Learn more Shop now Learn more Shop now Shop now Shop now Learn More Shop now Shop now Learn more Shop Fire Shop Kindle Amazon Music Unlimited for Family Fitbit

Customer reviews

4.0 out of 5 stars
4.0 out of 5 stars
5 star
4 star
3 star
2 star
1 star
Format: Audio CD|Change
Price:£2.98+ Free shipping with Amazon Prime

There was a problem filtering reviews right now. Please try again later.

TOP 100 REVIEWERon 12 October 2011
This budget priced CD is a collection of quality 1970's US funk. Aaron Neville's sublime 'Hercules' finds the groove and stays on the groove - it's one of the coolest songs of the decade. Understated, but most definitely funky. Curtis Mayfield's Blaxploitation classic 'Freddie's Dead' carries a serious anti-drugs message - "Another junkie plan; pushin' dope for the man" - and Mayfield's vocal delivery is just perfect. Bobby Womack, The Meters, Eddie Bo - they're all here too and the quality rarely falters, although there are a couple of fillers. A lot of the tracks are, much like the aforementioned 'Hercules', funk of a laid back nature and they contrast really well with the more upbeat tracks.

Clocking in at exactly 67 minutes and with decent liner notes, this compilation represents excellent value. The running order given here by Amazon is incorrect. For what it's worth, the correct running order is:

1. Ripple - I Don't Know What It Is But It Sure Is Funky
2. Aaron Neville - Hercules
3. O'Donel Levy - People Make the World Go
4. Roy Ayers - Everybody
5. Lee Dorsey - Yes We Can
6. Sir Joe Quarterman & Free Soul - (I Got) So Much Trouble in My Mind
7. Curtis Mayfield - Freddie's Dead
8. Sylvia Striplin - Give Me Your Love
9. Moody Scott - I Don't Dig No Phony (Part 2)
10. Maceo & All The King's Men - Go to Get Cha
11. Jimmy McGriff - The Bird
12. Bobby Womack - You're Welcome, Stop on By
13. S.O.U.L. - Soul (Parts 1 & 2)
14. The Meters - Handclapping Song
15. Ironing Board Sam - Man of the Street
16. Eddie Bo - If It's Good to You (It's Good for You)
0Comment| 4 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 August 2010
Not a duff track on the album. I was sold at Hercules; this album delivers in spades. A must for any funk fanatic.
0Comment| 5 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 10 January 2014
A budget-priced collection of relatively obscure, late 20th century funk, soul, jazz, R&B and soul tunes from the States. Funk Soul Brothers ploughs the same furrow as Music Club's fairly well-liked compilation of 1998: Stone Cold Funk. Standout tracks are: Aaron Neville's 'Hercules'; Curtis Mayfield's 'Freddie's Dead'; S.O.U.L.'s 'Soul Part 1 & 2'; Jimmy McGriff's 'The Bird', and Bobby Womack with 'You're Welcome, Stop On By'. But it doesn't quite manage to maintain that quintet's quality consistently over its 67 minutes. Upbeat efforts from Ripple, Moody Scott and Sir Joe Quarterman & Free Soul provide only passable imitations of the trailblazing efforts of James Brown, The JBs, and Sly & The Family Stone; and whilst a pair of laidback early 1980s tracks from label-mates Roy Ayers and Sylvia Striplin are undoubtedly impressive, their smooth synth sounds feel distinctly out of synch on a compilation dominated by earthy numbers from the early 1970s.

Despite that spottiness, it is difficult to deny the influence these 16 (rare) grooves have had on pop culture. As Ian McCann points out in his brief, but informative sleeve note this stuff has been sampled - or "borrowed" to use his cute phrase - to give a killer beat to a large number of artists' works, including: Mary J. Blige; Special Ed; Blackalicious; 3rd Bass; UTFO; Naughty By Nature; Backstreet Boys; Soul II Soul; Big Daddy Kane; Cypress Hill; Organised Konfusion; DJ Shadow; A Tribe Called Quest; Del Tha Funkee Homosapien; Gang Starr, and Redman.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 17 August 2011
I have a lot of funk music in my eclectic music collection. I have both rare and common tunes. It is a joy to buy an album at such a great price and as each track plays through realise that you have so much yet to discover in funk music and that which is now being discovered is of such a high quality. There is not much to be disappointed with on this album. The only slight dips for me (but it perhaps just a personal thing?) is I don't like pure instrumental tracks as much as vocal based ones. Even at that the instrumental ones are pretty good.
If you like funk/dance at any level to not get this album at this price would be a big miss. Beware though!..It is funky!! :-0)
0Comment| 2 people found this helpful. Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 8 May 2016
Great album!
Great funk and tunes which are new to me and not forgetting new artists which is always refreshing!
A must for those who want Funk over today's music ...
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse
on 9 February 2014
Bought due to it being recommended after making other purchases. Nothing special. Reasonably good mix but will need to hear it a few more times before anything sticks out.
0Comment|Was this review helpful to you?YesNoReport abuse

Sponsored Links

  (What is this?)