Digital and Spanish 5.0 Dolby Digital. The subtitles are English, English SDH, French, Spanish and Portugese.

If you already own the DVD, it's probably not worth the upgrade. Picture quality won't blow you away and there are no additional extras than what's on the DVD.
0Comment| One person found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)